Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Finishing supplies : ColorTone Polishing Compounds

ColorTone Polishing Compounds


Read 75 Reviews   |   Write a Review

The final step for a beautiful finish. Available in shop-size containers, or in 4-ounce bottles for smaller jobs.

See details below

Email a friend
ColorTone Polishing Compounds
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1202 Medium, 1.65 lb. jar Yes
$22.65

1203 Fine 1.65 lb. jar Yes
$22.65

1204 Swirl Remover, 16-oz. bottle Yes
$22.65

1205 Set of 3 large sizes SAVE $4.00 Yes
$63.95

1844 Coarse, 4-oz. bottle Yes
$7.95

1845 Medium, 4-oz. bottle Yes
$7.95

1846 Fine 4-oz. bottle Yes
$7.95

1847 Swirl Remover, 4-oz. bottle Yes
$7.95

1848 Set of 4 small sizes SAVE $4.00 Yes
$27.80


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Foam Polishing Pads



Sandpaper / Finishing Paper Sampler



Micro-Mesh Finishing Abrasives Kit



Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step



Preservation Polish



Foam Polishing Pads
Sandpaper / Finishing Paper Sampler
Micro-Mesh Finishing Abrasives Kit
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step
Preservation Polish



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
A customer described it best: ColorTone® polishing compounds make the magic happen! Used by hand with a soft cloth or with foam rotary polishing pads, they transform a fine-sanded new finish into a dazzling high-gloss surface you can be proud of. ColorTone compounds remove fine sanding scratches on instrument finishes and plastic pickguards, with no silicone residue to hamper future refinishing.

If you're final-sanding a new finish with 600 to 800-grit papers, begin the polishing sequence with Coarse compound. If final sanding is done with 1200-grit, start with Medium compound. Fine compound follows Medium when a super-high gloss is desired.

Swirl Remover applied with a foam rotary pad removes buffing marks and extremely fine sanding scratches on fresh finishes. It can also be used by hand to bring out a higher lustre on new or aged finishes.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
ColorTone Polishing Compounds
ColorTone Polishing Compounds
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 75 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5  ...  8 >
5 1-15-2012
Colortone is spot on

I was pleased with this product and the ease of application. A little went along way for me.

John T  Greenville, SC Read my reviews (3)
5 1-06-2012
Polishing Compound Set

I was working on 2 project guitars that were "slightly used" and needed new finishes, so I reworked them a bit and decided to try the 4 oz set of polishing compounds. Wow! What a difference. Each went on easily and cleaned up to a nice, professional looking shine. I will certainly use these again. I'm even looking for other projects around the house to polish just for fun.

BigRMV  California Read my reviews (2)
5 12-30-2011
very effective

The set of four small size bottles is just the thing for one or two guitars

S Dexter Johnson  Bloomington, Indiana
5 10-12-2011
4oz color tone polishing compound set of four

Perfect size for the jobs I do, and the compound is great stuff. But everything I get from Stew-Mac has been great. Thanks!!

M.R.G.  Sudbury, Ma. Read my reviews (2)
5 10-10-2011
Good Product

I used this to blend in some drop fills I did on a dinged up Epiphone acoustic. The product works very well and I like the smaller bottles. I was having a hard time justifying the need for a pound of the stuff. I recommend the small bottle starter pack and to sand to a finer grit than recommended ( at least 2000 grit, the micro finishing pads work well) you get a near flawless finish without using a buffing wheel.

Larry Halterman  Alabama Read my reviews (2)
5 9-28-2011
very good product

These compounds work very well-giving a beautiful sheen. Especially good using a mechanical buffing setup. I recommend highly.

Dave Snider  Advance, North Carolina Read my reviews (7)
5 9-12-2011
4 oz bottles surprised me

I've used the Color Tone polishing compounds in the jars before, but thought I'd order something that was a little more economic for a quick repair. I've always used water to assist in the process, but I found the 4 oz bottles were already the perfect consistency for application. A little bit goes a long way, and is surprisingly efficient. Personally I prefer these to the jars. Thanks Stew-Mac for making my repairs continue to look top notch.

Mick M  So. Utah
5 9-11-2011
ColorTone Polishing Compounds

These are really excellent quality products.I found they work extremely well on both guitar finishes and metal parts.

Mark Tonelli  Australia Read my reviews (2)
3 9-09-2011
mise en oeuvre

j'ai acheter la pâte médium et fine mais
je trouve que la texture de ces produits est trop dure ce qui rend mal aisé la répartition du produit sur les pads. j'ai donc réaliser le buffing à la main à l'aide de textiles et aucun problème!

pitgyver  liege belgium Read my reviews (6)
5 9-08-2011
Excellent Stuff

Had A chance to use on my acoustic guitar that I'm building and the results exceeded my expectations. Will continue buying from Stew-Mac. Thanks Guys and Gals keep up the good work. William J Nelson.

Willie N  Kanesatake, Qc. Canada Read my reviews (3)
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5  ...  8 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 41 of our latest catalog.


ColorTone® is a registered trademark of Stewart-MacDonald Manufacturing Company, Inc.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce