Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Electronics, pickups : Special tools for Electronics, pickups : Guitar Repair Magnet Kit

Guitar Repair Magnet Kit


Read 32 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Attractive solutions to tricky repair jobs! Make custom repair cauls, magnetize pickups, and more. See the video for tips!

See details below

Email a friend
Guitar Repair Magnet Kit

Play video

 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
4640 Guitar Repair Magnet Kit
  • Two 1/2" magnets
  • Two 1" magnets
  • Two handles

SAVE $3.21
Yes
$31.99

4637 1/2" magnet only Yes
$4.47
4 or more $3.56  
12 or more $2.96  

4638 1" magnet only Yes
$8.57
4 or more $6.85  
12 or more $5.83  

4639 Magnet handle only Yes
$4.56
4 or more $4.09  
12 or more $3.48  


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Scissor Jack



Pickup Kit for Strat



Nut and Saddle Vise



Stikit Gold Paper Self-adhesive Abrasives



Schatten Pickup Winder



Scissor Jack
Pickup Kit for Strat
Nut and Saddle Vise
Stikit Gold Paper Self-adhesive Abrasives
Schatten Pickup Winder



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Articles
As guitar repairman Dan Erlewine has discovered, "magnets are tools and they have lots of uses!" Repair shops are constantly finding inventive new ways to use them.

For example, magnets can be attached to (or inlaid in) clamping cauls for easy alignment with steel clamp jaws—a great help when aligning patches for repairing cracks, or when regluing a bridge.

An exterior magnet will move a second magnet inside a guitar where your arm can't reach: wrap the inner one in a damp cloth to clean glue squeeze-out, or attach self-adhesive sandpaper to remove dried glue.

For building or repairing guitar pickups, you can use a 1" pair to magnetize a pickup or change its polarity. Single-coil Kit Instructions tell you how.

This versatile little kit contains two 1/2" (12.70mm) and two 1" (25.40mm) round nickel-plated magnets. Each is 1/8" (3.18mm) thick, with a center mounting hole that's countersunk on both sides for handy attachment to clamping cauls.

Also included are two Magnet Handles that make picking up, positioning and separating these powerful magnets a whole lot easier. Based on an idea by Al Rorick in our R&D shop, they're made of knurled brass, 1-3/16" long, with attachment screw. Each handle holds one or two magnets, as needed.

Here's a tip: Always use protective paper on the outside of a guitar when sliding a magnet over it.

Warning: These are seriously strong magnets, made of rare earth neodymium boride. The Guinness Book of Records lists this as the world's most magnetic substance, ten times stronger than the ceramic magnets used in modern loudspeakers. These magnets can degauss, magnetize or repolarize any ferrous or magnetic material, including guitar pickups! Keep them away from magnetic storage media such as computer discs, audio and videotapes, as well as pacemakers, computers, CRTs, TVs and watches.

KEEP OUT OF REACH OF CHILDREN. If magnets are swallowed, they can attach to each other and cause internal injury.

How would you reach inside a guitar to do this gluing?
How to reach deep inside a guitar for gluing center strips
How would you reach inside a guitar to do this gluing? Read more

In this issue:
Dan Erlewine's got a puzzle on his hands: this guitar's center strip fell out along with the braces. These parts are meant to be glued BEFORE the guitar is assembled. How do you reach inside to do this on a completed guitar?
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Guitar Repair Magnet Kit
Guitar Repair Magnet Kit
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 32 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  4 >
5 6-06-2012
Indispensable!

Repairs just got way easier. Cracks, clamping, sanding places that are normally way out of reach inside the body. Don't know how I did without these things.

MrFoggg  San Francisco, CA Read my reviews (2)
4 6-06-2012
Good kit

I could have bought cheaper rare-earth magnets from a craft store but these had the convenience of handle-holes with brass handles. It makes controlling the strong magnets much easier. I used them to charge-up the pickup I wound.
Worth it!

andrescbgs  delaware USA Read my reviews (6)
5 2-22-2012
Little magnets, BIG tool

Had a crack in the lower bout. Had seen these magnet on StewMac and just thought they wouldn't work. Posed question on a forum and someone suggested them so what went ahead and purchased them thinking they would not work. Pressed gingerly on the top to open crease underneath and squeezed in some glue with my finger. Using wax paper between magnet and wood, placed them over the crack. Let it dry over night and to my amazement, when I removed the magnets and wax paper, the crack was gone! Can't post before pic but here is after. The crack was just to the right of the magnet where the light reflection is. The before pic has the reflection split and is quite obvious there is a crack. These magnets are just what the 'doctor' ordered. Thanks, StewMac!

Don Noonan  Easley, SC Read my reviews (9)
Customer supplied image for review
5 2-20-2012
Magnet Kit

Always dounbted the claims of this little tool BUT, I had a crack in the top in the extreme lower bout. Couldn't think of anyway to fix it. Got some ideas off a forum and with nothing better, the magnet kit was my only option. Pressed gingerly on the top to open the crack on the inside, pressed some glue up into the opening, covered top and bottom with wax paper, put the magnets to work and to my amazment, when I removed the magnets, the repair was completed with no signs of a crack or ripple where the crack once was. Fantastic little tool that I plan to use more often. It works!

Don Noonan  Easley, SC Read my reviews (9)
4 1-20-2012
Good magnets, great handles.

Overall I'm pleased with magnets and handle. Handle is the usual SM quality and is very... handy. I have since found another online supplier for the same magnets at 1/3 to 1/4 the SM price. In future I will buy the handles here but magnets elsewhere.

Marco Tyler  Kingston, WA. Read my reviews (2)
5 1-07-2012
Love these handles!

I like these magnet handles for moving the magnets around. It's so much better than prying them up with your fingers.Thanks to Al Rorick.

Dave Anderson Guitars  Port Richey,Fl. Read my reviews (5)
5 11-07-2011
Strong

...very useful, and very strong.

Diego  Terni, Italy Read my reviews (3)
5 9-04-2011
Very Versatile

Use these for, clamping, pickup magnetizing, hold tools and screws, keep solvent cups from spilling, get sticky Floyd Rose saddle blocks out. I honestly have used these in one way or another on every job I've done since getting them.

Mike T.  North Carolina, USA Read my reviews (24)
5 7-24-2011
just love them

i really enjoy working with this magnets. They make gluing work on acoustics really easy.

Mario Gabinho Cárdenas Vega  México Read my reviews (17)
4 7-15-2011
Great magnets - just wish the handles were a tighter fit

These magnets are every bit as strong as everyone else says they are; be very careful with them - not only around sensitive electronics and pickups, but also around your fingers! These magnets will slam together if they come near each other and if your finger is in the way, well...

I wasn't crazy about the way the handles fit into them, though. No matter how much you screw them into the magnets, they don't quite fit "snug." It's possible that they were designed that way, I suppose. Otherwise, excellent magnets for use in repairs.

John David James  Old Bridge, NJ
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  4 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 23 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce