Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Electronics, pickups : Supplies: Shielding : Conductive Copper Tape

Conductive Copper Tape


Read 133 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Get rid of buzz and interference in your guitar.
Shield pickups and control cavities with this self-adhesive copper tape.

See details below

Email a friend
Conductive Copper Tape
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0038 Set of all 3 widths SAVE $4.00 Yes
$32.70

0028 2" wide Yes
$19.39

0037 3/4" wide Yes
$12.69

0036 1/4" wide Yes
$4.62


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Conductive Shielding Paint



Self-adhesive Shielding Kit



How to Wire a Gibson Guitar DVD



How to Wire a Fender Guitar DVD



Heat Shrink Tubing



Conductive Shielding Paint
Self-adhesive Shielding Kit
How to Wire a Gibson® Guitar DVD
How to Wire a Fender Guitar DVD
Heat Shrink Tubing



Details
 Pictures
180" rolls for shielding pickups and control cavities to reduce hum, noise and radio interference. The self-adhesive backing is also conductive, so overlapped seams are electrically continuous. Wrap this tape around pickup coils for additional shielding.

Sold individually or SAVE when you buy the set of all three widths.

Conductive Copper Tape surface accepts solder.

Item Width Thickness Length
#0028 2" (50.80mm) .00125" (0.076mm, 1.25 mil) 180" (4.57m)
#0037 3/4" (19.05mm) .00125" (0.076mm, 1.25 mil) 180" (4.57m)
#0036 1/4" (6.35mm) .00125" (0.076mm, 1.25 mil) 180" (4.57m)

For quicker shielding in small, hard to reach areas, use our Conductive Shielding Paint. Also available: our Shielding Kit contains the materials for shielding one guitar.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Conductive Copper Tape
Conductive Copper Tape
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 133 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 61 – 70 < 1  ...  6  7  8  ...  14 >
5 2-17-2012
Good stuff...

The conductive adhesive make this tape much simpler to do the job right. Not to mention it's a great price and the StewMac service is always outstanding.

RLowVaughn  Boise, Id. Read my reviews (19)
Customer supplied image for review
5 2-12-2012
Better than expected!

Very easy to work with! Conductive adhesive speeds up the process without having to tac solder everywhere. As clean and simple as paint. Solid continuity when finished. Pic doesn't show tabs over the lip for pickguard contact but after that yeah, turned out great! Plenty of extra with 3 pack, would definately purchase again!

Chris C  Minnesota Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 2-08-2012
It Works

You must ground all of the cavities that have been shielded. The adhesive is conductive, I tested continuity. I shielded a jackson dinky double humbucker and a les paul (including the backs of control plates) with one roll. If you have more than two guitars I would get the paint.

jdelano  Indianapolis, Indiana
4 1-20-2012
Not the same tape

I've ordered this tape twice now. The second order was a different kind of tape. It seems a little less robust (although I didn't actually measure the thickness to compare) and the backing is really flimsy, making it more difficult to get a corner started when you peel it off. This seems like a small gripe but it adds quite a bit of time to a shielding job. There are other methods of shielding and, in my experience, none of them work as well as copper tape. Stewmac's tape has the conductive adhesive that is key to a good shield. I swear by this stuff.

Rob's Mod Shop  Holland, MI Read my reviews (2)
5 1-15-2012
excellent

high quality product

Renato Duarte  Santos - SP - Brazil Read my reviews (3)
4 1-07-2012
Excellent

Very sticky. Good price. LOTS of tape on the roll. Not bad to work with, although I would recomend buying the 3/4" roll as well.

eatsleeprock  Ottawa, ON Read my reviews (2)
5 1-04-2012
Silence isn't golden, it's copper colored!

I purchased this copper foil as a last resort for a friend's inexpensive bass guitar that had a persistent noise problem. Covering the entire cavity with the foil and the underneath of the scratch plate eliminated the hum completely. I was so impressed that I did the same for my '02 SG with P90s that was mildly noisy. It worked there very well also.

Really encouraged, I did the same for my '82 Strat and it is now almost totally silent. I'm a believer! Copper coating my Les Paul next. This stuff really works! A couple of hints: 1)The really narrow stuff is pretty useless. 2)Make sure that the foil on the underneath of the guard makes an electical contact with the cavity foil 3)Ground the foil somehow.

Patterson  Fremont, MI Read my reviews (9)
4 12-30-2011
works pretty good, worth the effort

I used this copper tape (large size)to try to reduce 60 cycle hum in the pup cavities & inside the control panel of a Epiphone L.P. Special with P90 pups. The tape is pretty easy to work with, & did reduce the hum somewhat- you don't really notice the hum much unless you're playing thru a maxxed out amp with a lot of gain, & don't notice it at all while you're playing.

Michael Hamm  Austin, Texas Read my reviews (2)
5 12-16-2011
A tip

It's not cheap, but it makes shielding much easier. A big plus is conductive paint, so you can shield cavities one side at the time and still maintain electrical connection between all tape pieces.
One tip though, save the money and get the narrowest tape. Use cheap household Alu foil and double sided tape to shield large surfaces and then just connect all the Alu pieces with the copper tape. You'll be able to shield a few guitars with just one 3$ roll and some household foil.

Bancika  Serbia Read my reviews (7)
5 12-15-2011
Works Perfectly

Orded to shield the control cavity of a Strat/Les Paul hybrid I was rebuilding. Conductive adhesive works flawlesly. I performed many condutctivity tests during installation and not once did I find a failure point.

Easy to apply. A good thickness balance between durability and workability. Easily cut, and molded, but doesn't tear unless handled very roughly.

I used the 2" wide tape and cut widths to fit.

flynscot  Dallas, TX Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 61 – 70 < 1  ...  6  7  8  ...  14 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 50 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce