Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Electronics, pickups : Supplies: Shielding : Conductive Shielding Paint

Conductive Shielding Paint


Read 58 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Reduces hum, noise and radio interference.
The fastest and easiest way to shield pickup and control cavities. Perfect for tight spots.

See details below

Email a friend
Conductive Shielding Paint
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0029 1/2 pint (236.6ml) Yes
$32.82

0027 1 pint (473.2ml) SAVE $5.08 Yes
$60.56


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Glue Brush



Conductive Copper Tape



How to Wire a Gibson Guitar DVD



How to Wire a Fender Guitar DVD



Heat Shrink Tubing



Glue Brush
Conductive Copper Tape
How to Wire a Gibson® Guitar DVD
How to Wire a Fender Guitar DVD
Heat Shrink Tubing



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
When connected to electrical ground, the shielded surfaces help reduce noise, hum and radio interference. It cleans up with water while still wet, and dries overnight.

Brush on two or more coats of this waterbase dark gray conductive paint for best results (let dry between coats). Conductive shielding paint is supplied in a 1/2-pint can, sufficient for shielding several electric guitars, and in a money-saving 1-pint can. We recommend our conductive tape for best results when shielding smooth plastic pickguards.

California Residents: Click here for Proposition 65 information
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Conductive Shielding Paint
Conductive Shielding Paint
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 58 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  ...  6 >
5 8-10-2012
Great product!

The conductive paint was quite easy to apply. There was no mess or cleanup following careful masking of the control cavity. I was rewarded with absolute silence when I first plugged my newly built bass into the amp (until I plucked a string, of course!) Love this stuff.

Brandon Allen  Northern Nevada
5 7-22-2012
Great Product

stuff is awesome.

judsun  Austin, TX
5 7-13-2012
The best modificication one can do.

I used this conductive shielding paint to coat the cavities of my Jazz Bass and the insides of the pickup covers. There is absolutely no noise. I can isolate either the bridge or neck pickup without having to worry about any humming. If you're considering an upgrade, it better be this one.

stfuente  San Luis Obispo, CA Read my reviews (3)
5 6-21-2012
Conductive Shielding Paint

This paint works exactly as advertised! I have great sounding, but very noisy, single coil pickups in my '75 Rickenbacker 4001 bass and my band mates were complaining a lot about the buzzing and humming. Applying three coats of this paint, drying overnight for each, coated all hard-to-reach crevices thoroughly. I used this along with StewMac Self-Adhesive Shielding Kit and Multimeter; a great combination. I now have absolutely no buzzes or humming at all, even in the noisy church where we practice that has dimmers and fluorescents galore. Thanks, StewMac!

Rob D  Cincinnati, OH
5 6-20-2012
Good stuff

Used a blow dryer. Administered four coats in 1/2 hour. Don't spill the stuff. If you get it on the body wipe it immediately with a wet anything. I can hold my guitar up to a fluorescent light and get no noise at all.

Phil Panczuk  Lynwood, IL Read my reviews (3)
5 6-19-2012
Hush up that buzz!

This stuff is amazing! The can is a lot smaller than I thought but its Plenty for multiple guitars. I've applied this to about 6-8 guitars and I'm barely to half the can. I wired up my electronics Drop in style and tried it without the paint. Slight hum. I then took out the wires and then dropped them back in after shielding and it got rid of the hum. Not only is this awesome but it also helps with programming effects. With less hum, the less you have to noisegate your tone. Which means better natural tone. I love this stuff! I wont ever buy or build a guitar and not put this stuff on it.

Pestvic  Sparks NV Read my reviews (10)
Customer supplied image for review
5 6-07-2012
Ouch!! : )

Thirty bucks for a half pint. :O However, I like this product very much. Lining a pick up cavity, or pot cavity with copper, seemed a bit much. As long as the shelf life of this stuff is long I'm golden. It is toxic. Wear gloves. I read about people trying to speed up the drying process, but I would not recommend this. The directions are specific. Anyway, a fb friend of mine Joel Dantzig uses a similar product with great success. If you're building a great guitar, why not make the cavities look nice as well.

WinstonF  St. Charles, MO Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
5 4-28-2012
Sheielding Paint

This is our first purchase of this StewMac product. It worked as described. A good product.

MED  Delray, FL Read my reviews (37)
5 4-01-2012
Conductive Shielding Paint

Combined with the copper tape its a realy money maker! love it!

Martín  Rosario, Santa Fe, Argentina Read my reviews (78)
Customer supplied image for review
5 3-23-2012
Works like a charm!

Great product, works like a charm! My control cavities have very little room to work in, so copper shielding tape is a pain. So for me, this stuff is perfect. I used a hairdryer, like mentioned below, with great results. Love this stuff!

abrowntx  Marble Falls, TX Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  ...  6 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 50 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce