Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Electronics, pickups : Pickups: TV Jones : TV Jones Classic Pickups

TV Jones Classic Pickups


Read 10 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Swap your stock humbuckers for the Filtertron sound!
Killer pickups for rockabilly, swing and rock!

See details below

Email a friend
TV Jones Classic Pickups
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
6117 Neck position, English mount, chrome Yes
$135.00

6118 Bridge position, English mount, chrome Yes
$135.00

6119 PLUS bridge position, English mount, chrome Yes
$138.30


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Wiring Kit for 2-pickups with Toggle Switch



Basic Wiring Kit



Alpha Control Pots



Conductive Shielding Paint



Self-adhesive Shielding Kit



Wiring Kit for 2-pickups with Toggle Switch
Basic Wiring Kit
Alpha Control Pots
Conductive Shielding Paint
Self-adhesive Shielding Kit



Details
 Pictures
TV Jones pickups reproduce the look, twang and growl of late '50s Gretsch Filtertron pickups. They drive the sound of Brian Setzer and other famous guitarists. The TV Classic Plus is a special bridge position model that's wound with thinner coil wire for a beefed-up midrange.

TV Classic pickups are the choice of Brian Setzer and Reverend Horton Heat. These humbuckers feature two rows of adjustable polepieces, in bridge and neck position spacings. Original 1/4"-thick Gretsch Alnico Filtertron magnets were carefully analyzed and reproduced. Each pickup is wax potted to help eliminate microphonic feedback, and has a 4-conductor shielded wire. Neck model 4.0K ohms; bridge model 4.8K ohms.

The TV Classic Plus is a special bridge position model that's wound with thinner coil wire for a beefed-up midrange. It's a great alternative for blues and rock. Chris Cheney of the Living End uses the TV Classic Plus. 7.8K ohms.

All pickups:
Mounting screws, springs and installation instructions are included.
Pickup dimensions: 1-3/8" x 2-13/16" (34.93mm x 71.44mm)
Neck models: 5/8" height (17.15mm), 1-29/32" polepiece spread (48.42mm)
Bridge models: 3/4" height (19.05mm), 2-1/32" polepiece spread (51.59mm)

These pickups are English Mount, and are supplied with custom-fitted Gibson® mounting rings, so you can easily swap out your stock humbuckers.

English Mount ring dimensions:
Neck ring tapers from 1/4" to 5/32" height (6.35mm to 3.97mm)
Bridge ring tapers from 3/8" to 9/32" height (9.52mm to 7.14mm)
Both rings are 3-1/2" x 1-3/4" (88.90mm x 44.45mm) with flat (non-arched) bottom

Handy routing template for the pickguard cutout is available.

Please note: these pickups do not have the original Gretsch-style mounting design.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
TV Jones Classic Pickups
TV Jones Classic Pickups
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 10 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10
5 2-18-2014
Resurrected my guitar!!

The sound coming from these pickups changed my guitar for much better! The clean is wonderful and the drive is always well controlled, without losing definition. Also, I installed a split to use the pickups in single mode. It was one of the best purchases I've made in Stewmac!

AlexandreDCS  Curitiba/PR - Brasil
Customer supplied image for review
2 2-07-2013
Not really there

got these pups, put them in a melody maker and while visually looking pretty great, they were higher output that I am into, I prefer a low output pickup, these sounded much darker than I was expecting as well. I pulled them an hour later and dumped them into an online sale.

rend it  woodstock, ny
5 12-27-2012
TV Jones Classic Rocks

I fitted a TV Jones Classic to my epiphone sg in the bridge position. Absolutely changed the dynamics and sound of the guitar. Best decision I have made in a while

Ric's Guitar Mania  Narrikup Western Australia
5 12-09-2012
Killer pickups!

I built this guitar on commission for one of my best friends. His wife ordered the instrument as a surprise. The proud owner is a sci-fi nut and an aviation engineer so I wanted the guitar to appeal to those qualities. If you have a nice amp, these pickups will bring out the best in it. They have a really sweet, organic personality that I found to be versatile. I am a "Tone is in the hands" guy and I think these pickups do a great job of delivering my playing to my amp. What more could I ask for?

Tim @ Lowstrung Guitars  Minneapolis, MN Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 11-08-2012
TV JONES CLASSIC HUMBUCKERS

These are awesome pickups, this is the second guitar I have put them in. It made this cheap China made guitar, into a real Rockabilly Surf guitar. It also sounds real good clean. And StewMac is awesome place to go to, if you want quality parts. And they will answer questions on about anything dealing with fixing your guitar.

gary mitchell  Texas Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
5 4-10-2012
Right in the sweet spot!

I replaced a set of Wilkinson PAF's (which aren't bad) with a TV Jones Classic neck PU and a Classic Plus bridge PU in my semi-hollow carved top. Stick a fork in it, this guitar is done! The sound is so tasteful and sweet. The mounting screws for the English mount didn't exactly line up with the existing holes, so there was just a smidge of touch up required. Well worth it!

JJuk  Fullerton, CA Read my reviews (25)
Customer supplied image for review
5 3-08-2012
TV Jones Classic perfeect for Les Paul!

I put a TV Jones Classic pickup in my Les Paul Jr. I replaced the single Gibson humbucker with the TV Jones Classic and is is even better than i'd hoped for. The guitar rings crystal clear and still has some snap and bite to it. Perfect for rock, blues, country,... I let my friends try it out and they all love it too!

srvsteve  Waukesha WI, birthplace of Les Paul Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 1-12-2012
Fitting of the theme...

I picked up a '63 Teisco Del Rey in a second hand shop for $20 as a project, It was a mess but savable. I decided to do a resto-mod replacing all the hardware (from Stew-Mac of course)and a Ferrari themed paint scheme.The final touch was the TV Jones Classic Neck and Plus Bridge pickups. Let me just say, "WOW!!!" I never expected this guitar to sound this good. And the sound really fits the Ferrari theme of the guitar, nice low end growl and screams on the high end. It wails.

I highly recommend these pickups for anyone wanting that retro sound.

And I much thanks to Stew-Mac for outstanding service and providing everything I needed to make this guitar the envy of everyone who has seen and played it.

Martin Spencer  Middleport, OH
Customer supplied image for review
5 10-28-2011
WONDERFUL PICKUPS

I have a Prestige Heritage LP from Canada Les Paul type guitar. It was loaded with Seymour Duncans. I was unhappy with the same old sound, I didn't want to sound like everyone else a Duncan 59/JB. So I put a set of TV Jones English Mount Humbuckers in it. And I got to tell you,what a wonderful sound came from that guitar. I would call it ear candy. What a broad range of sound, from Chet Atkins to ZZTop. The best money I've spent in a long time. I have played in Blues bands, Country Rock and some Metal. I also play Bass guitar. I play in church also and have played maybe 35to40 years.

These pickups are the best I've used and I have used alot of brands. And Stewart Macdonald is the greatist place to buy from. I have purchase stuff from them over the years and they have always treated me fair. And I have always received my stuff in good shape in a short amount of time. Good people to deal with. They go out of their way to help you.

gary mitchell  Texas Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
5 8-27-2010
The best of both worlds

I picked the mini humbucker because it's the best of both worlds between a full sized humbucker and a single coil pickup. It has nearly the clarity of a single coil and the bottom end of a humbucker. I bought the over wound "Plus" pickup for a hotter signal. I love it, it sounds great. I would highly recommend it.

Seth  Indiana Read my reviews (7)
Displaying 1 – 10 /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 44 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce