Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Electronics, pickups : Supplies: Shielding : Conductive Copper Tape

Conductive Copper Tape


Read 133 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Get rid of buzz and interference in your guitar.
Shield pickups and control cavities with this self-adhesive copper tape.

See details below

Email a friend
Conductive Copper Tape
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0038 Set of all 3 widths SAVE $4.00 Yes
$32.70

0028 2" wide Yes
$19.39

0037 3/4" wide Yes
$12.69

0036 1/4" wide Yes
$4.62


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Conductive Shielding Paint



Self-adhesive Shielding Kit



How to Wire a Gibson Guitar DVD



How to Wire a Fender Guitar DVD



Heat Shrink Tubing



Conductive Shielding Paint
Self-adhesive Shielding Kit
How to Wire a Gibson® Guitar DVD
How to Wire a Fender Guitar DVD
Heat Shrink Tubing



Details
 Pictures
180" rolls for shielding pickups and control cavities to reduce hum, noise and radio interference. The self-adhesive backing is also conductive, so overlapped seams are electrically continuous. Wrap this tape around pickup coils for additional shielding.

Sold individually or SAVE when you buy the set of all three widths.

Conductive Copper Tape surface accepts solder.

Item Width Thickness Length
#0028 2" (50.80mm) .00125" (0.076mm, 1.25 mil) 180" (4.57m)
#0037 3/4" (19.05mm) .00125" (0.076mm, 1.25 mil) 180" (4.57m)
#0036 1/4" (6.35mm) .00125" (0.076mm, 1.25 mil) 180" (4.57m)

For quicker shielding in small, hard to reach areas, use our Conductive Shielding Paint. Also available: our Shielding Kit contains the materials for shielding one guitar.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Conductive Copper Tape
Conductive Copper Tape
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 133 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 111 – 120 < 1  ...  11  12  13  14 >
5 2-10-2011
Keep the noise down !!

In restoring an aged Jackson for a client, I wanted to give this guitar the quietest cleanest sound, letting the effects equipment do its job on the best possible signal. After replacing pots and switch the real satisfaction came with lining the cut outs and pickup sections with copper tape. It looked so good i made the panels see through ! I was happy, the customer was ecstatic !!

Nevin Rodgers  Ireland
5 2-03-2011
What I needed

Just what I needed at a fair price.

Rockymo  Little Rock, Ar Read my reviews (2)
4 1-29-2011
Gets the job done, but not completely effective

The copper tape is made well, with adhesive conductive backing so you don't have to solder any joints if you don't want to. Test it with a multimeter--it will all be continuous if you press it flat. My only complaint is the way that this is marketed, for reducing hum. It really only protects against one variety, and there a handful you can encounter on the gig. I would never consider this a cure-all for hum, just one line of protection.

magnavic  Colorado
Customer supplied image for review
5 1-23-2011
Great shielding

Really keeps the noise down. Looks great and easy to apply around corners and edges. Great shielding. Now all I need is an "11" on my amp's volume knob.

DavidJ  Cork, Ireland Read my reviews (2)
5 1-19-2011
Just What I Needed.

The shielding tape was perfect! It was easy to apply and worked like a champ to keep my guitar project quiet! Thanks again STEWMAC!

Jeffry Swertfeger  Rochester, MN
5 1-12-2011
Unbelievable

I had never shielded a guitar before so I didn't know what to expect. I had some new "noiseless" DiMarzio pickups that were noisier than the Mexican Strat pickups they were replacing. Although I also bought the Stewmac shielding "kit" to do this job, I ended up using only this wide roll in tandem with one of those metal blanks that sandwich between the underside of your pickguard and guitar body. I used no extra wiring or soldering. I was hoping for an improvement, but never expected the 100% wonderful silence that resulted. I can now push my effects pedals and amp to limits never obtainable before and have new space on my board where I've taken away my tone squashing noise supression unit. I think I'm going to make a pyramid hat out of this stuff and wear it (grin). But seriously this simple inexpensive item is one of my two favorite Strat upgrades to date after 40 plus years of playing. (the other is the Wilkinson/Gotoh VSVG Vintage Tremolo - also sold at Stewmac)

JLondon  Owensboro, KY Read my reviews (13)
5 1-07-2011
Recommended

I installed the copper foil in a Gibson Les Paul Special with P90 pickups that buzzed like crazy. Easy to use and very effective at getting rid of hum. Lined the control and pickup cavities. Highly recommend this.

Frank Quarracino  Kimberton PA
5 12-27-2010
great product.

this copper tape saved my life! amazing quality and easy to apply.

Rista  Greece Read my reviews (2)
5 12-24-2010
perfect

I got the 2" role and was able to cover 2 guitars(strat and double cutaway nonamer) and 1 bass and still have some left. It applied easily, was conductive all the way around and the finished product looks awesome.

Robh  USA Read my reviews (4)
5 11-26-2010
3/4" wide conductive copper tape

This was just enough to shield an Ibanez RG. With 3/16" overlap, I was able to cover: 2 Humbucker routs, rear control compartment, control compartment cover; input jack recess, and a strip to retain the bridge ground under the plate.
After seeing the way it looked when finished, I kind of wish copper plated hardware were available.

Richard Ardrey  Portland, Oregon Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 111 – 120 < 1  ...  11  12  13  14 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 50 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce