Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Electronics, pickups : Potentiometers : CTS Control Pots

CTS Control Pots


Read 129 Reviews   |   Write a Review

CTS pots have long been the first choice in American guitars. CTS pots from StewMac have even more to like: closer tolerances and longer life!

See details below

Email a friend
CTS Control Pots
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0115 Split shaft, 250K-ohm (CTS #450S 3484-1133) Yes
$5.95
6 or more $5.44  
12 or more $4.97  

0116 Split shaft, 500K-ohm (CTS #450S 3485-1133) Yes
$5.95
6 or more $5.44  
12 or more $4.97  

0117 Long split shaft, 500K-ohm (CTS #450S 3486-1133) Yes
$7.95
6 or more $7.27  
12 or more $6.69  

0115-S Solid shaft, 250K-ohm (CTS #450S 3487-1133) Yes
$5.75
6 or more $5.27  
12 or more $4.78  

0116-S Solid shaft, 500K-ohm (CTS #450S 3488-1133) Yes
$5.75
6 or more $5.27  
12 or more $4.78  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Golden Age Treble Bleed Circuit

Alpha Control Pots



Emerson Chicklet Caps

Pot Cleaning Cap



DeoxIT Pot & Switch Cleaner



Golden Age Treble Bleed Circuit
Alpha Control Pots
Emerson Chicklet Caps
Pot Cleaning Cap
DeoxIT Pot & Switch Cleaner



Details
 Pictures
We've specified these CTS pots to feature a longer-life brass shaft and tighter ±10% resistance tolerance compared to CTS products offered by most other suppliers.

CTS precision audio taper gives you smoother and more accurate response than you'll get with economy pots. Crank your guitar up to 10 and the volume swells all the way—no abrupt flattening to choke your playing style.

Available with split shaft for fine-knurled (24-spline) knob, or with smooth shaft to fit a set-screw knob. A long-shaft 500K-ohm version fits Les Paul style carved-top solidbodies.

Each CTS pot includes a flat washer, lock washer, and two hex mounting nuts for custom height adjustment on a pickguard or control plate.

Split shaft, fine knurling
Diameter
Height

0.235" (5.95mm)
3/8" (9.52mm)
Solid shaft
Diameter
Height

1/4" (6.35mm)
3/8" (9.52mm)
Thread 3/8" x 32
Thread height 3/8" (9.52mm)
Thread height, long shaft 3/4" (19.05mm)
Required mounting hole diameter    3/8" (9.52mm)

Which pot value should you choose?
500K pots are standard controls for humbuckers, and 250Ks are usually used for single-coil pickups. A 250K gives a slightly warmer tone than a 500K, and bleeds off (attenuates) some of the high frequencies to ground.

Replacement Mounting Nuts and Lock Washers are also available.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
CTS Control Pots
CTS Control Pots
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 129 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  ...  13 >
5 11-27-2013
Nothing comes close to these

These pots are pure gold: Genuine audio taper, fortress-like construction and zero crackle. And they feel solid and good when turned. No one serious about tone control can turn these down. Way to go, Stewmac!

Shahid Mehkri  Bangalore, India Read my reviews (8)
5 11-16-2013
Smooth and Even Turning Pots

Huge improvement on the stock Alpha pots. I should have upgraded to these years ago.

Archtop Bill  Asheville NC Read my reviews (6)
4 11-15-2013
Superior tone

These parts do make a difference in the overall sound, it is not a super-huge change, but most people should be able to notice a clearer tone. They are sturdier than the Alpha pots, but turn a little slower. A great inexpensive upgrade.

locknutmonster1984  Tulsa, OK
4 11-13-2013
need more

it works but not from the get go; the start volume sound is abrupt when the amp is cranked...I need more full control...but it does work when the volume is being used after sound hits.

chuck elkins  san diego, california Read my reviews (4)
5 11-06-2013
You Want The Best?

You got the best! If you actually need to get something out of your volume and or tone knobs on your guitar than these pots are what you need! Many years ago I figured out that the replacement pots Gibson sells as "Historic" are actually somewhat useful. You can get 3 or 4 distinct output levels out of them. I though that's an improvement so those pots are what I have used for years. Then, I started reading about these CTS pots from STEW MAC when I joined some forums online in the last year. It began to really grab my attention as I started noticing them mentioned in several threads. Finally, I bought a new guitar a little over a month ago and decided these were the pots that I would put in my new guitar. Wow!! I noticed the difference immediately! The pots started giving an audible signal at one and kept rolling up 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10! It felt so great to have a pot performing like its supposed to that I got back on StewMac's site and ordered new pots for all my live guitars right away! This is a worthwhile investment in your guitars! Just do it! Buy them and you won't be disappointed!

got2rawk  Jacksonville, FL
5 10-23-2013
Second to NONE!|

Best you'll get on the market... even most high end models have cheap ones. Grab a set to change and and some keep save for later... new guitars/basses.

GPosada  Colombia Read my reviews (8)
5 10-18-2013
Great performers

My first choice for replacements on all my Gibson Explorers, and various Japanese guitars. Well constructed and does the trick very well.

Stefcat  Canada Read my reviews (9)
5 10-16-2013
+++++++++++++++++++++++

++++++++++++++++++++ que puedo decir, son buenos. ++

zudaka  Argentina Read my reviews (17)
5 10-04-2013
Great pots

Smooth and solid. Easily worth the few extra bucks over the alpha pots.

RockinRonnie  Ontario Read my reviews (5)
4 10-03-2013
Great for Import Strats!

I tried fitting another pot in my import Strat. Somehow they were too tight to fit in the cavity area. Then i ordered these CTS pots from Stewmac. Perfeito!!. Fits the Import Strats with ease. The pots are smooth and clear in operation.

Rui Monte Da Silva  Dubai Read my reviews (5)
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  ...  13 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 52 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce