Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Finishing supplies : Colors, tints, and stains : ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer

ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer


Read 145 Reviews   |   Write a Review

The easiest way to spray a professional finish! Produces a beautiful traditional nitrocellulose lacquer finish, without elaborate spray equipment.

See details below

Email a friend
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
3881 Clear gloss
Cannot ship by air or outside the U.S.
Yes
$11.55
3 or more $10.27  

3882 Clear satin
Cannot ship by air or outside the U.S.
Yes
$11.55
3 or more $10.27  

3883 Clear sanding sealer
Cannot ship by air or outside the U.S.
Yes
$11.55
3 or more $10.27  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer



ColorTone Black Aerosol Guitar Lacquer



Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step



Foam Polishing Pads



Sandpaper / Finishing Paper Sampler



ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Black Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step
Foam Polishing Pads
Sandpaper / Finishing Paper Sampler



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
ColorTone® Clear Aerosol Guitar Lacquer is formulated especially for musical instruments. Fast-drying and resistant to alcohol and water, it produces a hard, durable finish that enhances the beauty of the wood.

Available in convenient 13-ounce spray cans.

ColorTone® Nitrocellulose Guitar Lacquer can be applied over smooth bare wood, sanded basecoats of grain filler, ColorTone Sanding Sealer, and over ColorTone Stains. Perfect for touch-up work, or for finishing an entire instrument. The rotating-tip nozzle can spray a horizontal or vertical pattern.

Aerosol spraying is an economical way for the beginner to apply a first finish without elaborate setup or equipment. Aerosols produce a slightly rougher surface than spray guns, however, and more sanding may be needed for a level surface.

How many cans do you need?
INSTRUMENT
Electric guitar neck
Solid body electric
Acoustic guitar
Archtop guitar
Mandolin
Ukulele
Dulcimer
Banjo rim and neck
SEALER
none
1 can
1 can
1 can
1 can
1 can
1 can
1 can
LACQUER
2 to 3 cans
3 to 4 cans
4 to 6 cans
4 to 6 cans
3 to 4 cans
2 to 3 cans
3 to 4 cans
3 to 4 cans
Number of cans needed may vary depending on how heavy the coats are applied, number of coats, and desired thickness on your instrument.

ColorTone Clear Satin Lacquer typically requires fewer coats. Successive thin coats should be sanded to maintain a level surface. Don't sand the final coat; the flattener in the lacquer will give a smooth satin appearance.

Application Tips: We recommend spraying multiple thin coats, in a low humidity environment. Heavy-bodied Sanding Sealer (one coat equals two coats of lacquer) will seal stained or unstained wood before the color coats or clear topcoats are applied. At least one can of Sanding Sealer and 4-6 cans of lacquer will usually finish a complete guitar.

Use warm lacquer, not cold!
Pro shops spray heated lacquer because cold lacquer spatters, requiring extra sanding. You should warm up your aerosol lacquer too, simply soak them in a sink of warm tap water.

Our ColorTone Aerosol Finishing Kit is a great choice for the first-time instrument maker. It includes our easy-to-apply clear gloss aerosol finish with the best instruction book available!

How to spray a sunburst using aerosol cans
How to spray a sunburst using aerosol cans
How to spray a sunburst using aerosol cans Read more

In this issue:
Erick Coleman uses tinted aerosols to recreate a vintage Strat 3-tone 'burst.
Read more...

Subscribe now
California Residents: Click here for Proposition 65 information
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 145 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5  ...  15 >
4 2-27-2013
Nitro spray

Great for coverage, must keep cans warm and in a dry area for application. Some "orange peel" effect if not applied properly. Sands well with 1600 grit.

MCE Guitars 
5 2-17-2013
Very Handy!

I've used the black for coloring headstocks and the clear for numerous projects and they both work fantastic. I use the aerosol clear gloss when refinishing bolt-on necks all the time and love not having to mix, set-up, and clean-up equipment every time!! Awesome stuff Stew-Mac!! My favorite company!!

the rev  norton kansas Read my reviews (8)
5 1-26-2013
Excellent Classic Nitro in a can!

Three light coats of Vintage Amber. Nine light coats of Clear. The results speak for themselves. Make sure your surface prep is as flawless as you can get it before you spray any material. Make sure you're surface is chemically clean before each spray coat is applied. Finish sanding will be a bit more intensive because you cannot get as fine a mist as you would with a pro level spray gun and compressor. But with careful application, the right amount of build up and proper curing time between careful wet finish sanding (I used 600 grit between coats) and each clear coat, you will get excellent results and a nice, hard, durable finish. After my final clear coat I let the finish cure for a couple of weeks, then worked my way from 800, 1000, 1500 and finally 2000 grit wet paper. I had a nice satin gloss before I did final rub out with polishing compound. The neck and body were treated exactly the same. Good stuff!

Will Michaels  Lebanon, NH Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 1-17-2013
Much Better

I am building my fourth guitar, an archtop. On the previous three guitars, I used furniture lacquer purchased from a home improvement store. Although that finish looked good, the lacquer took a very long time to dry (especially on rosewood and mahogany) and reacted with the foam on my guitar stands (i.e., it melted). On the other hand, the ColorTone guitar lacquer looked great and dried very well on all woods (maple and mahogany). Sanding and buffing also were very easy with this product. I certainly will use this on all of my future projects (another guitar kit is on the way).

SOR  Perrysburg, OH
4 11-11-2012
color tone guitar lacquer

I purchased this item for the finish coat on the guitar was refinishing. would use for the in between coats . What you need to do when use the cans is make your sweep with one even coat if you stop in middle of spray you will get the spatter. You need to get use to the aresol can. I have a sprayer that I use to put my clear finish coat on after I do all my painting. I would recomend to first timers .

Merle  buffalo ny Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
3 11-04-2012
Awesome unil Assembly

Im a first timer so I cant say for sure why what happened did.

I purchased the sanding sealer and the clear gloss to finish a guitar solid body. I used Transtint dyes. I followed the hints and tips. I think you can over warm the cans. I had some problems with runs on about the third or fourth coat with a can that was pretty warm to the touch. The runs were an easy fix. Block sanded them out, re sprayed, and repeated this until they were no longer visible. When I was done spraying the body hung in a spare room closet for 6 weeks. I finish sanded with 600, then 800, then 1000 grit. I rubbed the finish out with course rubbing compound for one pass then 2 passes with a medium rubbing compound. This body was beautiful! It is a trans red front and back with a trans red / burnt orange mix for the edges. It rubbed out to a very nice gloss. It you want no witness of swirls you need to rub out with a fine grit compound. This is a player, so I stopped at medium.

I was happy and excited about how this turned out. Then…. I started assembly.
When I bolted up the Kahler hardtail bridge, the finish spider cracked around the edges where the wood compressed when the screws went from snug to tight. It a couple of places the finish even started flaking. These screws are not over tightened, but they are as tight as they need to be. I was a bit bummed, but it’s a player so I continued. I bolted up the neck. I used a neck plate gasket. The same thing happened. Around the edges I got spider cracks and some flaking. The flat spot under the neck at the front of the neck pocket looks like a broken window with a zebra pattern. The finish just shattered there.
The finish seems brittle and non flexible. I reinforce my statement that I am a rookie at the finishing end of this. I have built many partscasters, this is just the first one I laid down a finish on. Was it something I did in the finish process? I don’t know.

The tonal qualities are awesome. The difference between the factory poly finish and the ColorTone nitro is noticeable even for someone without a trained ear. This guitar has a cleaner and more resonance tone to it now. This guitar has moved up to my #1 go to.

I thought the lacquer was supposed to be more flexible. Even though Im disappointed with the cracking, Im happy with the guitar. You cant see the cracks from two feet away, so from a Hollywood point of view, it doesn’t matter.

Mark Z.  Palmdale, Ca
5 10-11-2012
ColorTone Clear and Red

I know nothing about applying nitrocelulose lacquer, never did it before. StewMac's products made this very easy. Followed directions on can and website, was very patient, worked in a well ventilated place. Nice results considering it was my first project using lacquer. The project was a Cajon Box Drum made from scraps of plywood around our farm.

Patterson Churchill  Ossian, IN
Customer supplied image for review
4 10-09-2012
colortone lacquer

this is a good product for some one who doesn't have a spray gun.and also really good for small touch-ups.

lefty's rule  duluth mn Read my reviews (32)
Customer supplied image for review
5 10-08-2012
Great product!

I do not do "reviews" often, however, I feel this stuff warrants the time/effort. Used the clear satin on a $300 neck and I could not be happier with the results! Keep it warm, shake it a lot/often, two or three shots onto scrap each time before you shoot your project, and be patient....you should have no problems. Purchased three cans, used 1 3/4.....I wanted a heavy finish. Turned out perfect.

Travis Morrison  Ridgecrest, CA
1 10-04-2012
color tone

I recently purchased 2 cans of color tone gloss clear laquer for finishing a new neck. I found that the spray is very rough and when I put a clear coat over black laquer it cause the black to crack. terrible results. it caused more work than the project was worth and still isn't done because I now have to sand it all off and start over. I have been doing fine woodworking all my life, including building my own guitar. I have never had these kind of problems working with laquer when I mix it myself and spray with a gun. I will never use this product again

Ronan  Burlington, NC
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5  ...  15 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 39 of our latest catalog.


ColorTone® is a registered trademark of Stewart-MacDonald Manufacturing Company, Inc.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce