Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Electronics, pickups : Supplies: Shielding : Self-adhesive Shielding Kit

Self-adhesive Shielding Kit


Read 40 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Get rid of electrical noise! These conductive shielding materials reduce noise, hum and radio interference when connected to electrical ground.

See details below

Email a friend
Self-adhesive Shielding Kit
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
3789 Standard kit Yes
$14.98

3790 Large kit Yes
$21.95


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Conductive Copper Tape



Conductive Shielding Paint



How to Wire a Gibson Guitar DVD



How to Wire a Fender Guitar DVD



Heat Shrink Tubing



Conductive Copper Tape
Conductive Shielding Paint
How to Wire a Gibson® Guitar DVD
How to Wire a Fender Guitar DVD
Heat Shrink Tubing



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
Use the self-adhesive copper foil to line control cavities or shield pickup coils. (Instructions included.)

#3789 Standard kit shields most guitars, including traditional Strat® and Tele®.
Includes:
Self-adhesive copper foil in three sizes:
         1-1/8" x 13-1/2"
         1/2" x 19-1/2"
         5" x 7" (two sheets)
20" of 2-conductor shielded wire
5" of single-conductor insulated wire
Solder
Instructions

#3790 Large kit has enough foil for Strats made since the '90s.
Includes:
Self-adhesive copper foil in three sizes:
         1-1/8" x 13-1/2" (2 sheets)
         1/2" x 19-1/2"
         and four sheets of 5" x 7" (4 sheets)
20" of 2-conductor shielded wire
5" of single-conductor insulated wire
Solder
Instructions

Self-adhesive copper foil is conductive on both sides.

Additional rolls of Conductive Copper Tape can be purchased separately.

Single-coil buzzkill: the why and how of electric guitar shielding.
Single-coil buzzkill: the why and how of electric guitar shielding.
Single-coil buzzkill: the why and how of electric guitar shielding. Read more

In this issue:
Erick Coleman talks about the causes of buzzes and electrical noise, and how to beat them.
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Self-adhesive Shielding Kit
Self-adhesive Shielding Kit
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 40 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  4 >
5 2-04-2013
Works as advertised

I bought the large kit to shield a Stratocaster and had about half the material left over when I was done! I was able to get flawless continuity between the pieces without soldering them together. Great item!!

DS Engineering  Martietta, GA Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
5 1-31-2013
Very Pleased!

I used the standard kit to shield my 1980s Japanese Stratocaster that was humming slightly when the lights were on, despite installing noiseless pickups, which were a great improvement over the original single coils. Upon inspection, I discovered that the cavities were partially shielded with copper tape but with many gaps. I installed the copper tape into all the cavities, over the previous tape, making sure all the gaps were covered and there was a lip over the edges to make contact with the shielded pearloid pickguard I recently bought. This seemed to ground the installation. No hum! Just that great sound!

JamieJ  Miami FL
5 1-16-2013
Item #3789 - Standard shielding kit for electric guitars

This is a great kit. Completed my V-Caster in about an hour as all instruction was accurate and straight forward. Quality self sticking copper foil and accessories were excellent and ample supply to do the job perfect the first time. Guitar assembled and not one hiss or buzz from fluo lights, three phase or any stage equipment. Thx Stew. DrBob737

DrBob737  Gold Coast Qld Australia Read my reviews (3)
5 12-28-2012
Shielding Kit for Faraday cage.

This is what all guitars should have installed as a standard straight from the factory. This kit is great for creating a common ground to all componets on your guitar. This kit is easy to install. Took me about an hour to complete, and I'm happy with the results. Cuts down on stray electromagnetic interference . For the price of the kit this is a no-brainer. I even had left over copper tape for my bass guitar. Thanks Stewart MacDonald.

Bobby Baird  Austin, TX
Customer supplied image for review
5 12-17-2012
Works!

I just built a 50s Les Paul based solid body and a 66 Precision Bass replica. Using the P90 pickups on the Les Paul was a challenge because they are inherently noisy. I play my guitars on stage and I couldn't use the Paul the first time I tried to use it. I bought the shielding kit, lined the electronics cavities, csvity covers and pickup covers, and the buzz was totally gone. I was really amazed! So when I built my bass I also used the shielding with buzz free results. I'ts not hard to use. Just follow the suggested installation instructions.

luthiernewbie  usa Read my reviews (4)
5 11-28-2012
Wow - more than I expected! DO IT NOW!

I have a "FrankenStrat" I do all kinds of things to. It picked up so much noise if the amp didn't have RF suppression I could've picked up alien communications. I read a few reviews and figured I'd give this a go. I bought the "large" kit and off I went. One thing I got was some "molding clay" tools and used these as burnishers. After looking at the kit, and knowing what I wanted to do, I also bought a roll of thin copper sheet from a hobby store. Stew-Mac has their own but I wanted a full sheet of copper (sorry SM). I may have got a bit carried away; I covered every square inch of the every internal cavity (plenty of copper foil because I didn't do the pickguard with it). Put it all back together and plugged it in. I heard nothing. I thought I must have shorted something out and hit a string; clear as a bell! I was shocked. More than shocked. It was dead. Quiet. Waved it around the room; not a bit of noise. I tool a small fluorescent ring light (I have a stereo microscope for working on electronics) and waved it all over the face of the guitar and pickups; nothing! UNBELIEVABLE! DO IT! DO NOT HESITATE!

Mike Tripoli  Wichita, KS
5 11-08-2012
Works great

Did the trick on my Jazz bass. Even did a P-bass and got a nice improvement.

Jim Murray  Carmel, IN Read my reviews (3)
5 9-17-2012
Shielding kit

Excellent. Ample materials. Easy to understand instructions. My 70's re-issue jazz is so quite my sound tech asked if I was "on". It did the job!

M Joyce  Ft Worth, TX
5 9-07-2012
Nice Sheilding

Although tricky to get it right in the curves, corners, nooks, and crannys, it is worth the effort. Got this kit the same day as my new Dimebag SH-13 P/U. They even give you the solder which is also good quality. A nicely quiet Shecter Omen is now, "is this thing on", quiet. The Shecter comes with shielding paint but I have always thought the copper foil to be best and I was right at least on mine. I covered every cavity and plate with the perfect amount to cover everything but be meticulus in your cuts or you will be a little short.

bobmblock  Herman, NE Read my reviews (3)
5 9-03-2012
This works!

Got the large kit for my Strat... works as advertised and the instructions are excellent. Had a bit left over but wouldn't want to try the small kit. The foil adheres very well but is forgiving enough I didn't waste any. And my Strat is quiet when I want it to be...not even any touch-the-string pops

kavemann  Vero Beach, FL Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  4 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 50 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce