Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Finishing supplies : ColorTone Polishing Compounds

ColorTone Polishing Compounds


Read 75 Reviews   |   Write a Review

The final step for a beautiful finish. Available in shop-size containers, or in 4-ounce bottles for smaller jobs.

See details below

Email a friend
ColorTone Polishing Compounds
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1202 Medium, 1.65 lb. jar Yes
$22.65

1203 Fine 1.65 lb. jar Yes
$22.65

1204 Swirl Remover, 16-oz. bottle Yes
$22.65

1205 Set of 3 large sizes SAVE $4.00 Yes
$63.95

1844 Coarse, 4-oz. bottle Yes
$7.95

1845 Medium, 4-oz. bottle Yes
$7.95

1846 Fine 4-oz. bottle Yes
$7.95

1847 Swirl Remover, 4-oz. bottle Yes
$7.95

1848 Set of 4 small sizes SAVE $4.00 Yes
$27.80


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Foam Polishing Pads



Sandpaper / Finishing Paper Sampler



Micro-Mesh Finishing Abrasives Kit



Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step



Preservation Polish



Foam Polishing Pads
Sandpaper / Finishing Paper Sampler
Micro-Mesh Finishing Abrasives Kit
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step
Preservation Polish



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
A customer described it best: ColorTone® polishing compounds make the magic happen! Used by hand with a soft cloth or with foam rotary polishing pads, they transform a fine-sanded new finish into a dazzling high-gloss surface you can be proud of. ColorTone compounds remove fine sanding scratches on instrument finishes and plastic pickguards, with no silicone residue to hamper future refinishing.

If you're final-sanding a new finish with 600 to 800-grit papers, begin the polishing sequence with Coarse compound. If final sanding is done with 1200-grit, start with Medium compound. Fine compound follows Medium when a super-high gloss is desired.

Swirl Remover applied with a foam rotary pad removes buffing marks and extremely fine sanding scratches on fresh finishes. It can also be used by hand to bring out a higher lustre on new or aged finishes.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
ColorTone Polishing Compounds
ColorTone Polishing Compounds
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 75 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  8 >
5 4-25-2013
Mirror finish

Used the fine and the swirl remover to get that mirror finish on my first guitar paint job. Can't wait to use it on my next one. This time I'm hoping for even better results because I'm using the foam polishing pads instead of some cheap wooly ones.

Brazos Pirate  TX Read my reviews (10)
5 4-18-2013
Super Product

Simple to use in liquid form with a foam
wheel.No marks left and the wheel washes
just fine.

Griggles  Calgary Read my reviews (11)
5 4-14-2013
Excellent

Great product just what I was looking for

Hellraiser  Los Angeles
5 3-21-2013
Great

I buy this for my guitar shop and was surprised, the product is very good buy for small and still I have much to use, I recommend it.

Carlos GirĂ³n  Ny Read my reviews (28)
5 2-11-2013
Great bang for the buck, achieves a professional finish

We'd all love a buffing arbor, matched motor, fine cotton wheels, and Menzerna blocks. For that matter, even if you did have the money and space, a regular Menzerna block is so expensive and big that you'd probably never get your money's worth unless you are finishing 10+ guitars per year. But for novices getting started, or anyone who doesn't have the space for a true finishing room, these are a great product. Using these four grades plus the StewMac foam polishing pads for hand drill, I have been able to achieve that professional, mirror-like "dipped in glass" look we all love - without time consuming wet sanding all the way up to 2000. They won't make up for bad technique, so make sure you are knowledgeable and comfortable with the finishing schedule for your particular application. But as long as your wood prep, coating application, and dry/wet sanding skills are solid, you'll get a great finish with these.

Charlie Livingston  Waxhaw, NC Read my reviews (6)
5 1-03-2013
Work Well

I bought the set of four small sizes and was very happy with the results.

Adams Guitars  Wisconsin Read my reviews (20)
5 10-11-2012
as expected: great

this stuff holds up to the StewMac standard. for a guy that has been doing it by hand... these polishes with the hand-drill foam pad... wow. it is like a miracle in a 1/10th of the time and 1/10th of the elbow grease. love it.

Ed G  Tempe, AZ, USA Read my reviews (8)
5 9-25-2012
Works very well

ColorTone products are always pretty reliable, & this is no exception. Works great with the foam buffing pads or just a soft clean cloth..

CWaggs  Illinois Read my reviews (44)
5 7-11-2012
Great swirl remover! Does headlights too!!!

I used the swirl remover as the final step to finishing a kit electric guitar for my son. It took a little "elbow grease" but it did a beautiful job giving the guitar a very shiny finish. It sat on my shelf for the last two years and I thought that it might work on my cloudy headlight lenses on a 1998 Sable. A lot of elbow grease, but now I have two very clear headlight lenses!

Chuck P  Redwood City, CA
5 7-11-2012
Coarse compound works great

I have used 3m Finesse-It II for years as a final polishing compound and have had excellent results. But finding the right compound for the interim step between wet sanding and polishing was problematic. I recently tried the Stew Mac coarse compound and problem solved. It worked great. And I would imagine using all of the Stew Mac compounds would provide excellent results. Can you say "mirror finish?"

buftfan  Newport News, Va Read my reviews (3)
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  8 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 41 of our latest catalog.


ColorTone® is a registered trademark of Stewart-MacDonald Manufacturing Company, Inc.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce