Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Electronics, pickups : Potentiometers : CTS Control Pots

CTS Control Pots


Read 129 Reviews   |   Write a Review

CTS pots have long been the first choice in American guitars. CTS pots from StewMac have even more to like: closer tolerances and longer life!

See details below

Email a friend
CTS Control Pots
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0115 Split shaft, 250K-ohm (CTS #450S 3484-1133) Yes
$5.95
6 or more $5.44  
12 or more $4.97  

0116 Split shaft, 500K-ohm (CTS #450S 3485-1133) Yes
$5.95
6 or more $5.44  
12 or more $4.97  

0117 Long split shaft, 500K-ohm (CTS #450S 3486-1133) Yes
$7.95
6 or more $7.27  
12 or more $6.69  

0115-S Solid shaft, 250K-ohm (CTS #450S 3487-1133) Yes
$5.75
6 or more $5.27  
12 or more $4.78  

0116-S Solid shaft, 500K-ohm (CTS #450S 3488-1133) Yes
$5.75
6 or more $5.27  
12 or more $4.78  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Golden Age Treble Bleed Circuit

Alpha Control Pots



Emerson Chicklet Caps

Pot Cleaning Cap



DeoxIT Pot & Switch Cleaner



Golden Age Treble Bleed Circuit
Alpha Control Pots
Emerson Chicklet Caps
Pot Cleaning Cap
DeoxIT Pot & Switch Cleaner



Details
 Pictures
We've specified these CTS pots to feature a longer-life brass shaft and tighter ±10% resistance tolerance compared to CTS products offered by most other suppliers.

CTS precision audio taper gives you smoother and more accurate response than you'll get with economy pots. Crank your guitar up to 10 and the volume swells all the way—no abrupt flattening to choke your playing style.

Available with split shaft for fine-knurled (24-spline) knob, or with smooth shaft to fit a set-screw knob. A long-shaft 500K-ohm version fits Les Paul style carved-top solidbodies.

Each CTS pot includes a flat washer, lock washer, and two hex mounting nuts for custom height adjustment on a pickguard or control plate.

Split shaft, fine knurling
Diameter
Height

0.235" (5.95mm)
3/8" (9.52mm)
Solid shaft
Diameter
Height

1/4" (6.35mm)
3/8" (9.52mm)
Thread 3/8" x 32
Thread height 3/8" (9.52mm)
Thread height, long shaft 3/4" (19.05mm)
Required mounting hole diameter    3/8" (9.52mm)

Which pot value should you choose?
500K pots are standard controls for humbuckers, and 250Ks are usually used for single-coil pickups. A 250K gives a slightly warmer tone than a 500K, and bleeds off (attenuates) some of the high frequencies to ground.

Replacement Mounting Nuts and Lock Washers are also available.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
CTS Control Pots
CTS Control Pots
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 129 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 111 – 120 < 1  ...  11  12  13 >
5 1-08-2012
CTS Pots

These are the best . its all i buy ,and about time.they last forever. why settle for the cheap ones. jack sicklerville,NJ

jackguitars  Sicklerville,NJ Read my reviews (8)
Customer supplied image for review
5 12-22-2011
Quality Counts !

I am always looking for ways to improve the guitars & basses I build .I was pleased to find CTS pots for the Airline I built recently . I was pleased to find that gold 3-way p/up switches are now available . Please note the original Valco P/ups . The smooth shaft CTS pots worked very well with the Daka-Ware knobs , Thanks ! Bill Fraser

Bill Fraser  NY
Customer supplied image for review
4 12-22-2011
Good except case back attachment

These posts look and feel very nice.
I really like the brass shaft.
However, I learned you MUST hold the back when installing tight new knobs.
The case back pops right off!
Had to re-crimp the tabs and everything worked out.
Will still buy again, but just be careful!

Fox 
4 12-16-2011
Snug but good

These pots work great. I used them on an OLP MM2 bass. The size was almost a problem. They fit pretty snug but all is well.

Sludgeboss  Lake Havasu City, AZ Read my reviews (2)
5 12-10-2011
250k cts pots

i was working on a project bass and i had some fender cts pots but one was bad the other was defective.i did'nt get mad i just trashed the [pos f-pots] and order some cts pot from stuwart mac best move they worked very well so for now on if i order any guitar parts or more pots this is the one stop you should make.thank you

gutone  canton,ms usa Read my reviews (6)
4 12-05-2011
Finally

Finally, one can get actual 1/4" tele knobs and CTS pots without paying through the nose. They don't look genuinly like a '52 Tele but still fine looking. Besides, you should see what others are asking for real 1/4" Tele knobs.

The CTS pots really are the best workhorse pots around. The Alphas and Mousers are good, but have more of a feel suited to stereo equipment rather than a musical instrument that is an extension of someones creative thoughts like the CTS. Also it wouldn't hurt if more knobs and pots in the world fit each other. Over the years I've inadvertantly purchased 6mm or press-on Tele knobs because of the lack of info on some websites, giving me a pile of 1/4" pots without knobs. Other times I've bought the wrong one from 2 or 3 places to replace a lost one on a Fender guitar, once again due to poorly written websites. No more, Thanks to Stew-Mac.

Dean Allen  Alameda Ca. Read my reviews (5)
5 11-18-2011
CTS POTS

Price very good and pots are good.
The shipment was on time.

Winston  Pascagoula, MS
5 11-18-2011
Everyone knows CTS = Quality

It's nice to FINALLY be able to order the pots you would end up buying somewhere else here at Stew-Mac with the rest of your order. This will end up saving me $20 or more per year in shipping.

Rayzor  Lenawee county Michigan Read my reviews (11)
4 11-17-2011
Quality pot / decent price

There are some out there with more vintage tapers, but for $6 these make a great tone pot!

James Finnerty  ROCKville, MD Read my reviews (13)
4 11-14-2011
Sound great, somewhat weak casing.

These pots sound great! Very smooth taper (I can actually use my volume knob now), and like any pots, dead-simple to install. The one issue I came across was the somewhat weak attachment between the casing and the board. When I pushed the somewhat snug-fitting knobs onto the installed pots, the shaft pushed the casing off of the board, requiring me to re-bend the tabs and hold the pots from the bottom to properly attach the knobs. Once I figured this out, all was well, and there was no real permanent damage to the unit. Would buy again, as long as I remember this particular issue and the work-around for it.

Steve Henningsgard  Minneapolis, MN
Displaying 111 – 120 < 1  ...  11  12  13 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 52 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce