Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Finishing supplies : Colors, tints, and stains : ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer

ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer


Read 96 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Traditional finishes made simple! Ideal for touch-up work, or for finishing an entire instrument. Fast-drying and resistant to alcohol and water.

See details below

Email a friend
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5880 Vintage Amber
Cannot ship by air or outside the U.S.
Yes
$15.90
3 or more $13.97  

5881 Cherry Red
Cannot ship by air or outside the U.S.
Yes
$15.90
3 or more $13.97  

5882 Tobacco Brown
Cannot ship by air or outside the U.S.
Yes
$15.90
3 or more $13.97  

5883 Red Mahogany
Cannot ship by air or outside the U.S.
Yes
$15.90
3 or more $13.97  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer



ColorTone Black Aerosol Guitar Lacquer



Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step



Foam Polishing Pads



ColorTone Touchup Markers



ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Black Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step
Foam Polishing Pads
ColorTone Touchup Markers



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
Formulated specifically for musical instruments. Tinted and sunbursted nitrocellulose lacquer finishes never go out of style. Now you can finish your instruments in beautiful traditional colors that enhance the wood grain, without complicated spray equipment.
13-ounce spray cans.

ColorTone® Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer can be sprayed over smooth unfinished wood; over sanded basecoats of grain filler; over ColorTone nitrocellulose Sanding Sealer, and over ColorTone Stains. Spray additional coats of ColorTone Clear Aerosol Guitar Lacquer for a hard, durable finish with a deep gloss.

Aerosol spraying is an economical way for the beginner to apply a finish. Aerosols produce a slightly rougher surface than spray guns however, and more sanding of the clear topcoats may be needed for a level finished surface. Tinted coats should not be sanded.

Application Tips: We recommend spraying multiple thin coats, in a low humidity environment. Heavy-bodied Sanding Sealer (one coat equals two coats of lacquer) will seal stained or unstained wood before the color coats or clear topcoats are applied. At least one can of Sanding Sealer and 4-6 cans of lacquer will usually finish a complete guitar.

Use warm lacquer, not cold!
Pro shops spray heated lacquer because cold lacquer spatters, requiring extra sanding. You should warm up your aerosol lacquer too, simply soak them in a sink of warm tap water.


Our ColorTone Aerosol Finishing Kit is a great choice for the first-time instrument maker. It includes our easy-to-apply clear gloss aerosol finish with the best instruction book available!

How to spray a sunburst using aerosol cans
How to spray a sunburst using aerosol cans
How to spray a sunburst using aerosol cans Read more

In this issue:
Erick Coleman uses tinted aerosols to recreate a vintage Strat 3-tone 'burst.
Read more...

Subscribe now
California Residents: Click here for Proposition 65 information
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 96 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  ...  10 >
5 4-21-2013
No Brainer

After reading how to's on line, ordered the Vintage Amber, and just to be sporty, didn't warm in hot water,(but air temp here was 76F), and got a wonderful result using to tint a (very) white maple neck. Highly Reccommended!

bubbaboucan  siesta key
5 4-17-2013
Colortone aerosol

I really enjoyed using this stuff. Once i figured out the technique I got results i was very satisfied with.

Rob Schnapf  Los angeles Read my reviews (20)
4 4-15-2013
great classic shading tones

traditional sunburst quick / my only complaint is the nozzle furnished is not compatible with my snap on spray can handle / spray with care and watch out for drips

ron hyde  wa. Read my reviews (9)
5 4-04-2013
Color Tone Tinted Spray Lacquer

Stew Macs Color Tone Lacquers are lightly tinted, so the color builds with the applied thin coats. The tops have a very fine spray that is easy to control and put where you want it. I have used all the color tints except for Tobacco Brown. The Vintage Amber is perfect for ageing a Fender neck or Spruce top. With 9 or 10 coats of clear on top, the finishes look deep. Cures hard after about 10-12 days. Buffs out to a brilliant lustre. The top on this tele copy is sealer/sand, 3 coats Vintage Amber, 9 coats clear gloss. The neck looks even better. Wet sanded to 2000. Rubbed out and buffed.

R Guess  North Florida Read my reviews (16)
Customer supplied image for review
5 3-25-2013
StewMac sunburst spray lacquers

I used the StewMac sunburst vintage amber, red mahogany, and tobacco brown finishes on a LP junior project to achieve a finish that looked more like an old school custom finish and I couldn't be happier! The finishes were shipped fast and came with some good common sense instructions for application that were a nice refresher and helpful even for a guy who has been spraying finishes for 30 years. The StewMac Lacquer is of an excellent quality and consistency which made the application really easy to achieve professional looking results with just a little patience and attention to detail. The build up was good, the dry time was fast and it wet sanded out beautifully! From now on, I am not going to use any other guitar finishing product if it is available from StewMac! I have tried other products that have been both more and less expensive but none of them compare! For cost, quality, and value, look no further! Thanks for providing quality products for the professional as well as the home enthusiast!

Bigbrains3.  Des Moines, IA.
5 3-23-2013
Tinting Lacquer

I have used these for years,very excited to see the cherry added

Elaine Filion  Austin, Texas Read my reviews (7)
5 3-20-2013
Great for spraying unfinished tweed amps.

I used this on a classic tweed amp to get a "vintage" look. Works great!

Big Rand  Traverse City MI Read my reviews (16)
2 2-27-2013
Tints are too strong, should be reduced. IMO

This is good idea, but I found the mixtures to be too strong, too much tint applied too fast. It's impossible to get a subtle gradation with the amount of color that lays down in one spray, it's almost as strong a paint. StewMac should reduce the tone by 70%. I tried the Vintage Amber, Red Mahogany, and Tobacco Brown.

Buffalo Bill  New Buffalo, MI Read my reviews (5)
5 1-25-2013
Easy to use!

I bought all four cans, to replicate the famous brock burst. Following the StewMac finishing guide, I started with two sealer coats, then the vintage amber. I put two more light coats of clear over the vintage amber, then sprayed red mahogany burst and very lightly misted some tobacco brown around the outside. Finally, I sprayed the cherry red over the red mahogany burst and got a really deep dark burgundy red. The pic shown is prior to binding scraping and clear coating. And it looks a lot better in person too, since red shows up so poorly in pics. i would recommend these to any beginner! They're pretty easy to use.

RI  Mililani, HI Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
4 1-02-2013
Working with Nitro

I've done two guitars working with Amber and Tobacco tinted Nitrocellulose. If you warm them up as directed, they are easy to use and look fantastic. One problem is the fumes; you'll have to use a respirator of some sort. The other thing you’ll need to understand is don’t rush your project; have your body filled, sanded and clean. Now for the negative, I tried my first tobacco burst and found the spray area too concentrated to fade the burst and it took some work to make it look acceptable. I’m sure people can do it with rattle cans but I found it difficult. Overall, a very good quality paint.

Miles Guitar Werkz  Detroit City USA
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  ...  10 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 39 of our latest catalog.


ColorTone® is a registered trademark of Stewart-MacDonald Manufacturing Company, Inc.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce