Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Electronics, pickups : Supplies: Shielding : Conductive Shielding Paint

Conductive Shielding Paint


Read 58 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Reduces hum, noise and radio interference.
The fastest and easiest way to shield pickup and control cavities. Perfect for tight spots.

See details below

Email a friend
Conductive Shielding Paint
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0029 1/2 pint (236.6ml) Yes
$32.82

0027 1 pint (473.2ml) SAVE $5.08 Yes
$60.56


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Glue Brush



Conductive Copper Tape



How to Wire a Gibson Guitar DVD



How to Wire a Fender Guitar DVD



Heat Shrink Tubing



Glue Brush
Conductive Copper Tape
How to Wire a Gibson® Guitar DVD
How to Wire a Fender Guitar DVD
Heat Shrink Tubing



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
When connected to electrical ground, the shielded surfaces help reduce noise, hum and radio interference. It cleans up with water while still wet, and dries overnight.

Brush on two or more coats of this waterbase dark gray conductive paint for best results (let dry between coats). Conductive shielding paint is supplied in a 1/2-pint can, sufficient for shielding several electric guitars, and in a money-saving 1-pint can. We recommend our conductive tape for best results when shielding smooth plastic pickguards.

California Residents: Click here for Proposition 65 information
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Conductive Shielding Paint
Conductive Shielding Paint
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 58 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  6 >
5 3-03-2013
Worked for me

I bought a small can of this paint and used it on a particularly noisy guitar. Three coats. Took about 4 hours per coat to dry, but not 24. I think there's enough left to do a couple more guitars. In short, it must work because I eliminated the noise I had been getting on this guitar. I also put foil across the back of the entire pickguard, and made sure everything was grounded (I made sure everything was grounded before I ever got the paint - it's the first thing I did in an attempt to silence the instrument). So I have to give the paint the credit for quieting down this thing. Of course, every guitar is different. This one has wax potted pickups, and high quality volume and tone pots.

Waddie  USA Read my reviews (4)
5 2-27-2013
WOW WOW WOW

OK for those of you who are wondering if isolating your electric instrument will make a difference. Many years of playing clubs and a constant buzz or hum. I had had enough. I bought fender noiseless pickups for my Tele copy, shielding paint, copper tape, vol and tone pots and some nice little cosmetic parts to complete my fix it project. I never looked back. I am now better than 2 months into using my old used NEW and improved TELE copy. I can't say this enough times. GIT ER DONE. I am still in shock every time I plug in to my wireless rig. Pickup noise is the last thing on my mind, in fact it's not on my mind at all anymore. It was worth every penny. I feel almost stupid for not doing this years ago. Just do it!!!!!

Brett289  Ontario, Canada Read my reviews (5)
5 2-03-2013
it doesn't get any easier

Just paint this on, make sure it is connected to ground, and you're done. If you've ever tried to line a cavity with foil tape, you will really appreciate this stuff. A little goes a long way. Three or more coats will drop the resistance considerably. Go ahead and paint it over that thin, probably useless factory coating, the more the better. You can also paint the insides of some plastic pickup covers. Jazz bass needs all the help it can get. You can clean the brush with water, and wipe wet drips off of slick surfaces, but it is instantly stains bare wood or cloth, so tape off your project, spread newspaper, and put on an old shirt. Perfect for cramped Gibson cavities.

alder  NJ USA Read my reviews (17)
5 1-03-2013
Perfect Paint

Bought a Roadworn Strat and replaced the pickups with Noiseless pickups. But there was still noise. Tried copper foil and made a HUGE mess of it. Bought a can of this. Painted the cavities with three coats, dried with a hair dryer between coats. Took all of 15 minutes. Attached a ground wire with a lug at the other end, from the back of the pot to a small screw I put into the side of the cavity (so that the teeth of the lug dug into the paint. Perfectly silent. No hum. No buzz. Perfect paint! Disclaimer: I also used a small piece of copper foil on the underside of the pickguard to cover the area where the wires run down the center channel in the guitar. Made sure it made contact with the foil around the controls. Not sure this was needed, but it sure didn't hurt.

Bob Martin  Rochester, NY
4 12-12-2012
Quick & Easy

Fast drying time, really simple to apply, and I really like the look better than foil. Only thing that I don't like is that if anything touches, rubs, or slightly scratches the dry surface, it goes from flat black to shiny silver showing the mistake. This prohibits from smoothing out brush strokes. I use foam brushes, but they still leave a stroke-textured surface.

Sean Breen - Breen Guitars  Kirby, VT Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
5 12-08-2012
Quick drying

This stuff dries fast and works well.It is way better than struggling with conductive tape IMO.It takes a few coats but works excellent and keeps the noise down well. No complaints and plenty left over to use on my other guitars

Billy C  Pennsylvania Read my reviews (22)
5 11-11-2012
Good Stuff

I've shielded 3 guitars so far and have a half can left. Way easier than copper tape. I tried the hair dryer suggestion and worked great. Also the pipe cleaner trick to paint the cavities. A huge improvement in cutting down the noise, may not totally help with single coil 60 cycle hum but makes a difference. When applied with care it reduces RF interference to almost zero. On the last kit guitar I built it is dead silent now, didn't think I had my amp on and this is with a fluorescent light right above the amp. Note the kit was raw wood and the conductive material soaked in deeply, one thick coat was all that was needed. With a pre-painted cavity I would go with 3 coats.

heinz  Alton,Il Read my reviews (9)
5 10-25-2012
Better than stock

When building, refubishing, hot-rodding, repairing, or restoring a good quality electric guitar, it has been said that it's a good idea to insulate the cavities.

If you don't want your guitar to be buzzy, this is like painting 'ground' in all of your cavities including vol/tone cavities, pickup cavities, and pickup toggle cavity (speaking in LesPaul anatomy). The jack cavity and hole from toggle to vol/tone cavity can also be insulated easily with this insulation paint. Put on enough coats and test with voltmeter.

Disclaimer: some people like the rawness and "aliveness" of a buzzy guitar, and claim it adds to their tone, especially in live situations. If you have a customer like this, do not use this stuff. It will quiet the guitar as much as wax potting an unpotted guitar pickup.

This stuff works really good, and if you have enough coats on the guitar will be nice and quiet.

NPB_EST.1979  Detroit, MI Read my reviews (14)
Customer supplied image for review
5 10-20-2012
Easy to apply & works well

I've always disliked using copper tape so I gave this a shot. It paints on easily (very thin) and dries quickly. I tested continuity with a DMM and I needed at least two coats for this to work well. A very clean looking option that shields well. Clean up is quick - wipes off finish with damp rag.

tb  Portland OR Read my reviews (50)
5 9-10-2012
Goes further than you think

This is amazing stuff. I have used it on 2 guitars so far and it is much easier and neater than copper tape. I have found that 3 coats was plenty and you could probably get away with 2. Used it on a strat and would my amp right up on high gain and had almost nothing sitting right beside my computer. I bought the 1/2 pint and it looks like I would be able to do dozens of guitars with it. Seems expensive for how much is in there but it goes a very long way.
Thanks Stew Mac.

JordanNZ  New Zealand Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  6 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 50 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce