Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Finishing supplies : Books, DVD : Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step

Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step


Read 39 Reviews   |   Write a Review

By Dan Erlewine and Don MacRostie
Published by Stewart-MacDonald. The definitive book for finishing guitars and fretted instruments.

See details below

Email a friend
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5095 Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step Yes
$29.95


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

ColorTone Aerosol Finishing Kit



Airbrush Outfit



ColorTone Liquid Stains



Behlen Nitrocellulose Stringed Instrument Lacquer



StewMac Guitar Buffer Complete Outfit



ColorTone Aerosol Finishing Kit
Airbrush Outfit
ColorTone Liquid Stains
Behlen Nitrocellulose Stringed Instrument Lacquer
StewMac Guitar Buffer Complete Outfit



Details
 Pictures
Learn from the pros: materials, equipment and techniques, plus three dozen recipes for famous finishes. This book helps give you the confidence to finish new instruments, refinish old ones, and perform flawless touch-ups.

The expanded 2nd edition features color stain mixing charts, a color gallery of vintage finishes, and detailed recipes for recreating them with professional results. Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step focuses on nitrocellulose lacquer, the most common guitar finish, but also includes addditional information on varnishes, oils and French polishing. Dan Erlewine's color-illustrated essay guides you through the steps of modern waterbase finishing, too. 188 pages, softcover.

A partial list of contents:

Materials and tools
Abrasives • Solvents • Fillers • Colorants • Topcoats • Buffing materials and equipment

Techniques
The basics of spray equipment • Sanding • Buffing • Basic finishing steps

Recipes for popular finishes
Fender blond, sunbursts and solids • Gibson goldtop, cherry red and sunbursts • Basic Martin-style finish • Lots more!

Color gallery
Stain mixing color charts • Examples of vintage finishes • Waterbase finishing steps

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 39 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3  4 >
5 4-02-2014
Sharing the experience

Very good. Lots of info on the different products used in finishing and the receipes for existing finishes are very instructive. A good investment.

Lupinus  MontrĂ©al, Canada Read my reviews (5)
4 3-01-2014
Excellent for a beginner

This book covers a lot of ground. I wish it would also cover polyurethane too

bzarembareal  Canada Read my reviews (3)
5 2-09-2014
Guitar Finishing Step by step.

excellent purchase . I liked your products.

Horacio Carvalho  Brazil Read my reviews (3)
5 1-20-2014
A Must Have for Any "First Timer"

Just before Christmas my 13 yr old grandson emailed me and asked if I would help him finish the electric guitar he was building for his 8th grade class project. (I mess with different paint mediums and have some airbrush experience but have never finished or painted a guitar.) He wanted to put a Sunburst finish on it and use lacquer. So I started doing some homework and found Stewmac. I ordered this book as well as the color, lacquer, sealer and thinner. Today we finished Step 8 and it is beautiful. My grandson is really happy with the result. The book had EVERYTHING I needed to help him get the job done. Now we just have to shot it with clearcoats and polish. Easy peasy!!! Money well spent.

Kathieh  Danville, Calif Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 1-09-2014
Great fundamentals

I'm new to finishing, and really like the introduction to the foundations that this book illustrates. I especially like the explanations about the characteristics of the materials involved. Hats off to the authors of this great teaching text!

unluthier  NC Read my reviews (9)
5 12-29-2013
You must buy this book!

I have a few wood finishing books. All of which are great but none better address the needs of guitar finishers better than this one. Included are recipies to recreate classic Fender, Gibson and Martin finishes! A must have for any shop.

Chris Thomas  Elizabeth, PA Read my reviews (19)
5 12-29-2013
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step

Great book, The information is laid out in a logical, chronological, easy-to-follow format so that an intelligent non-luthier can be successful. I am refinishing a Gibson EB-L bass guitar that I was originally going to pay a pro to do. Not only will this save some money, but it should be a lot of fun as well.

Hearse Driver  Hanover, Virginia, USA
5 12-27-2013
Everything you need to know

A very thorough book, easy for an amateur like me to understand. I found a lot of reasons why my previous finishing attempts turned out so bad. I have wasted so much time and money through my own trial and error, I wish I'd bought this book years ago!

WBR Guitars  USA Read my reviews (9)
5 12-11-2013
Guitar finishing step by step

Great book ,very pleased with the delivery very quick ,to Scotland uk ,just used info on this jagstang build and I'm very happy with the results ,finished it with nitro lacquer got to leave it cure for a few weeks until I can assemble ,I'm no professional just a hobbyist ,and more than pleased with the detailed instructions in the book thank very much

sicosi  scottish highlands Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 11-21-2013
I bought this book 12+ years ago.

If you make or repair guitars... Buy This Book! I've made about 100 guitars and sprayed over 200 gallons of finish in my day. I STILL reach for this book when I need answers. I couldn't pull off such great sunbursts without it! Big Thanks to Dan and Don for putting this one together.

Kopp String Instruments  Catawba Island, Ohio Read my reviews (13)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3  4 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 91 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce