Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Electronics, pickups : Supplies: Wiring kits : Premium Wiring Kit for Paul Reed Smith

Premium Wiring Kit for Paul Reed Smith


Read 10 Reviews   |   Write a Review

A convenient set of the parts you'll need to wire a PRS® guitar, complete with an easy to follow wiring diagram.

See details below

Email a friend
Premium Wiring Kit for Paul Reed Smith
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1920 Premium Wiring Kit for Paul Reed Smith Yes
$28.12


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Rotary Switches



Kester Pocket-Pak Solder



Conductive Shielding Paint



Conductive Copper Tape



Self-adhesive Shielding Kit



Rotary Switches
Kester Pocket-Pak Solder
Conductive Shielding Paint
Conductive Copper Tape
Self-adhesive Shielding Kit



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
This premium kit features cloth-covered push-back wire — the right wire for Fender and vintage-style guitar circuitry. The pots in this kit are upgraded to CTS brand for longer life and a smoother, more accurate response.

Wiring Kit for Paul Reed Smith includes
  • Output jack
  • 500K CTS control pots (2)
  • .022uF Orange Drop capacitor
  • 180pf ceramic capacitor
  • 5-position rotary switch
  • Non-shielded cloth-insulated push-back circuit wire: 22 AWG, white, 12" long
  • Non-shielded cloth-insulated push-back circuit wire: 22 AWG, black, 24" long
  • Shielded braided push-back circuit wire: 22 AWG, 12" long
  • Wiring diagram

The rotary switch has a coarse-knurled split shaft, and requires 1-5/16" (33.34mm) mounting cavity depth and a 3/8"-diameter (10mm) mounting hole.

Be sure your control knobs will fit!
CTS pots have a fine-knurled 24-spline split shaft.

CTS control pot specifications
Shaft diameter 0.235" (5.95mm) split shaft, fine knurling
Thread 3/8" x 32
Threaded portion height 3/8" (9.52mm)
Required mounting hole diameter    3/8" (9.52mm)


/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Premium Wiring Kit for Paul Reed Smith
Premium Wiring Kit for Paul Reed Smith
 
3.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 10 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10
4 4-25-2013
Great kit

It lived up to my expectations the pots and the pickup selector is great quality products. However, I would have wanted the pickup switch brass colored such as washers and nuts for the pots. If you follow the wiring diagram and take your time, the soldering will go well. But as previous reviewers have mentioned the tone post needs to be grounded to.

Mikael Sundberg  Örebro, Sweden Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
4 4-14-2012
Nice Kit

I've bought 6 of these kits and for the money they're hard to beat. I used these kits to retrofit PRS SE's up to the normal PRS standards. These kits work fine on the PRS SE Custom 24's & 22's, but you will have to take a utility knife or small router to shave a little of the cavity back to accomodate the rotary switch. Other then that, everything else works fine. Using this kit with tonerider pickups will give a good selection of sounds, even an electric acoustic sound. The standard speed knobs sold by Stewmac fit all the pots fine.

JerryB  Benton, LA
3 11-23-2011
Very cool, but the switch won't fit most PRS SE; Schematic isn't correct!

Actually I've bought just the switch, (not the entire kit) and came here for the schematic. Even if the switch is a nice one, it won't fit inside some guitars. I have a PRS SE Custom (1 Vol, 1 Tone, 1 3-way toggle), and I could not have it installed. And the schematic don't seem right either; - in position 2 we get "inner coils in series", instead of "outer coils in parallel"; - in position 3 we get "inner coils in parallel" instead of "outer coils in series"; - in position 4, we get "outer coils in parallel" instead of "inner coils in parallel" So, positions 2 and 4 are swapped and position 3 is slightly different from the PRS wiring, basically because the PRS Switch is a custom switch and we actually need 6 poles to emulate that switch (like in the "PRS wiring #2" schematic at Seymour Duncan website). That's not a big issue, and I think this is the closer you can get to PRS wiring with this switch. Speaking of the schematic, there's another thing: Like some people already said, you need to ground the tone pot, otherwise it won't work!

tvalenca  Brasília, DF - Brazil Read my reviews (2)
5 7-25-2011
5-way rotary switch kit

First of all, the materials were all first class. The instructions were very clear, easy to follow, and when I plugged in the guitar - it worked! Everything worked fine, the rotary switch gave me all the tones I wanted, and the bleeder capacitor on the volume pot works great. The only problem that I saw was that the diagram did not show the tone pot grounded. I grounded it anyway. However, I didn't try the guitar without the ground so I can't tell you if it should be grounded or not. I installed the components on a PRS copy, that I varnished like Al Dimeola's signature guitar - the Prism. This guitar, along with his signature pickups will give any PRS the run for their money!

guitar novice  Detroit, MI Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
3 5-06-2011
need too use 500 ohm mini pots

Need to use 500 ohm mini pots when using this kit other style guitars. The large pots are nice if you have the room.

trickmaster0442  La Grange Park IL. USA
5 3-28-2011
Amazing little kit!

I am not a pro at this stuff at all. My brother and I wired this kit up to my Agile PRS Copy. This really makes it sound like a PRS. My brother has a PRS with HFS and vintage Bass pickups in it. I have 59' seymour duncans. I had to do a polarity swap in my magnets to make it work with the kit, but the kit is truly amazing. My guitar plays like a dream, and now it sounds like one too. My brother says it sounds as good, if not better than his PRS. Truly amazing kit. Wouldn't do this alone though. It's a tough kit to wire. It was our first kit to ever do, and it works, but I would have someone with experience help you out if it is your first.

ayoder77  arlington, tx
3 3-05-2011
Needed long shaft pots!

The guitar I had was a hair too thick and the nut wouldn't seat. Since my guitar has a beautiful a carved top with knob recesses I didn't want to make it any thinner. Also, I ended up only using the unshielded wire on the switch and for the string ground. I had shielded cable left over from another project and used that to connect the knobs switch and output jack together. As a bonus it looks less like spaghetti.

Joe M.  Queens, NY
5 11-04-2010
Great kit!!

I love this kit! I was amazed by the rotary switch on the PRS but after making my own and realizing how hard it is to switch positions while needing to switch fast on stage. I'm going to go with the 5 way blade switch that does the same coil tapping as this rotary. On the other side, Yes, the tone needs to be grounded. If you shielded your Control cavities like they need to be, the tone grounds itself against the shield paint and the kit sounds 10x better.

Pestvic  Sparks NV Read my reviews (10)
3 9-02-2010
Great Kit

This is a great wiring kit for any guitar. I wired my custom homemade telecaster with it and I can play anything from classic rock to the thin, twangy, funky guitar sound used by Michael Jackson. I agree with another reviewer that the wiring diagram is wrong and the tone control needs to be grounded. I also agree that it is very difficult and time-consuming to solder the switch. Don't tackle this project unless you are good at soldering. Having said that, I love this wiring kit and will probably never build another guitar without it!

crovomick  Matawan, NJ
2 8-08-2010
Could be better

All the components are there, but I think there is a mistake. It didn't work until I wired a ground to the tone control which is not shown on the wiring diagram. Also, there is so much soldering to do on the rotary switch, that it would be nice if that was already done

Doc21  Pittsburgh, PA
Displaying 1 – 10 /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 53 of our latest catalog.


Paul Reed Smith® and PRS® are trademarks of Paul Reed Smith Guitars.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce