Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Electronics, pickups : Special tools for Electronics, pickups : Pickup building : Magnet Polarity Tester

Magnet Polarity Tester


Read 29 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Refined by Les Schatten especially for guitar shops, this tester is useful for troubleshooting and testing pickups and wiring.

See details below

Email a friend
Magnet Polarity Tester
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5127 Magnet Polarity Tester Yes
$8.95


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Oak Grigsby Super Switch



Benedetto S-6 Suspended Jazz Pickup



Pickup Kit for P-Bass



Pickup Kit for Jazz Bass



Fieldpiece Digital Pocket Multimeter



Oak Grigsby Super Switch
Benedetto S-6 Suspended Jazz Pickup
Pickup Kit for P-Bass
Pickup Kit for Jazz Bass
Fieldpiece Digital Pocket Multimeter



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
Pickup rewinding specialist J.M. Rolph has noted, "How many times have you wired a pickup and found it's magnetically out of phase, with the same thin, low-powered sound as a pickup that's wired out of phase, even though the lead wires looked right?" By indicating the north or south magnetic orientation of a pickup's polepieces, this polarity tester can help you avoid the problem.

With a basic knowledge of vintage pickup magnet polarities (instructions are included), this tool is also a quick way to determine a pickup's authenticity.

How to open a humbucker and reverse the polarity
How do you pop the top on a humbucker?
How to open a humbucker and reverse the polarity Read more

In this issue:
Erick answers a customer question about reversing a humbucker's pickups, and finds that the hardest part is getting the cover off the pickup!
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Magnet Polarity Tester
Magnet Polarity Tester
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 29 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 >
5 7-18-2012
Time Saving Tool

I repair pickups and wind new ones in my repair shop. This easy to use tool saves me time in determining south or north up. I even had a factory pickup that the magnet was installed in reverse to the intended specs. The guitar's tone was odd/out-of-phase and I checked the polarity first off to find the problem. This purchase has been an important shop aid for me.

Eastbville  Bartlesville, OK Read my reviews (2)
5 4-19-2012
Simple and effective

The magnet polarity tester was extremely simple to use. It made magnetizing my 2 Rickenbacker horseshoe pickups a breeze.

abrigo ohana  hawaii
5 3-04-2012
Good, Cheap, Why Not?

I finally purchased this after looking at it for years in the catalog. Now I'm kicking myself for not buying it sooner. We use it ALL the time at my shop.

Guitartec  Coventry, RI USA Read my reviews (13)
5 11-07-2011
Perfect

...I can't live without...

Diego  Terni, Italy Read my reviews (3)
5 10-30-2011
too simple

I purchased two of the Magnet Polarity Testers. One for me and one for a friend of mine who is also a real luther. He taught me every thing I needed to know to be able to maintain my guitars. The one thing we could never figure out was the polarity of the pickups. Just because the color code of the wires is correct,it dosent allways work the way you wanted. The Magnet Polarity Tester is so simple to use, and no guessing if the Polarity is correct. If you are going to do any rewireing or pickup changes, you will know if you got it right or not, with the Magnet Polarity Tester.
Thank You STEWMAC for a Great,easy to use product.

zapkat  Sierra Vista, AZ Read my reviews (8)
5 7-09-2011
Perfect

Very useful and works perfectly.

Tomy  Becancour, Qc, Canada Read my reviews (8)
5 7-03-2011
Polarity Tester

Smart and to the point. great tool! Thank you stew Mac. Very speedy standard shipping.

Hawwkeye  Portland, Me. Read my reviews (2)
5 5-19-2011
Polarity tester saves the Day!

I recently replaced the bottom plate on a telecaster humbucker from the 70's. It had been bought online and someone had cut the feet that the screws go through to attach the pickup to the pickgaurd. I had seen a trade secrets article on replacing a base plate on a Gibson humbucker so I was brave enough to start. When I was done the swap and the pickup was back together it sounded thin compared to other pickups of the same kind. The pickup measured as it should on my ohmmeter at 10.5k. I had spotted the Magnetic Polarity tester in the catalog, read the information and ordered it. When it arrived I checked the pickup and found the polarity had been reversed. On these pickups the magnets are Cunife and are threaded. When I changed the plate I had mixed them up. Once I knew the polarity, it was a simple fix. Thank you Stew Mac

The G-man  Nanaimo BC Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
4 5-04-2011
A quick helper

Conveniently small and accurate, one of those I wish I had thought of that tool!

Julyan Wallis, Guitar Doctor UK  Cornwall, UK Read my reviews (45)
5 4-07-2011
brilliant simplicity

a plastic tube containing a little rounded magnet in two colors. Simple, effective and eminently useful.

Bert van der Moer  Netherlands Read my reviews (3)
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 50 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce