Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Electronics, pickups : Supplies: Shielding : Self-adhesive Shielding Kit

Self-adhesive Shielding Kit


Read 41 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Get rid of electrical noise! These conductive shielding materials reduce noise, hum and radio interference when connected to electrical ground.

See details below

Email a friend
Self-adhesive Shielding Kit
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
3789 Standard kit Yes
$14.98

3790 Large kit Yes
$21.95


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Conductive Copper Tape



Conductive Shielding Paint



How to Wire a Gibson Guitar DVD



How to Wire a Fender Guitar DVD



Heat Shrink Tubing



Conductive Copper Tape
Conductive Shielding Paint
How to Wire a Gibson® Guitar DVD
How to Wire a Fender Guitar DVD
Heat Shrink Tubing



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
Use the self-adhesive copper foil to line control cavities or shield pickup coils. (Instructions included.)

#3789 Standard kit shields most guitars, including traditional Strat® and Tele®.
Includes:
Self-adhesive copper foil in three sizes:
         1-1/8" x 13-1/2"
         1/2" x 19-1/2"
         5" x 7" (two sheets)
20" of 2-conductor shielded wire
5" of single-conductor insulated wire
Solder
Instructions

#3790 Large kit has enough foil for Strats made since the '90s.
Includes:
Self-adhesive copper foil in three sizes:
         1-1/8" x 13-1/2" (2 sheets)
         1/2" x 19-1/2"
         and four sheets of 5" x 7" (4 sheets)
20" of 2-conductor shielded wire
5" of single-conductor insulated wire
Solder
Instructions

Self-adhesive copper foil is conductive on both sides.

Additional rolls of Conductive Copper Tape can be purchased separately.

Single-coil buzzkill: the why and how of electric guitar shielding.
Single-coil buzzkill: the why and how of electric guitar shielding.
Single-coil buzzkill: the why and how of electric guitar shielding. Read more

In this issue:
Erick Coleman talks about the causes of buzzes and electrical noise, and how to beat them.
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Self-adhesive Shielding Kit
Self-adhesive Shielding Kit
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 40 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3  4 >
5 2-11-2014
Shielding Kit A Must Have

I purchased the Self-adhesive Shielding Kit to reduce the hum and interference associated with my '52 Fender Telecaster. It took about an hour to shield the pickup cavities, control cavity, back of the pick guard and running a cavity ground wire. The result was a reduction in overall noise by 90%. When I play hard rockin' country hum is not a problem but when I'm doing a jazz gig or contemporary gig it was a problem but not anymore. The old Tele is smooth and quite. If you have issues with your guitar it's well worth the 15 bucks and an hour of your time to make a substantial improvement in performance. Thanks Stew-Mac !

Blackie James  Crystal Lake, Illinois
4 1-25-2014
Shielding Kit

This worked very will to reduce the noise on my self upgraded Squire Affinity Strat. I was able to shield the entire pickup and control cavity with the adhesive copper foil tape provided. I also used the adhesive aluminum foil kit to shield pick guard. When completed the background noise had dropped by >90%. This is in inexpensive fix that anyone can do in under an hour.

JeffBinTN  Brentwood, TN Read my reviews (2)
5 11-06-2013
Worked as Advertised

I installed this kit on an old Esquire, and it completely eliminated the RF noise! The guitar sounds better, clearer, if that's possible, due to the lack of residual noise. There was enough material to do a Strat also, although I supplemented that with shielding paint. This also eliminated noise from the band's lighting system coming through the guitar amp! I'm a happy camper...

Jim A.  Illinois Read my reviews (3)
4 10-29-2013
works great

I got the small kit for a Kramer pro ax,
I installed a EMG PA2. into it and have it loaded with hot as can be Seymour Duncans. and I was picking up radio station when I turned the volume down lol. so I installed it and rewired it to perfection. the only changes to the kit should be a 4 conductor wire instead of the 2 conductor and, to use a 2+" foil strip instead of the 1+". I would rather trim some off then have to add more. if you take one of those driver bit holders for drills to smooth everything into the corners you will get great smooth looking results, and lets face it we all have a few of those lying around somewhere.

yugiboy  Billings, MT Read my reviews (2)
5 9-05-2013
Perfect

I shielded my entire cavity with this stuff and it worked great! No hum!

Andrew H.  South Carolina, USA Read my reviews (44)
4 8-02-2013
Easy to work with, could use a bit more wire

Foil is easy to work with, but obviously you need to be careful cutting it and with the adhesive. I had one issue in which the adhesive did not conduct to complete a ground. A spot of solder easily fixed the problem. I found that the ground wire supplied was enough for the bridge, but there wasn't a lot of extra to move the grounding point to another spot in the cavity. There is probably enough foil for another bass. On the whole a good value for this project.

TomHug  Evanston, IL, USA
Customer supplied image for review
5 4-24-2013
DOES THE JOB!

Used this large kit on a '01 Limited Edition Fender Geddy Lee jazz bass MIJ. There is PLENTY of material to do TWO entire basses if you are careful. Bottom line: this kit does the job! Buy it! It works!

GailSuttonMusic  Colorado, USA Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 3-20-2013
silence is golden

Took the hum right out of my strat no revers wound and still silent awsum!!

Johnny R  Virginia Read my reviews (2)
5 3-18-2013
Great Shielding Kit

The tape in the kit is very durable and the adhesive is conductive which is convenient.

Kathryn Kaufman  Northbridge, MA Read my reviews (3)
5 2-22-2013
A must!

My Strat was a radio receiver and general noise maker. The shielding kit was a miracle and now my guitar is silent and actually sounds better. The pickups are more distinctive and fuller. Do not hesitate shielding your guitar, period!

Michael Baran  Mayfield Ohio
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3  4 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 50 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce