Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Finishing supplies : Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step

Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step


Read 39 Reviews   |   Write a Review

By Dan Erlewine and Don MacRostie
Published by Stewart-MacDonald. The definitive book for finishing guitars and fretted instruments.

See details below

Email a friend
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5095 Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step Yes
$29.95


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

ColorTone Aerosol Finishing Kit



Airbrush Outfit



ColorTone Liquid Stains



Behlen Nitrocellulose Stringed Instrument Lacquer



StewMac Guitar Buffer Complete Outfit



ColorTone Aerosol Finishing Kit
Airbrush Outfit
ColorTone Liquid Stains
Behlen Nitrocellulose Stringed Instrument Lacquer
StewMac Guitar Buffer Complete Outfit



Details
 Pictures
Learn from the pros: materials, equipment and techniques, plus three dozen recipes for famous finishes. This book helps give you the confidence to finish new instruments, refinish old ones, and perform flawless touch-ups.

The expanded 2nd edition features color stain mixing charts, a color gallery of vintage finishes, and detailed recipes for recreating them with professional results. Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step focuses on nitrocellulose lacquer, the most common guitar finish, but also includes addditional information on varnishes, oils and French polishing. Dan Erlewine's color-illustrated essay guides you through the steps of modern waterbase finishing, too. 188 pages, softcover.

A partial list of contents:

Materials and tools
Abrasives • Solvents • Fillers • Colorants • Topcoats • Buffing materials and equipment

Techniques
The basics of spray equipment • Sanding • Buffing • Basic finishing steps

Recipes for popular finishes
Fender blond, sunbursts and solids • Gibson goldtop, cherry red and sunbursts • Basic Martin-style finish • Lots more!

Color gallery
Stain mixing color charts • Examples of vintage finishes • Waterbase finishing steps

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 39 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4 >
4 9-15-2011
Great book for the library

This book is full of useful info. Color recipes and stain charts. As others have stated I wish it would have had a little more detail on water based finishes.

Mike T.  North Carolina, USA Read my reviews (24)
3 9-09-2011
traduction

très bon livre mais dommage qu'il n'existe pas une version en français!
je suis bricoleur mais pas linguiste mais quand on n'aime....

pitgyver  liege belgium Read my reviews (6)
4 8-30-2011
Very helpful

This had a lot of fairly detailed information, and lots of good pictures. The 2 books I have on the general topic of guitar building do not go into nearly enough detail on guitar finishing. If you don't know much about wood finishing, get this book (or something like it). If you don't know much about guitar finishing, but you do know about wood finishing, you should still probably get this book. I have the wonderful 'Understanding wood finishing' by Bruce Flexner, and I still found the Stewmac book helpful.

-1 star because I would have liked some more information on specifics related to water based finishes. The book has some, but I think it could have used more. Also, this book did not mention one crucial fact pertaining to the application of StewMac's very own water based finishes: you need to sand the sanding sealer before applying topcoat.

DanielK  California Read my reviews (8)
5 7-24-2011
Very complete

This is a great book for starters. Covers every basic aspect in a very well explained way. I bought it over a year ago and I'm still learning from it. I have not read any other book on finishing, but i think this covers pretty much every thing for the needs i have in my shop.

Mario Gabinho Cárdenas Vega  México Read my reviews (17)
5 5-04-2011
Library must have

Forget the net to look up facts and ideas. Excellent book, works great when you have the Colour Tone sets too :)
Very handy colour matching pages.

Julyan Wallis, Guitar Doctor UK  Cornwall, UK Read my reviews (45)
5 4-18-2011
Really complete

I appreciated this book because it gives you all the theoretical information you need to understand the painting process. Highly recommended

Capu  Switzerland Read my reviews (33)
Customer supplied image for review
5 3-16-2011
Great book

Great book, very clear.
I suggest to buy the video too, with both you can do a perfect finish for sure.

Giovanni  Milan Italy Read my reviews (10)
4 3-04-2011
Great Resource

Ah the cold of winter, time to curl up and learn how to paint. This is a great book, good explanations that so far I am able to understand. I will finish reading it front to back by the time the frost leaves the ground and I am ready for my next paint project. Only complaint I would have (why it is 4 stars vs. 5) is that it tends to lean very heavily on the Fender/Gibson model and I want to see a bit more information on customer colors cause that is where my interests lie. Thanks!

GuitarTron  Canada Read my reviews (17)
1 2-26-2011
Very disappointed

I bought both the book and the DVD. One section of the book did not recommend wipe-staining the instrument, but the recipe I picked said to wipe stain the instrument. I bought the DVD, which did not address this at all. When I ordered the supplies I needed, I told the salesperson the recipe# I was using, and he was totally at a loss as to what to suggest. The airgun I bought came without instructions or a schematic, and when I tried to clean it for its first use, I broke a small plastic part crucial to its operation. Now I have to return it, and I'm another week or more plus shipping costs over budget and behind schedule.

Stewmac are nice guys, but apparently cater to experienced luthiers. Very, very disappointed. This should have been an exciting project, and it is turning into a nightmare.

Franko  Katy, TX
StewMac responds

Franko,
We're sorry you had this disappointing experience with us. We do our best to provide sound technical advise to beginners and pros alike, but in this case it seems we really let you down. We hope you will accept our sincere apology (and a replacement airgun, which we will send today.) Please try our technical support line again in the future, and we'll do our best to meet your needs.

5 1-27-2011
Great book!

Super book! It helped me out a great deal. I also bought the DVD and having the 2 of them is a great reference to have. Keep up the good work!

Rob Schuh  Phoenix, AZ Read my reviews (3)
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 91 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce