Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Finishing supplies : ColorTone Aerosol Finishing Kit

ColorTone Aerosol Finishing Kit


Read 14 Reviews   |   Write a Review

A beautiful finish made simple. FREE Step-by-Step book!
Great choice for the first-time finisher.

See details below

Email a friend
ColorTone Aerosol Finishing Kit
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1850 ColorTone Aerosol Finishing Kit
Cannot ship by air or outside the U.S.
Yes
$101.95


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Foam Polishing Pads



ColorTone Black Aerosol Guitar Lacquer



ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer



Micro-Mesh Soft Touch Finishing Pads



ColorTone Waterbase Grain Filler



Foam Polishing Pads
ColorTone Black Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
ColorTone Tinted Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
Micro-Mesh Soft Touch Finishing Pads
ColorTone Waterbase Grain Filler



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
Want to complete your instrument project with a professional-looking finish, but don't have the space, budget, or long-term need for a spray gun and compressor system? Our popular ColorTone® Aerosol Finishing Kit is just for you. Even if you're a beginner, you can achieve beautiful results you'll be proud to show off. You'll get professional guidance from the best instruction book available too—included FREE with the kit.

• A great choice for the first-time finisher
• Easy-to-apply traditional clear gloss nitrocellulose lacquer in
  spray cans
• Full set of polishing compounds for a beautiful high gloss
  finish
FREE! Guitar Finishing Step-by-Step book, $29.95 value


The kit includes:
•   ColorTone clear gloss nitrocellulose aerosol lacquer (4 cans)
    (Nitrocellulose lacquer is the traditional choice for fine instruments.)
•   ColorTone clear nitrocellulose aerosol sealer (1 can)
•   ColorTone polishing compounds (NEW 4-ounce bottles)
    Coarse, Medium, Fine, and Swirl Remover
•   Fre-Cut/Micro Finishing Paper Sampler (22 sheets in a wide variety of grits)
•   Guitar Finishing Step-by-Step book FREE! $29.95 value
•   Helpful instructions for using micro finishing papers and special tips for aerosol finishing

This kit cannot be shipped outside the USA, nor shipped by air within the USA.

TIP: If you're finishing porous woods such as mahogany, ash, rosewood or koa, we recommend inexpensive ColorTone Waterbase Grain Fillers, available in a variety of matching colors. They'll help you get a level, pore-free wood surface fast, so you'll need fewer finish coats and less sanding.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
ColorTone Aerosol Finishing Kit
ColorTone Aerosol Finishing Kit
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 14 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2 >
5 3-12-2014
Finishing Kit

The color tone Aerosol Finishing Kit was great! This was my first attempt, and if you follow the directions in the book and info with the sandpaper, you can get a nice finish. I also used the stain and tinted lacquer. Materials are great, and the guys here at stewmac are very responsive and helpful with any tech questions. Thanks so much!

Gord Russell  IL
Customer supplied image for review
5 1-20-2014
Everything you need in one box for a clear finish

I bought this to finish my dreadnought kit because it's my first serious attempt at a guitar finish, and I was attracted to the idea of having to purchase only one item to get everything needed. I have not added up the cost of the items included but I would guess it would be more than the cost of the kit. Even if not, I'd buy it again for the convenience. It's been a great way to get my feet wet. Materials and supplies are excellent quality. The Fre-cut sandpaper is a revelation, never used it before and the way it cuts is amazing. The lacquer flows out nicely once you get a feel for it. (Nice tip about warming the aerosols before spraying, made all the difference!) The quantity of materials provided is sufficient, although I did run out of 320 grit paper due to some rework being required, which was entirely my own fault. I'd suggest buying extra sandpaper in 220 and 320 grits, you can never have too much. The book is a nice bonus and contains a wealth of information about the general topic of instrument finishing, and will be a tremendous resource for future projects. Well written and beautifully illustrated, it also contains "recipes" for many of the most widely seen finishes. Also contains some interesting historical data on more traditional finishes. Overall a nice bundle, I'd recommend it to anyone who lacks the experience and /or equipment for a pro paint job.

Steve Fillipp  Lubbock, Texas Read my reviews (4)
5 10-17-2013
Review of StewMac Refinishing Kit

This Guitar was a cat scratching post when it came to my shop a month ago. Friends look at the guitar then look at me and back to the guitar and say "No Way You did that with a spray can" I stripped it down, used all StewMac tools and Refinishing supplies to route the binding and refinish in a vintage Amber. Matching Cream pickguard and gold and silver hardware. Not bad for an old Squire Guitar headed to the scrap bin. When friends see it, they say its beautiful. When I see it, I see "StewMac" Quality all over it! Thanks to everyone at customer support for all the help and kindness with building my first project guitar. Customer Support was always lightening fast with replies and tips on making my project something to be proud of !!!

Spot's Dad  Kentucky Read my reviews (14)
Customer supplied image for review
5 6-09-2013
Excellent Job StewMac!

I ordered the ColorTone Aerosol finishing kit expecting to get a few aerosol cans of nitrocellulose . Instead I received everything I needed to produce a lustrous finish on the guitar kit that I was working on. Not only did I receive the above mentioned aerosol, but the package contained all the sandpaper I needed in addition to three grades of polishing media, and on top of that a detailed book on the proper method of producing a professional finish on the guitar.

Thanks Again StewMac,
Terry Chislett

Terry Chislett  Rochester, NY Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
5 11-07-2012
Great Finishing kit

Everything you need to finish a solid body electric guitar. Nice product.

UncleHammy  Towanda, Kansas Read my reviews (8)
5 11-03-2012
Great Kit!

Used this to finish my first kit guitar. It had more than enough supplies to do the job. Which alleviates the worry of running out in the middle of a job. The instructions were clear and concise, and the materials themselves were first rate. I would highly recommend this kit to anyone who is considering doing a kit guitar, or re-doing that old garage sale job you bought last year to fix up. I would also recommend signing up for the Trade Secrets online newsletter. There's a lot of useful info on it. Go Bucs!

K. Scott  Raeford, NC, USA Read my reviews (2)
5 10-17-2012
Follow-up - ugly tele

Here is a picture of the final product. A '91 Fender alder body - it used to have an opaque, rather flat dull pasty yellow finish. I used ColorTone liquid vintage amber with a little bit of medium brown.

KennyM  Midlothian, VA Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
5 10-14-2012
Great Kit!

This is my first Guitar build (Saga LC-10), though I've done a lot of woodwork/repair. I'm pretty comfortable using aerosol for finishes, and with this kit it's a no brainer. I'm currently letting the finish harden (3 weeks). The paints, papers, and book included are all first rate. I also downloaded Dan's guitar setup book for my Kindle. The website and STEWMAC in general are an encyclopedia of knowledge to make your project a success. I wish these resources were available for all my hobbies. Great kit, Great company!

K. Scott  Raeford, NC, USA Read my reviews (2)
5 10-12-2012
Loved it - great kit for redoing my ugly tele

This is a great package if you are new to this process (as I was) and want to fix up a guitar - if you're looking to do a lot of this then you probably want to buy the equipment and supplies a la carte. I loved the spray cans, they gave me a nice smooth and even coat. The adjustable nozzles are a plus - one can vertical, one can horizontal to easily tackle top/back and sides. Sanding papers and polish did a nice job on bringing out the mirror finish.

The book - very helpful since this was my first effort. Lots of good advice on materials, process and steps, techniques. I found it though a little light on details in some areas; for example "wet sand with 800" - ok, but it would have been helpful to add things like how much pressure, for how long, how to know when you've sanded enough, etc. Also, there seemed to be a lot of conflicting information on spraying: X number of coats, Y hours apart, for Z days, let cure for W days etc. I came across maybe three different notions on this within the kit and sort of had to figure out what worked best for me. But that feedback is offered constructively; I really enjoyed making my old crappy yellow telecaster beautiful again and this kit was a great decision for me.

KennyM  Midlothian, VA Read my reviews (5)
5 7-27-2012
More than enough

This kit is more than enough to finish your project in a high quality nitro finish. I suggest reading the book through a few times. Then setup your spraying schedule based on the one in the book. I had very good results.

DougD  Florida
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 39 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce