Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Finishing supplies : ColorTone Polishing Compounds

ColorTone Polishing Compounds


Read 75 Reviews   |   Write a Review

The final step for a beautiful finish. Available in shop-size containers, or in 4-ounce bottles for smaller jobs.

See details below

Email a friend
ColorTone Polishing Compounds
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1202 Medium, 1.65 lb. jar Yes
$22.65

1203 Fine 1.65 lb. jar Yes
$22.65

1204 Swirl Remover, 16-oz. bottle Yes
$22.65

1205 Set of 3 large sizes SAVE $4.00 Yes
$63.95

1844 Coarse, 4-oz. bottle Yes
$7.95

1845 Medium, 4-oz. bottle Yes
$7.95

1846 Fine 4-oz. bottle Yes
$7.95

1847 Swirl Remover, 4-oz. bottle Yes
$7.95

1848 Set of 4 small sizes SAVE $4.00 Yes
$27.80


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Foam Polishing Pads



Sandpaper / Finishing Paper Sampler



Micro-Mesh Finishing Abrasives Kit



Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step



Preservation Polish



Foam Polishing Pads
Sandpaper / Finishing Paper Sampler
Micro-Mesh Finishing Abrasives Kit
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step
Preservation Polish



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
A customer described it best: ColorTone® polishing compounds make the magic happen! Used by hand with a soft cloth or with foam rotary polishing pads, they transform a fine-sanded new finish into a dazzling high-gloss surface you can be proud of. ColorTone compounds remove fine sanding scratches on instrument finishes and plastic pickguards, with no silicone residue to hamper future refinishing.

If you're final-sanding a new finish with 600 to 800-grit papers, begin the polishing sequence with Coarse compound. If final sanding is done with 1200-grit, start with Medium compound. Fine compound follows Medium when a super-high gloss is desired.

Swirl Remover applied with a foam rotary pad removes buffing marks and extremely fine sanding scratches on fresh finishes. It can also be used by hand to bring out a higher lustre on new or aged finishes.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
ColorTone Polishing Compounds
ColorTone Polishing Compounds
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 75 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 51 – 60 < 1  ...  5  6  7  8 >
5 5-30-2011
Good product

it really worth the price. nice and easy product to use on your instrument

Jacques Brisson  Rouyn-Noranda Que
5 5-17-2011
Very nice light polishing compound.

I purchased the swirl remover polishing compound and it works very well to remove scratches and marks.I will be using it on my newly finished guitars.When I recieved it today I hand polished an acoustic guitar and it took out most of the small scratches very easily.

Billy C  Pennsylvania Read my reviews (22)
2 5-11-2011
just another regular polish

I was unable to re create the same results as the other reviewers. Despite using the recommended technique,no improvement in luster or shine was achieved.

It's basically the same as the Virtuoso polish but more expensive and thinner.

Gabe K  Minnesota Read my reviews (2)
4 5-06-2011
Works Great.

Use this along with the buffing pads they offer to achieve a brilliant luster . Gives a great shine without needing a pro buffing outfit.

Jerhico Guitars  Altona, NY Read my reviews (51)
5 5-04-2011
Must haves

You do not need any other type, these are it.

Julyan Wallis, Guitar Doctor UK  Cornwall, UK Read my reviews (45)
5 4-29-2011
Perfect

This is REALLY cool stuff. You can really polish your finish to a mirror shine with this and the Swirl remover is great for bringing back a nice shine to blunt old finishes.

MoorMusic  Switzerland Read my reviews (44)
5 4-20-2011
Great product

These compounds are amazing.They are quick and easy to use. I was impressed with how well they worked by simply hand rubbing them in. Either by buffer or by hand they work fast and produce excellent results. Love em

Ron Street  Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 4-19-2011
Perfect

I bought these compounds 5 years ago and, in my opinion, they are the best product you can find on the market (I tested several of them)

Capu  Switzerland Read my reviews (33)
Customer supplied image for review
5 4-19-2011
Polishing Compounds

I purchased the Medium Color Tone compound and the Swirl Remover. Both are great products and totally work as advertised. I was able to bring out the shine in my 1981 Les Paul that had been missing since its birth. With the help of the polishing buffers the results were amazing.

One of the cool things about the swirl remover is the hands on application with a regular polishing cloth. It actually is the best polish you can use, absolutely no build up or slimy feel that most polishes will leave behind. Great stuff.

TOMMYPLANET  Austin, Tx Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
5 4-06-2011
It did what was advertised.

I have a Pimentel classical guitar with very fine swirl marks. This product, applied by hand, using the medium, fine, and swirl remover, restored my guitar to a finish I am very proud to have done myself. Thank you Stewmac!

S Bonner  Albuquerque, New Mexico
Displaying 51 – 60 < 1  ...  5  6  7  8 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 41 of our latest catalog.


ColorTone® is a registered trademark of Stewart-MacDonald Manufacturing Company, Inc.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce