Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Finishing supplies : Colors, tints, and stains : Black Fingerboard Stain

Black Fingerboard Stain


Read 49 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Ebony in a bottle!
Makes streaked ebony fingerboards and bridges uniformly black.

See details below

Email a friend
Black Fingerboard Stain
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
4236 Black Fingerboard Stain
Cannot ship by air or outside the U.S.
Yes
$7.10


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Glue Brush



Behlen Naphtha Solvent



ColorTone Fretboard Finishing Oil



Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step



Glue Brush
Behlen Naphtha Solvent
ColorTone Fretboard Finishing Oil
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step



Details
 Pictures
The days of harvesting uniformly black ebony wood are rapidly fading—in fact, most ebony today is streaked with brown and gray. Fiebing’s black stain is a long-time guitar factory favorite for making ebony uniformly black (“ebonizes” other woods, too). LeatherColor™ is the new environmentally-friendlier formula. Wipe on, and wipe off the excess as needed.

Use it to darken new or old ebony fingerboards, bridges, tailpieces and peghead veneers on guitars, violins, mandolins and banjos. Unlike other black stains, Fiebings won't leave a bluish tint.
4-ounce bottle.

Tip: Clean the wood with naphtha and sand to 600-grit before staining. Mask off neck bindings, the nut, and any other areas you don't want to stain. Apply with a clean cloth or a brush, and be sure to wear protective gloves.

For ebony streaks, use black fingerboard stain
How Gibson and PRS get such good-looking ebony fingerboards
For ebony streaks, use black fingerboard stain Read more

In this issue:
Erick Coleman shows why black fingerboard stain is a standard item in any guitarmaker’s shop, including the big name builders.
Read more...

Subscribe now
California Residents: Click here for Proposition 65 information
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Black Fingerboard Stain
Black Fingerboard Stain
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 49 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3  ...  5 >
4 4-16-2014
Good Product!

Good product. Does what it supposed to. The look is nice. Hard to tell from real ebony. I had purchased a maple fingerboard and decided halfway through my build that I preferred ebony. Unfortunately, I had already attached my fingerboard. I purchased this to stain as a inexpensive fix. It is really thin and a little goes a long way. I used a 1/2" flat brush to apply. I used Frog Masking Tape to protect the neck and even though I was super careful around the edges it bled through horribly. Fortunately, I planned on painting the outside edges of the neck so the stain won't show. If you are going to use this definitely stain the fingerboard BEFORE attaching.

Tim777  Lincoln, NE Read my reviews (2)
5 4-01-2014
Black Fingerboard Stain

This stuff is GREAT!! I recently bought one of those Gibson Les Paul Signature T models that come with the very pale brown (almost pink) grandillo fretboards. It looked very light. I read about the fretboard stain and ordered a bottle. With a bit of patience, a steady hand and a couple of paint brushes, the fretboard looks FANTASTIC!! A little goes a very long way. One dip into the bottle with the brush covered about 3 frets worth of board.

Ron On Guitars  Houston, Texas
5 2-20-2014
Great for new and refininishing fingerboards

I have used persimmon (with ebony) for years to make my own fret boards and bridges. The dye penetrates very well and once buffed, looks like black ebony. Also great for refinishing fingerboards that show streaking. I do suggest that you wear protective gloves and are careful when using it as a darkener on assembled instruments.

Doug Raineault  Middletown, CT Read my reviews (9)
5 2-05-2014
So much better than the hardware store stuff!

I've tried using "ebony" wood stain before to darken and stain different woods and it just doesn't work well at all. This stuff on the other hand is black as night and really stains well! I was amazed! Be careful though, it can be messy. It'll stain your hands too.

This Shielding tape is great!  Santa Cruz, CA Read my reviews (2)
4 1-30-2014
Be careful!

Aghhhhhhh! this stain is so messy. do not make my mistake and get this on unstained raw wood neck. Please please please stain your neck before fingerboard. However, If applied correctly, it will make a beautiful fingerboard.

tp  johnson city tn
Customer supplied image for review
4 12-13-2013
Mission accomplished

I decided to alter an Epi flying V with a maple fingerboard and black dots to ebony look with pearloid dots.I used the fiebings with extreme caution applying two coats to the maple after masking as well as can be.Low and behold I had a little extra work cleaning up the alpine white finish on this guitar as this stuff is as described. Messy is an understatement regardless of the preparation.Wiped off dots and frets with ease, and after polish with 0000 steel wool I am pleased with the results though, and the final product came out as well as anticipated. Time will tell how it wears and how long before my fingers can play on this without some black residue remaining.I recommend this for skilled craftsmen or luthiers. Not for use by the average joe tweaker; pretty easy to ruin a decent guitar if not extremely careful.

teemotio  Winnipeg,Mb Read my reviews (3)
1 10-17-2013
Honest review.

The shipping and handling is perfect, with the product i was disappointed. Not as good as they say. and you have to use more than i though.

Luthier  Arizona Read my reviews (2)
4 10-13-2013
Works but most finishes bleed the stain.

Well, it works. I stained a fingerboard completely black with just 3 applications. A little careful clean up work with thinner and q-tips was needed to clean the abalone back up. I recommend applying, wipe off excess after a few minutes, and then let it sit for at least 4 hours before putting more on. The only problem I had with this was as soon as I put the tung oil over the board, it started bleeding out the stain. So after a couple coats my board was now dark brown. I tried a couple other finishes like Stew Macs fingerboard oil and still had the same effect. So watch out for that. It did what its supposed to do, just not sure how to finish it.

Robert1986  Kalispell, Montana Read my reviews (4)
1 10-08-2013
black

it comes in an inferior container that ends up not being able to be closed fully and eats through the plastic back it came in originally take it from me put it in a glass jar within another glass jar and never move it from your bench. It works though but it is messy.

patrick sundlof  wilmette il Read my reviews (2)
4 10-06-2013
Works well, but... a few tips here

I've used this on several fretboards to darken the light/streaked rosewood. Clean well with naphtha and lightly sand or steel wool first, be careful to avoid inlays so they aren't scratched. Getting the fretboard clean and oil free is a must. Apply the dye... I use a q-tip, a little goes a long way! Usually a couple dips in the bottle with the q-tip will do the entire board. As stated before, wear rubber gloves if you don't want stained fingers, this stuff doesn't wash off. Not midnight black, but really helps if you don't like those pale streaky looking rosewood boards on cheap guitars.

Glenn Hughes  Oregon, MO Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3  ...  5 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 39 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce