Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Finishing supplies : Colors, tints, and stains : ColorTone Liquid Pigment for Waterbase Lacquer

ColorTone Liquid Pigment for Waterbase Lacquer


Read 8 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Brilliant concentrated colors! Highly pigmented ColorTone® colors formulated specifically for mixing with waterbase lacquer to create opaque (solid) colors.

See details below

Email a friend
ColorTone Liquid Pigment for Waterbase Lacquer
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5360 Set of all 7 colors SAVE $5.50 Yes
$87.95

5361 Black Yes
$13.35

5362 White Yes
$13.35

5363 Red Yes
$13.35

5364 Yellow Yes
$13.35

5365 Brown Yes
$13.35

5366 Blue Yes
$13.35

5367 Green Yes
$13.35


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

ColorTone Mixing Sheets

Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step



Target Waterbase Spraying Lacquer



ColorTone Mixing Sheets
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step
Target Waterbase Spraying Lacquer



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
They can be combined for infinite custom colors. Spray one or more clear waterbase lacquer coats for final gloss. These pigments can also be added to grain filler. 4-ounce bottles.

Sold individually or SAVE when you buy the set of all seven colors.

California Residents: Click here for Proposition 65 information
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
ColorTone Liquid Pigment for Waterbase Lacquer
ColorTone Liquid Pigment for Waterbase Lacquer
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 8 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 8
5 3-06-2013
Great product, make sure you pre disperse in water first

I have been working on test panels for months to establish recipes for various finishes and found these to be excellent. Watch out, though, for how you disperse these in your WB finish. For some reason, some colors do not disperse well directly into some of Target's WB coatings. You would think that a WB dedicated pigment would disperse into any WB carrier uniformly, but there must be some reaction.

Charlie Livingston  Waxhaw, NC Read my reviews (6)
5 3-14-2012
Versitile colors

Like the fact that you can mix pigments to get the desired colors ...and customization. Customer service was very good,also.

slmit  Vermont Read my reviews (2)
5 8-31-2011
Colortone pigments for water-based finishes

These pigments are really good, easy to mix & blend. You can over-saturate your finish base with pigments if you're not careful, so keep in mind the statement "up to 20%". 10% seems plenty to get an intense color base, then you still have room to add other pigments to shade & fine-tune your color. I've used these primarily with KTM-9, but due to shortages of that product, have also recently used them with the Colortone waterbase lacque with equally nice results.

Reid Hampton  Memphis, TN Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
5 2-17-2011
Great Product

I switched over to waterbased finishes a few years ago and these products work great. No more toxic fumes and finish buffs easily and looks great.

Brad Windsor  Ojai, California Read my reviews (2)
5 12-16-2010
Wonderful stuff!

I recently did a neck/headstock repair on a Les Paul Custom, and mixed some 5361 Black with some ColorTone clear. It sprayed well through my airbrush, laid down nicely, and blended with the existing finish well. Nice!

Jim Haught  Germantown, Wisconsin Read my reviews (3)
5 11-03-2010
Color tone pigments work great

I recently had a request for a pink stained guitar. It was a big request, there were no white stains.
I tried several things but nothing worked.
Then I tried the waterbase Color Tone Pigment. It blended great with a water base stain, it was perfect.
It took some work to get the curly maple tinted. I discovered that when you put pink on a piece of wood you get Orange because of the yellow in the wood.
Well with a little creative effort I was able to pull it off.
Now because of Stew Mac's water base Colortone Pigment I will be able to present a beautiful guitar.
It also produced a beautiful black for the back and neck.

Thanks Stew Mac.
Mike Ward

Mike Ward  Lewisville, Tx Read my reviews (7)
Customer supplied image for review
5 8-25-2010
Color me happy

I have had great luck with these. It only takes a table spoon or two and you have a water based lacquer that has great coverage. Just one or two coats usually dose it. They also have a great shelf life. Just make sure you seal them good when not in use.

Victor Johansen  Phoenix, Arizona Read my reviews (11)
5 8-06-2010
ColorTone Liquid Pigment for Waterbase Lacquer

Great colors and finish. They are easy to mix and work great with the colortone waterbase lacquer. I would definately recommend for any guitar project.

Blue Mountain Guitar Company  Ontario, Canada
Displaying 1 – 8 /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 39 of our latest catalog.


ColorTone® is a registered trademark of Stewart-MacDonald Manufacturing Company, Inc.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce