Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Electronics, pickups : Supplies: Shielding : Conductive Copper Tape

Conductive Copper Tape


Read 133 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Get rid of buzz and interference in your guitar.
Shield pickups and control cavities with this self-adhesive copper tape.

See details below

Email a friend
Conductive Copper Tape
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0038 Set of all 3 widths SAVE $4.00 Yes
$32.70

0028 2" wide Yes
$19.39

0037 3/4" wide Yes
$12.69

0036 1/4" wide Yes
$4.62


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Conductive Shielding Paint



Self-adhesive Shielding Kit



How to Wire a Gibson Guitar DVD



How to Wire a Fender Guitar DVD



Heat Shrink Tubing



Conductive Shielding Paint
Self-adhesive Shielding Kit
How to Wire a Gibson® Guitar DVD
How to Wire a Fender Guitar DVD
Heat Shrink Tubing



Details
 Pictures
180" rolls for shielding pickups and control cavities to reduce hum, noise and radio interference. The self-adhesive backing is also conductive, so overlapped seams are electrically continuous. Wrap this tape around pickup coils for additional shielding.

Sold individually or SAVE when you buy the set of all three widths.

Conductive Copper Tape surface accepts solder.

Item Width Thickness Length
#0028 2" (50.80mm) .00125" (0.076mm, 1.25 mil) 180" (4.57m)
#0037 3/4" (19.05mm) .00125" (0.076mm, 1.25 mil) 180" (4.57m)
#0036 1/4" (6.35mm) .00125" (0.076mm, 1.25 mil) 180" (4.57m)

For quicker shielding in small, hard to reach areas, use our Conductive Shielding Paint. Also available: our Shielding Kit contains the materials for shielding one guitar.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Conductive Copper Tape
Conductive Copper Tape
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 133 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 71 – 80 < 1  ...  7  8  9  ...  14 >
5 12-10-2011
Conductive copper tape

Works great, does what it's supposed to do. Easy to work with and is very thin to put into those small routed areas. Shielded pickguards are not enough to shield properly. You must make a "box" surrounding entire area for low level signals. When exiting box/cavity use shielded cable. Single coils will suddenly be almost totally quiet as full humbucking pickups. Notice the three contact points between pickguard and cavity. When done check continuity w/ ohm-meter to double check all work over entire guitar areas, pots, cavity, strings, bridge, to output jack.

jojokeo  Huntington Beach CA Read my reviews (11)
Customer supplied image for review
5 12-05-2011
Affordable Upgrade/Restoration

I'm amazed at all of the musicians that shell out hundreds of dollars to upgrade pickups, tuners, bridges, etc… and won’t take the time to shield their primo components. This is really a no-brainer, especially if you’re replacing pots, jacks, wiring and so on. This tape is not difficult use. Goodbye unwanted noises.

Long Gone  Virginia
5 11-12-2011
Amazing stuff !

This tape is amazing. The conductive adhesive allowed me to cover the entire cavity without having to solder each adjoining piece together.

The tape is thin enough to shape easily, but strong enough to avoid tearing when worked into corners.

I used a single 2" roll, which worked great for the larger areas, and was easy to cut length-wise for the vertical sides of the pickup cavities.

There was plenty on the roll; I probably still have enough to do another guitar.

I endorse this stuff without reservation!

sid  Maryland, USA
Customer supplied image for review
5 10-30-2011
Kill the hum

Want stop the Annoying hum?
This is the product

Jair  Brasília, Brazil Read my reviews (3)
5 10-26-2011
Works Swell

Great for making shielded cavities, good conductivity and good conductive adhesive. There's lot's more application for this stuff than just guitars electronics cavities. A must have in my shop.

Billy Stephens  Fountain Valley, CA. Read my reviews (16)
Customer supplied image for review
5 10-20-2011
Great Stuff

This tape works well. It holds in place, just be sure the body cavities are clean and free from sawdust. It does an excellent job of shielding. Long strips can get tricky because of the stickiness of the backing so I recommend you peel it as you go. Excellent product.

W. Hartman  Cincinnati, OH Read my reviews (3)
5 9-27-2011
Good quality

It sticks to crappy surfaces very well and got rid of most of the buzz from my strat. Just dont forget to solder a ground to it somewhere.

carlton wilkinson  victoria, tx Read my reviews (27)
5 9-25-2011
Great for hum-sensitive pickups

I used this to shield the pickup and control cavities of my SG before I put P-Rails in. I was used to humbuckers and wasn't sure how bad the single coil Rails or single coil P90s would hum. So while I had the guitar apart I went ahead and shielded everything. I used the set of all 3 sizes and found a use for each width. Result is good enough.

I get a very slight hum with the new single coils, but much better than I would have anticipated. Conductivity across the adhesive was quite good. The ONLY problem is that the P-Rails are slightly smaller than the humbuckers so there's a gap in the pickguard around the pickups where you can see shiny copper inside the guitar. I'll have to paint that black someday.

fret_man  Bartlett, IL Read my reviews (5)
5 9-05-2011
Excellent insulator.

The tape works perfectly. Thanks a lot.

Celio Freitas  Brazil
5 9-04-2011
Shielding Tape

These guys have the best prices on shielding tape I've found and their shipping is great. Can't say enough good things about this company. Always a pleasure doing business with them.

b wms  Glen Allen, VA
Displaying 71 – 80 < 1  ...  7  8  9  ...  14 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 50 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce