Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Finishing supplies : Colors, tints, and stains : ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer

ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer


Read 145 Reviews   |   Write a Review

The easiest way to spray a professional finish! Produces a beautiful traditional nitrocellulose lacquer finish, without elaborate spray equipment.

See details below

Email a friend
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
3881 Clear gloss
Cannot ship by air or outside the U.S.
Yes
$11.55
3 or more $10.27  

3882 Clear satin
Cannot ship by air or outside the U.S.
Yes
$11.55
3 or more $10.27  

3883 Clear sanding sealer
Cannot ship by air or outside the U.S.
Yes
$11.55
3 or more $10.27  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer



ColorTone Black Aerosol Guitar Lacquer



Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step



Foam Polishing Pads



Sandpaper / Finishing Paper Sampler



ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Black Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step
Foam Polishing Pads
Sandpaper / Finishing Paper Sampler



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
ColorTone® Clear Aerosol Guitar Lacquer is formulated especially for musical instruments. Fast-drying and resistant to alcohol and water, it produces a hard, durable finish that enhances the beauty of the wood.

Available in convenient 13-ounce spray cans.

ColorTone® Nitrocellulose Guitar Lacquer can be applied over smooth bare wood, sanded basecoats of grain filler, ColorTone Sanding Sealer, and over ColorTone Stains. Perfect for touch-up work, or for finishing an entire instrument. The rotating-tip nozzle can spray a horizontal or vertical pattern.

Aerosol spraying is an economical way for the beginner to apply a first finish without elaborate setup or equipment. Aerosols produce a slightly rougher surface than spray guns, however, and more sanding may be needed for a level surface.

How many cans do you need?
INSTRUMENT
Electric guitar neck
Solid body electric
Acoustic guitar
Archtop guitar
Mandolin
Ukulele
Dulcimer
Banjo rim and neck
SEALER
none
1 can
1 can
1 can
1 can
1 can
1 can
1 can
LACQUER
2 to 3 cans
3 to 4 cans
4 to 6 cans
4 to 6 cans
3 to 4 cans
2 to 3 cans
3 to 4 cans
3 to 4 cans
Number of cans needed may vary depending on how heavy the coats are applied, number of coats, and desired thickness on your instrument.

ColorTone Clear Satin Lacquer typically requires fewer coats. Successive thin coats should be sanded to maintain a level surface. Don't sand the final coat; the flattener in the lacquer will give a smooth satin appearance.

Application Tips: We recommend spraying multiple thin coats, in a low humidity environment. Heavy-bodied Sanding Sealer (one coat equals two coats of lacquer) will seal stained or unstained wood before the color coats or clear topcoats are applied. At least one can of Sanding Sealer and 4-6 cans of lacquer will usually finish a complete guitar.

Use warm lacquer, not cold!
Pro shops spray heated lacquer because cold lacquer spatters, requiring extra sanding. You should warm up your aerosol lacquer too, simply soak them in a sink of warm tap water.

Our ColorTone Aerosol Finishing Kit is a great choice for the first-time instrument maker. It includes our easy-to-apply clear gloss aerosol finish with the best instruction book available!

How to spray a sunburst using aerosol cans
How to spray a sunburst using aerosol cans
How to spray a sunburst using aerosol cans Read more

In this issue:
Erick Coleman uses tinted aerosols to recreate a vintage Strat 3-tone 'burst.
Read more...

Subscribe now
California Residents: Click here for Proposition 65 information
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 145 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 111 – 120 < 1  ...  11  12  13  ...  15 >
5 3-04-2011
Great Product but watch out for Fumes

I love this stuff. It works great, buffs out nicely, and as long as you keep the can warm when spraying in cold weather, it sprays beautifully. Also, only use in low humidity or you will get blushing.

JUST PAY ATTENTION TO THE WARNING LABEL!
The fumes are dangerous and you really need to wear a good respirator mask and have plenty of ventilation while working. If you do that you will have no problems.

Epidrake  NY,NY
5 2-23-2011
Awesome !!!!

Read the directions, prepare your guitar the way it says and your guitar will look as good as new if not better. And it is so easy. I will be using it again and again....Thanks StewMac...

ForgivinPicker  Drumright, Okla. Read my reviews (2)
5 1-29-2011
Items for stock

Items for stock but they arrived very quickly and the quality looks to be fine.

Darrell

Darrell Cramer  Marysville, OH
5 1-22-2011
Color Tone Nitrocellulose Lacquer

I have used this on 4 Ukuleles. It has been great extremely durable finish. And if you let it cure for at least 2 weeks it will buff out fantastic. And you will have a professional looking finish

Perry  Cottage Grove Or.
5 1-19-2011
The Best!

Really fantastic StewMac! I purchased a Tacoma guitar with the infamous finish cancer. A great little guitar with a 20 mil+ peeling poly finish. I removed the old finish with a heat gun, and did very little sanding. I applied the StewMac lacquer in thin coats. The lacquer was very easy to apply, and dried very fast, and laid very flat. After several coats the finish looked great, so I stopped. I used less than one of the three cans I purchased. I gave the lacquer several days to cure just to be safe. I buffed the finish with rubbing compound, that is all! I got an ultra thin mirror finish as the final result.

I showed the guitar to friends that saw it with the previous finish. "Unbelievable" was the overall response. There was even talk of the guitar sounding better with the thin finish. Thanks!

Ray"n"Spunk  Fortuna, CA
5 1-18-2011
Aerosol Nitro

I got outstanding results on an after maket Tele neck using Colortone Clear Aerosol Guitar laquer. I shot the neck 3 times a day, waiting 2 hours between coats,for a few days. Each day before spraying, I would sand the previous days work lightly with 400 grit paper. The back of the neck ended up with 12-15 coats, and the headstock got maybe twice that because i was trying to cover a decal to make it look original ( I would never sell it as a Fender, this was purely for me!!).

I did not wet sand and buff the neck, but left it with a semi-flat finish. It looks and feels absolutely awesome!!! Everyone who has touched it loves it, and I am gonna get some work out of this for sure. I think I have one order already!!!

Wesmont  Florida
5 1-17-2011
Top Notch Nitro!

Great spraying can. Goes on even and smooth and looks great!

Ash  Overland Park, KANSAS Read my reviews (3)
4 1-12-2011
Poor choice for way open grained wood

First of all I've used this to paint maple necks with good results since 1996. That said, I was anticipating no worries when I went to use it on a mahogany body and a korina body. This is not a good choice for open grained woods. Despite grain filling 4 times and sanding off 2 coats of sand sealer and 4 coats of nitro, then 4 coats of sand sealer (per Stew Mac via email)and 11 coats of lacquer I still had lots of pits after level sanding. I then sprayed nitro into a glass jar, let it evaporate for 4 hours then drop filled all the low spots and level sanded: 3 times. Judging from the halos that kept showing after drop fills I suspect the paint is formulated with a flash solvent which flashes into any lows in an aggressive way. Once level, I sprayed another 4 coats of lacquer, level sanded 2 days later, and will wet sand 800, 1200, 1500 and buff in 2 weeks time. This process took me 6 months, but the maple necks finished with same nitro came out good in only 30 days. I advise not to use the aerosol nitro on open grained woods, way too time consuming and labor intensive, highly reccomended for tight grain woods such as maple.

4suremann  USA Read my reviews (2)
4 1-04-2011
Good with a few setbacks.

Bought 1 can of sealer and 4 cans of clear gloss for a guitar I built. The sealer went on very well with just one spit because of the cold on the cans (in southern new york where i live its around 35 degrees). However, after sanding I sprayed 4 coats of clear gloss, and it goes on pretty good. It spits a ton though. After I was finished with the coat I had lacquer running down my glove and it spit a good 4 or 5 times on the instrument. I mean its not difficult to remove a spit but its annoying when that happens.

But, the photo to your right shows that it makes a great finish (it'll get glossier when i buff it)

james147  New York Read my reviews (21)
Customer supplied image for review
4 12-15-2010
Functional enough for me

I used this product when I built my first mandolin because I didn't want to invest in spray equipment. All nozzles are not created equal here, so I coveted those that produced a nice pattern. Dried very fast, even though the temp in my garage was always below 70. All in all a pretty decent product that I will buy again.

CRMandomaker  Castle Rock, WA Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 111 – 120 < 1  ...  11  12  13  ...  15 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 39 of our latest catalog.


ColorTone® is a registered trademark of Stewart-MacDonald Manufacturing Company, Inc.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce