Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Finishing supplies : Buffing : StewMac Guitar Buffer Complete Outfit

StewMac Guitar Buffer Complete Outfit


Read 10 Reviews   |   Write a Review

The only buffing system designed for instrument finishing.
Our exclusive professional buffing outfit features a slow 715-rpm buff speed, ideal for delicate instrument finishes.

See details below

Email a friend
StewMac Guitar Buffer Complete Outfit

Play video

 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
3080 Complete outfit, domestic
120-volt motor with pulley
Arbor, V-belt and flanges
4 buffing wheels
Fine and medium compound
Rake

SAVE $26.48
Yes
$636.00

3084 Complete outfit, international
230-volt motor with pulley
Arbor, V-belt and flanges
4 buffing wheels
Fine and medium compound
Rake

SAVE $26.48
Yes
$636.00

3081 Outfit without motor
Arbor, V-belt and flanges
4 buffing wheels
Fine and medium compound
Rake

SAVE $15.00
Yes
$494.90


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Buffer Base

Buffing Wheels



Menzerna Compounds



Buffing Wheel Rake



Motor for Buffing Arbor

Buffer Base
Buffing Wheels
Menzerna Compounds
Buffing Wheel Rake
Motor for Buffing Arbor



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Instructions
  • More room to polish large guitars: 36"-long arbor shaft and a small housing for increased clearance.
  • Larger buffing surface: big 14" buffs, selected especially for instrument finishing.
  • The right speed: slow 715-rpm buff speed is ideal for delicate instrument finishes. Driven by a powerful 3/4-horse motor.

2012 upgrade: a compact powerhouse
Features that match the industrial buffers at major guitar factories:
  • Smooth running and quiet. Pillow block bearings on a half-inch-thick aluminum baseplate anchor the shaft for minimal vibration.
  • 3/4-horse motor. Power for the large surface contact required to buff guitars.

This is a factory buffer scaled for a small shop.
Guitar Bufffer
StewMac Guitar Buffer: a compact powerhouse!


"Other buffers don't give you enough room to move the instrument, and they run too fast—burning off the finish you're trying to polish. StewMac's guitar builders and tool designers talked about what we wanted in a buffer, and what we want to avoid. No other company has designed a buffing arbor system so specifically for luthiers' needs."

Jay Hostetler
Product Development Stewart MacDonald



3080
3084
Complete outfit
includes:
• Buffing arbor
• V-belt
Motor with pulley
Buffing wheel rake
Buffing wheels (four)
• Mounting flanges
Menzerna compounds (fine and medium)
• Instructions
3081 Outfit without motor Includes everything listed above except the motor
(you supply your own).

Arbor shaft diameter: 1"
Overall length of shaft: 36"
Maximum buffing wheel: 14"

Motor for Buffing Arbor Also sold separately
  • 1725-rpm
  • 60 Hz
  • 3/4 horsepower
  • Includes 1.89" pulley

#3080 Motor is for domestic use. This 120-volt AC electrical appliance has a U.S. standard Type B plug with two flat parallel prongs and a grounding pin. 6.2 amps, 550 watts.

#3084 Motor is for international use. This 230-volt AC electrical appliance has a international plug CEE 7/7 (compatible with Type E and F receptacles) with two round prongs and two grounding clips on the sides and female contact to accept the grounding pin. 3.5 amps, 550 watts.

Buffer Base Also sold separately
This sturdy platform is made of rigid 1-1/2" thick plywood (38mm), and is drilled and counterbored for accurate arbor and motor alignment. Mount it to our versatile ShopStand, or to your own bench or stand. Dimensions: 11-3/4" x 20" (29.85cm x 50.8cm). Or you can build your own using the plans that accompany the buffer.

Buffing Wheels Also sold separately
Big 14"-diameter canton-weave buffing wheels where chosen especially for instrument finishing. For maximum buffing surface, up to three wheels can fit on each side of the arbor (four wheels are included with the outfit). Additional wheels are sold separately.

Menzerna Compounds are the professional guitar finisher's favorite. Important: use separate buffing wheels for each grade of compound.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
StewMac Guitar Buffer Complete Outfit
StewMac Guitar Buffer Complete Outfit
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 10 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10
4 4-04-2014
Great Product, No Instructions

I've never used a buffer before. There were instructions on assembling the machine, but absolutely nothing on actually how to use the buffer: how much compound, how to apply the compound, how much pressure to use, how long to buff, the best method for buffing the surface. There was a sales video that alluded to some of this, but it wasn't complete - more of a sales pitch. A quick step by step video would be nice, or at least some instruction so I don't ruin the buffer or my guitar.

VinceG  St. Louis, MO
StewMac responds

VinceG,
Thank you for your order. We're glad you like the buffer. Your buffer should have contained a paper copy of our Buffer Instructions. We will mail them to you today. Please contact our Technical department if you have questions. We would be happy to help.

5 12-14-2013
Get One!

My finishing options just went first class! And although it may seem a little pricey, I can assure you that it's construction quality is unsurpassed. You are getting value for every penny spent. I've bought a lot of lutherie tools/supplies from Stew-Mac and elsewhere but due to cost have never had this as a priority on my needs list. BIG MISTAKE! This should have been one of the very first things you buy when setting up a guitar shop.

JLondon  Owensboro, KY Read my reviews (14)
5 8-24-2013
Better

I had the previous version and it had a wobble. Still very useable, not perfect though. This one runs true and smooth. It is very expensive; but it works extremely well. I use a clear coat, and it will allows me to get a mirror finish. I have yet to burn through too. Definitely a nice machine.

Jon  California Read my reviews (4)
5 7-31-2013
I LOVE IT!

I was using the colortone compounds on my drill. They are nice, but WOW, this buffer is amazing. Can't believe I worked so long without one. Buffing out old finishes is what I use it for the most. Buckle rash runs and hides when I turn this thing on!

Bryan P.  Knoxville, TN Read my reviews (7)
Customer supplied image for review
4 1-25-2013
Good quality, good results, high price

The components, directions, and template for the arbor and engine were all as expected. I had the base built up before the kit arrived and everything bolted on just fine. The engine is quiet and ramps to full RPM quickly. When you get to the point of breaking in your buffs, do it outside! Or have a big fan evacuating the cotton fibers out of your shop. Wear a mask as well. Once trimmed and loaded with compound use some scrap to break it in a bit more. Buffing a guitar with both med & fine compounds took me less than 15 minutes and the results were fantastic. Beats hand buffing without question, but this comes at a steep price. You can piece together a unit for less, but the complete kit here has you up & running with a tested, working, reliable, solution in no time. Arbor and hardware earn 5 stars, Service is also 5 stars.

tb  Portland OR Read my reviews (50)
5 1-13-2013
Nice System

Love this buffer/polisher. Would love to see Stew Mac make a stand or pedestal for it. Currently have it mounted on a tool box but can only use one end at a time as it takes up some room with the motor.

Ed Minier  Mesa, AZ
3 11-09-2012
Some reservations

With some reservations, I do recommend this buffer. The buffer came in one large package - motor and arbor unit boxed separately within the large box. The arbor is too heavy for the way it was shipped and the ends of the arbor shaft had punched through the outer packaging although there was no apparent damage to the threads on the shaft. After assembly, the motor would not spin up to speed without my assisting to get the arbor turning. At speed, the arbor wobbled slightly at both ends and the 14 inch buffs oscillated enough to make a guitar bounce when held to the buff. Stewart McDonald quickly and without question, replaced both units. The second motor would spin up to speed without assistance. The second arbor however had the same issue as the first and was again replaced without question. The third arbor spins true. I just used the tool to buff a guitar and it now works quite well for me. Aside from the quality control issues with the manufacturer, this seems to be a worthwhile tool. Although this situation was a bit frustrating, I commend Stewart McDonald for their willingness to replace the items as needed to make it right.

Dean Moore  Port Angeles, WA
4 10-24-2012
A few things missing in my opinion...

I just got this for my shop and it appears to be a well made machine. Get ready to do some work when you get it. I personally think it sucks that it didn't come with at least the suggested base plate for this much money. And enough bolts, nuts and washers to mount it to their base design. They don't mention that four of the holes on the base layout fit the shop stand which I have. I may mount it on the shop stand or build a permanent one myself.

Thom Abell-String Theory Guitar Repair  Mount Juliet, TN Read my reviews (20)
5 9-18-2012
I've got the previous version

Well, the older version that I have has always served me well, nicely balanced, nice and big.

Greg Robinson - Guitar & Amplifier Technician  Melbourne, Australia Read my reviews (54)
5 9-11-2012
How did I live without this?!

I've been building customs for several years now, and had eyed this sytem for some time. The cost was a deterent, so I just kept on using my Stew Mac buffing pads (which give very good results, but are time consuming and messy). Well, I finally pulled the trigger. Got it in and installed and immediately put it to the test on a newly wet sanded body. My immediate reaction was "WOW!!!" "Wowwowwow!!!" I mean..."WOW!!!" Incredible results; it used to take an hour or so to buff a new body with my previous buffing pad method (and let's not even talk about getting inside the cut-aways), and now I was getting deep, mirror finishes in minutes! This system is a must-have for all but the casual (1 or 2 projects a year) builder. Not only is it saving me a TON of time on my customs, I'm making some pretty good cash by offering buff-out services for customer guitars to give them that "showroom shine" again. The word is out in my community that if you're selling a used guitar, "call that dude with the buffer" to shine it up first. Many other uses as well-polish a bone nut to a high gloss, clean up dingy hardware, shine scuffed up pickguards, etc. I highly recommend the Mezerna compounds as well. I've found that the coarse compound takes the place of my 1000 grit wet sanding-much faster (but use it carefully). Extra-fine will make plastic look brand new. If you want to save time, get superior results and make some extra dough to boot, buy this system now. I wish I hadn't waited so long :)

Bluboibass  Acworth, GA USA Read my reviews (13)
Displaying 1 – 10 /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 40 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce