Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Finishing supplies : Books, DVD : Trade Secrets Book

Trade Secrets Book


Read 22 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Edited by Dan Erlewine
The first nine years of our popular "Trade Secrets" feature articles, including Mike Lindskold's informative "Guitar Wiring 101."

See details below

Email a friend
Trade Secrets Book
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
4011 Volume 1 Yes
$19.95
12 or more $9.98  

5118 Volume 2 Yes
$19.95
12 or more $9.98  

5119 Volumes 1 and 2 Yes
$29.90


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Big Red Book of American Lutherie Volume One, 1985-1987



Guitar Player Repair Guide



Dan Erlewines Maintenance & Setup for Steel-string Acoustic Guitars



Big Red Book of American Lutherie Volume One, 1985-1987
Guitar Player Repair Guide
Dan Erlewine's Maintenance & Setup for Steel-string Acoustic Guitars



Details
 Pictures
A must for every building and repair shop!
Since "Trade Secrets" first appeared in our catalogs in 1990, you've asked for reprints. Trade Secrets Books One and Two are filled with photos and illustrations, Blue Book price lists, Hot Tips from technicians around the world, visits to guitar shops and factories, tips on tools, useful building and repair techniques, and lots more!

Trade Secrets Book One: Every "Trade Secrets" back issue from volumes 1-19, with an extra never-before-published 8-page bonus volume (#20) that appears only in the book. Trade Secrets Book One also contains Mike Lindskold's first eight "Guitar Wiring 101" columns. 142 pages, softcover.

Trade Secrets Book Two is here! It begins where Book One ended, with back issues from volumes 21-38. Also included are installments 9-26 of Mike Lindskold's "Guitar Wiring 101" columns, filled with information for getting great sound. 165 pages, softcover.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Trade Secrets Book
Trade Secrets Book
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 22 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 >
3 3-08-2012
Good books, so so index

The books are OK as reference material, but a little hard to find a specific subject due to (in some cases) bad indexes, and the paste up method used.
With this said, they are still good reference material when you have nothing else to go on.

gearjunky  Arizona Read my reviews (4)
5 2-05-2012
Great Read

This is great for builders and repair shops, it has a lot of general and specific knowledge, that i feel would take years to gather. It's not a bad price and this is well worth it for just to have around for a quick read, or a decent study.

Daniel M  Beaufort SC Read my reviews (4)
4 12-04-2011
General knowledge

Nice

Giovanni  Milan Italy Read my reviews (10)
4 11-28-2011
Surprised

Sometimes you think you have seen it all. There are some new (to me ) tips in here. Print quality could be better but, jaded old guy that I am, I still feel that the books are worth the $$$.

Sam Booka  Montreal Canada Read my reviews (2)
5 8-11-2011
A must have book for luthiers

I've bought this two books in the year 2000, the same time I've started my guitar workshop at my home garage, now its been 11 years, really make my work done in best result all the time

Gilles deNeve  Lembang, West Java-Indonesia
5 7-08-2011
general knowledge

even if you don't repair or build guitars , this book is a must. Just to make sure no Lutheir takes you for a ride :)

Raj Pereira  dubai, UAE Read my reviews (5)
5 4-27-2011
Trade secrets

Great books lots of little tidbits, from basic to more advanced techniques lots of good articles also. a great product!

M.Johnston  Alberta,Canada Read my reviews (6)
5 4-19-2011
Solid gold!

These books are filled up to the edge with clever ideas, good concepts and just TONS of things that you need to have somebody tell you. Simple little tricks that will save SO much blood, sweat and tears. But like real gold, you'll have to dig a bit, to find the great bits.

MoorMusic  Switzerland Read my reviews (44)
5 3-10-2011
Tons of useful information

These books are chocked full of useful info. True they are not put together like a text book. It's more of a scrap book of articles and ideas. There is a table of contents which list all the articles, as well as an alphabetical index in the back with page numbers. Bottom line, these are great to have around.

Mike T.  North Carolina, USA Read my reviews (24)
5 1-06-2011
entertaining & informative

Like one of the other reviewers wrote, they present like a scrap book and i think that was a great way to do these sort of books, very clever. What's wrong with a bit of repetition? My wife has to repeat an order at least 3 times,they gave me pause for thought. cheers

George B  Australia Read my reviews (4)
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 92 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce