Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Electronics, pickups : Potentiometers : CTS Control Pots

CTS Control Pots


Read 129 Reviews   |   Write a Review

CTS pots have long been the first choice in American guitars. CTS pots from StewMac have even more to like: closer tolerances and longer life!

See details below

Email a friend
CTS Control Pots
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0115 Split shaft, 250K-ohm (CTS #450S 3484-1133) Yes
$5.95
6 or more $5.44  
12 or more $4.97  

0116 Split shaft, 500K-ohm (CTS #450S 3485-1133) Yes
$5.95
6 or more $5.44  
12 or more $4.97  

0117 Long split shaft, 500K-ohm (CTS #450S 3486-1133) Yes
$7.95
6 or more $7.27  
12 or more $6.69  

0115-S Solid shaft, 250K-ohm (CTS #450S 3487-1133) Yes
$5.75
6 or more $5.27  
12 or more $4.78  

0116-S Solid shaft, 500K-ohm (CTS #450S 3488-1133) Yes
$5.75
6 or more $5.27  
12 or more $4.78  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Golden Age Treble Bleed Circuit

Alpha Control Pots



Emerson Chicklet Caps

Pot Cleaning Cap



DeoxIT Pot & Switch Cleaner



Golden Age Treble Bleed Circuit
Alpha Control Pots
Emerson Chicklet Caps
Pot Cleaning Cap
DeoxIT Pot & Switch Cleaner



Details
 Pictures
We've specified these CTS pots to feature a longer-life brass shaft and tighter ±10% resistance tolerance compared to CTS products offered by most other suppliers.

CTS precision audio taper gives you smoother and more accurate response than you'll get with economy pots. Crank your guitar up to 10 and the volume swells all the way—no abrupt flattening to choke your playing style.

Available with split shaft for fine-knurled (24-spline) knob, or with smooth shaft to fit a set-screw knob. A long-shaft 500K-ohm version fits Les Paul style carved-top solidbodies.

Each CTS pot includes a flat washer, lock washer, and two hex mounting nuts for custom height adjustment on a pickguard or control plate.

Split shaft, fine knurling
Diameter
Height

0.235" (5.95mm)
3/8" (9.52mm)
Solid shaft
Diameter
Height

1/4" (6.35mm)
3/8" (9.52mm)
Thread 3/8" x 32
Thread height 3/8" (9.52mm)
Thread height, long shaft 3/4" (19.05mm)
Required mounting hole diameter    3/8" (9.52mm)

Which pot value should you choose?
500K pots are standard controls for humbuckers, and 250Ks are usually used for single-coil pickups. A 250K gives a slightly warmer tone than a 500K, and bleeds off (attenuates) some of the high frequencies to ground.

Replacement Mounting Nuts and Lock Washers are also available.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
CTS Control Pots
CTS Control Pots
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 129 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 101 – 110 < 1  ...  10  11  12  13 >
5 2-20-2012
CTS Pots

Great pots! not a whole lot can be said. They work great!

Kenny Page  Garner, NC, USA Read my reviews (3)
5 2-11-2012
fantastici

mega super fantasmagorici

Marco Ferrari  Italy Read my reviews (6)
5 2-05-2012
CTS Control Pots

I've replaced all the pots in my personal guitars with the CTS and I've been very pleased with their feel and performance. Excellent replacements for anyone looking to upgrade a guitar with cheaper electronics. What happened to the 1Meg pots?

707 Guitar Works  Ukiah, Ca.
4 2-02-2012
CTS Pots

I bought 4 new CTS pots to replace the ones in my LP. My original pots were over 50 years old and built like little tanks. The new CTS pots were not built quite as stoutly as the pots they replaced but made up for that in response.

Steve Pavlidis  Covington, Ga. Read my reviews (7)
2 1-31-2012
wafer is too big for standard routes

Have to file the oversized wafer so the pots fit in a tele cavity. Same 50's cavity I've used time and time again. The top wafer of these pots is rather oversized and hangs over the can. So you have to file the excess. Weird. I havent had this problem with CTS before. Also these have nothing to say what value they are.

No 250k stamp for instance. Pots worked fine but the 10% accuracy wasnt there. One of my 250k pots read 220 and the other 240. My 500k pots were 440 and 496. So half the order was on spec. Still cant figure out why guitar pots need filing to go into routes used since the 50's.

Oldy-r-goody  Canada Read my reviews (9)
StewMac responds

Oldy-r-goody,
Thanks for your feedback. We've asked CTS to start listing the pot value on future batches.

4 1-31-2012
Nice idea

Super. But it lacks a 1 Meg-ohm for some G&L for example... :)
Best !

Jac  France
5 1-21-2012
Fantastic

Not much to add to the word. CTS is simply the best. Why even bother with anything else?

TisDale Custom Guitars  Renton, WA, USA Read my reviews (52)
Customer supplied image for review
5 1-21-2012
Rare Find

I've been looking for a linear pot with the resistance values of my "Telly" for some time.I've looked at electronic books and shops, only to be disappointed.This is the only supply house I know of that has such a variety, as to give me the exact part that I need for just about any electric string instrument I have. Thanks!

W.A.Fontaine  Bronx. NY Read my reviews (2)
5 1-13-2012
CTS Control Pots

CTS control pots have been the gold standard for guitars for years and Stew-Mac has been THE place to go for all things guitar. Together, they can't be beat!

Brian Amato  Traverse City, Michigan Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
5 1-11-2012
CTS Pots

I am glad Stewmac started carrying these. Because of their quality, these pots are what I typically install in all of the guitars I build.
Thanks Stewmac! It makes ordering some things from one place much easier.

Grey Feather Guitars  Corpus Christi, TX Read my reviews (3)
Displaying 101 – 110 < 1  ...  10  11  12  13 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 52 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce