Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Finishing supplies : Micro-Mesh Finishing Abrasives Kit

Micro-Mesh Finishing Abrasives Kit


Read 19 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Cushioned for a scratch-free mirror finish. Micro-Mesh™ features tiny abrasive crystals on resilient cloth-backed latex.

See details below

Email a friend
Micro-Mesh Finishing Abrasives Kit

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
3706 Micro-Mesh Finishing Abrasives Kit Yes
$50.95


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Micro-Mesh Touch Up Stick



Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step



Foam Polishing Pads



Micro-Mesh Touch Up Stick
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step
Foam Polishing Pads



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Articles
These gentle "cushioned" particles generate less heat and friction than ordinary finishing papers, don't load up as quickly, and last up to 15 times longer. Use Micro-Mesh with soapy water to produce a scratch-free mirror shine on finishes and pickguards.

The kit includes:
18 Micro-Mesh abrasive sheets (two 3" x 6" pieces of each grit):
1500, 1800, 2400, 3200, 3600, 4000, 6000, 8000 and 12000-grit
Foam sanding block
Instructions

Micro-Mesh was developed for polishing jet windshields to maintain their optical clarity. Imagine how your instrument will look! Great for repairing scratches and overspray. Use them for polishing frets, too.

Also see: Micro-Mesh Touch-up Stick and Soft Touch Finishing Pads.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Micro-Mesh Finishing Abrasives Kit
Micro-Mesh Finishing Abrasives Kit
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 19 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 19 < 1  2
5 9-24-2011
Great results!

You must have this kit!

Nissan Hayun  Israel Read my reviews (22)
5 7-29-2011
If I Weren't A Guitar Repairman

I'd be a Micro Mesh Salesman. This stuff is THE BEST!!! About 10 years ago, I was orchestral trombone maker. This is where I first started using Micro Mesh. I now use it on everything from my teeth to spark plugs. Oh, and I only use this to polish frets. NOTHING WORKS BETTER TO MAKE FRETS GLOW THAN 4000 GRIT MICRO MESH.

Guitartec  Coventry, RI USA Read my reviews (11)
5 7-15-2011
Indispensible for finishing.

I have been using the Micro-Mesh Abrasives to complete a shellac re-finish of a 60-80 year old bowlback mandolin that required extensive structural repairs. As good as I am with brushing, the shellac starts to set up extremely quick due to it's alcohol solvent, and imperfections are almost inevitable.

I used 3M imperial 1200 grit wet-or-dry paper to smooth things out between 6 coats on the top, then started to progressively smooth the finish with the micro-mesh. Unbelievable...you have total control over the desired gloss, and the top is beautiful. This product is also very good for touching up minor scratches on your guitar, etc., unless you like the road-worn look.

I am working on a 100 year-old violin stain/re-finish next, and the micro-mesh will be indispensable.

Andrew Faltesek  Saint Paul, MN Read my reviews (2)
5 7-10-2011
Great for final finish

These micro mesh papers are great. Wish they were around twenty years ago when I first started building guitars. They seem to last forever if you are careful with them. I like the final results I get with them. Makes getting to the buffing stage so much easier.

Patrick Patten, Patten Guitars  Fredericton, NB Canada Read my reviews (6)
5 5-25-2011
A little goes a long way!

I purchased two sets of Micro-Mesh thinking I would use a set for finish work, one for metal, and one for polishing bone nuts and saddles, still having a set left for later. I was able to cut one set in half and use for metal, and finishing, so I have an unopened box I will keep for future work!
I first used the MM to clean rusted frets, screws, and rusted pickup pole pieces! I am amazed at the durability of the pads and the mirror finish they leave to even the most rusted parts! I can't wait to try MM on some future projects!

Kenny Barnwell  Nashville, TN
Customer supplied image for review
5 3-09-2011
Micro Miracle!

The Micro-Mesh abrasive sheets give the best and easiest finish to lacquers - especially nitrocellulose. Great product for the guitar maker who still likes a real gloss finish!

Peter, Arteus Guitars  Bonville, Australia
5 11-27-2010
Easy to use with beautiful results!

What else is there to say?

kingkatt  Cincinnati, OH
5 11-05-2010
I love this kit!

I was never happy with my fret finish until I tried these. I use one set for frets and the other for finishes. If you haven't tried these yet I would say give them a shot!

bigfootguitarco  Lafayette, IN Read my reviews (2)
5 8-27-2010
Amazing stuff!

I'm finishing my first acoustic guitar build and tried the micro-mesh at the recommendation of someone else. Really amazing how it brings out the gloss and shine in the last few levels from 6000 to 12000. Very nice. You have to buy this.

Ron57  Valparaiso, IN Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 11 – 19 < 1  2 /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 41 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce