Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Electronics, pickups : Supplies: Shielding : Conductive Shielding Paint

Conductive Shielding Paint


Read 58 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Reduces hum, noise and radio interference.
The fastest and easiest way to shield pickup and control cavities. Perfect for tight spots.

See details below

Email a friend
Conductive Shielding Paint
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0029 1/2 pint (236.6ml) Yes
$32.82

0027 1 pint (473.2ml) SAVE $5.08 Yes
$60.56


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Glue Brush



Conductive Copper Tape



How to Wire a Gibson Guitar DVD



How to Wire a Fender Guitar DVD



Heat Shrink Tubing



Glue Brush
Conductive Copper Tape
How to Wire a Gibson® Guitar DVD
How to Wire a Fender Guitar DVD
Heat Shrink Tubing



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
When connected to electrical ground, the shielded surfaces help reduce noise, hum and radio interference. It cleans up with water while still wet, and dries overnight.

Brush on two or more coats of this waterbase dark gray conductive paint for best results (let dry between coats). Conductive shielding paint is supplied in a 1/2-pint can, sufficient for shielding several electric guitars, and in a money-saving 1-pint can. We recommend our conductive tape for best results when shielding smooth plastic pickguards.

California Residents: Click here for Proposition 65 information
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Conductive Shielding Paint
Conductive Shielding Paint
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 58 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5  6 >
3 2-22-2012
shielding paint

pretty good i think, considering i have not tried any other kind pf shielding paint. i suggest following the instructions. dont do any shortcuts and allow the full time to dry.

kevin j  novato,california, USA Read my reviews (4)
5 2-09-2012
pintura conductora de blindaje

Is very good. thank you stewart

Javier Martinez (Luthier)  Madrid EspaƱa
Customer supplied image for review
5 12-17-2011
Much Better than Foil

I was glad to find this product. I definitely wanted to shield for noise but had dreaded the foil shielding I was familiar with.

This is straight forward, neat, clean, and does the job. It looks so much better than the copper foil.

Thanks, StewMac

DavidG  Albany, Georgia USA Read my reviews (11)
5 11-19-2011
Conductive Shielding Paint

This product worked very well, it did not seem to runny and it dried well. I did use a heat gun to expediate drying with three coats. Final results were an extremely quiet single coil guitar, but I also used a single ground bar and avoided ground loops. I feel this product was a bit over-priced but it worked well and is easier to use than copper foil.

Thomas P  Greensboro
5 10-01-2011
Easy to apply, just be careful!

I decided to shield the pickup cavity on one of my Strat's after doing some routing for a pickup. I taped off the area around the cavity, bought some disposable brushes at Home Depot, and put 3 coats on. I wish the stuff dried faster, this took 3-days but did a great job of coating the guitar. I made sure to connect the shielded area to the ground of the electronics, very important. This paint is VERY runny, so go easy and take your time. The Strat is nice and quiet, no complaints.

Rob B.  Framingham, MA Read my reviews (2)
5 9-30-2011
Works great

Much easier than copper foil. I got 4 coats on in about 3 hours using a fan and blow dryer to speed up the drying process. Not sure if there is any actual value to waiting 24 hours, but the blow dryer seems the way to go. Only complaint would be the cost but this can should last a long time...

John V  Austin TX Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
5 9-21-2011
Best purchase for shielding

I've always used copper foil and wanted to try this paint after reading good things here and on Talkbass. This product made my guitar so quiet I had to pluck a string to make sure it was on! You can't go wrong with this one. Hair dryer lowered drying time and use 3 coats.

Mickey Dee  Fairfield County Ct
5 9-12-2011
Better than shielding tape in control cavity

I like this better than tape for inside a control cavity. Works best on bare wood. Stains EVERYTHING very easy, be careful especially with brush splatter. Use blue painter tape to mask off body around where you will be painting. Use in a place you won't go nuts if there is an accidental spill, like the garage and not in the dining room with better overhead lighting.

Will not come off carpet. I found one thick coat and a 24 hour dry time adequate. I soldered a lug to the bridge ground wire and then screwed the lug into the cavity and the used that for universal ground. Works very well, very silent, could play in front of a neon light holding a soldering iron next to the pickups and it would be noise free. Not for use on the backside of a Stratocaster pick guard... just saying...

David S  Seattle, WA Read my reviews (18)
5 8-04-2011
Conductive shielding paint

This product is used for most of our shielding needs. Easier to apply than foil tape and just as effective. Be sure to tape off areas you don't want it on, as its somewhat thin and will run if given the chance.

CF Custom Guitars  Silver Springs, FL Read my reviews (4)
5 7-25-2011
So so good...

Such a simple and easy way to get rid of excess noise... 4 coats of shielding paint did the trick for me... and use a hair dryer to speed up the drying time if needed.

ParkOLewis  Denver, CO Read my reviews (8)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5  6 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 50 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce