Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Electronics, pickups : Supplies: Shielding : Conductive Shielding Paint

Conductive Shielding Paint


Read 58 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Reduces hum, noise and radio interference.
The fastest and easiest way to shield pickup and control cavities. Perfect for tight spots.

See details below

Email a friend
Conductive Shielding Paint
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0029 1/2 pint (236.6ml) Yes
$32.82

0027 1 pint (473.2ml) SAVE $5.08 Yes
$60.56


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Glue Brush



Conductive Copper Tape



How to Wire a Gibson Guitar DVD



How to Wire a Fender Guitar DVD



Heat Shrink Tubing



Glue Brush
Conductive Copper Tape
How to Wire a Gibson® Guitar DVD
How to Wire a Fender Guitar DVD
Heat Shrink Tubing



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
When connected to electrical ground, the shielded surfaces help reduce noise, hum and radio interference. It cleans up with water while still wet, and dries overnight.

Brush on two or more coats of this waterbase dark gray conductive paint for best results (let dry between coats). Conductive shielding paint is supplied in a 1/2-pint can, sufficient for shielding several electric guitars, and in a money-saving 1-pint can. We recommend our conductive tape for best results when shielding smooth plastic pickguards.

California Residents: Click here for Proposition 65 information
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Conductive Shielding Paint
Conductive Shielding Paint
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 58 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 41 – 50 < 1  ...  4  5  6 >
5 7-21-2011
Goodbye Buzz!!!

Initially I wanted to use copper tape, but the paint was so much easier. I used 4 coats of paint in the pickup cavity, the input jack & the trem cavity at the back (24 hours drying time in between coats) I did use a copper shield under the Pickguard. Voila... buzz completely gone.

Make sure there is contact between the copper shield and the paint (I painted the area under the pickguard. You can't see the paint now as the pickguard is placed back on)This stuff is so good that I also did a friends guitar and he is thrilled to bits too!!!

Guitarjoe1  Hollywood, Los Angeles Read my reviews (3)
5 7-01-2011
Easy shield

I have made a copper foil shielded area in a Strat cavity and it was hard work.This paint is so easy to use.Slop on 3-4 coats and the job is done. I have a cheap Strat that sounded great but the hum was annoying loud. I painted under the pickup and control cavities and now the hum is so soft it is barely noticeable. Highly recommended for all guitars.

TomL  Sydney,Australia Read my reviews (16)
5 6-27-2011
It's as simple as pie

Listen this shielding paint works perfect and fantastic. I have basically quit using copper foil except for tab over grounding to pickguard shield. Put a strip of copper foil and paint it over in the rout cavity and put it over a pickguard screw hole to bind the shields together. Also forget the day of drying, can anybody say hair dryer? Works fast and coats are on in minutes instead of hours. Duh try heating your work up and then painting that works too!

GuitarzanMoore  Columbiana, Ohio Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 6-20-2011
Bye Bye hiss and noise....

Works Great to shield out all those pestie Radio waves. i use it in the pickup cavity and in the electronic cavity and it cuts the noise down to 99%

Sid Slack  Tacoma, WA Read my reviews (2)
5 4-14-2011
shielding paint

i love this stuff eazy to use in pick ups cavity,s and everywhere the tape wont if you want a quiet guitar with zero hum you need this and the copper tape i have 30 guitars all with both of these

santos  calif Read my reviews (2)
5 4-03-2011
The Best Shielding Option

If you have any routing work inside the control cavity this is a great solution. It's much easier than lining an area with copper foil. This is essential for any electronics installation inside a guitar in-which you need to re-shield an area..

Brooks Holland  San Fransisco, CA
Customer supplied image for review
5 3-28-2011
A bit messy!

Works well but is a bit messy to apply. Three coats (third over screw connection) made for good electrical connection. Cleans up with water when wet but don't get it on untreated wood or you will have a bit of sanding to do. Accurately mask all bits you DON'T want painted.

Jocko  Scotland Read my reviews (20)
5 3-22-2011
The Paint Beats Copper

Using this shielding paint makes an easy job of shielding your guitar. Only drawback is you need at least 3 coats and must allow a day between each to dry.

JeffD  Seattle,WA USA
5 3-18-2011
Allows accurate work

Excellent product, practical, effective ...

Riccardo  Italy Read my reviews (2)
4 2-17-2011
A must

I used this in both the electronics and pickup cavities and it works great. It will go in every instrument i have. Thank you stewmac

Michael Grannis  Phoenix, Az Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 41 – 50 < 1  ...  4  5  6 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 50 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce