Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Electronics, pickups : Pickups: Kits : Pickup Kit for Strat

Pickup Kit for Strat


Read 18 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Now you can build your own guitar pickups from the ground up: go for the vintage sound or wind it your own way for custom tone!

See details below

Email a friend
Pickup Kit for Strat
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5967 With Alnico 5 magnets Yes
$13.09
6 or more $10.47  

2967 With Alnico 2 magnets Yes
$13.09
6 or more $10.47  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Enamel Coated Pickup Coil Wire



Poly-coated Pickup Coil Wire



Magnet Polarity Tester



Pickup Coil Tape



Electric Glue Pot



Enamel Coated Pickup Coil Wire
Poly-coated Pickup Coil Wire
Magnet Polarity Tester
Pickup Coil Tape
Electric Glue Pot



Details
 Pictures
Articles
Instructions
Each of our pickup kits features vintage-style parts and includes an assembly diagram to get you started.

Choose Alnico 5 or Alnico 2 magnets:
Alnico 2 magnets give a warmer tone and low end response with smooth, singing highs. Many builders use them in the bridge pickups of solidbodies.
Alnico 5 produces a brighter tone with a tighter low end and stinging highs. They're great for neck position pickups, to help keep the tone clear without getting muddy.

Kit includes the basics for a pickup that's straight from the '50s:
  • Black fiber bobbin flatwork
  • Brass eyelets
  • Vintage specification staggered-height polepieces, ready to magnetize (instructions included, Alnico 2 magnets are marked red on one end to tell them apart from Alnico 5's)
  • Black and white push-back wire
  • Mounting screws
  • Compressible tubing for height adjustment

The assembled pickup fits a standard Strat® pickup cover and pickguard.

Polepiece spacing 2.0625" (52.39mm)
Pole to pole
(measured on centers)
0.4125" (10.48mm)


/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Pickup Kit for Strat
Pickup Kit for Strat
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 18 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 18 < 1  2
5 12-27-2011
simple and perfect

well made, sturdy, easy to build. thanks for a great product

bgetraer  usa Read my reviews (6)
5 11-30-2011
highest quality

I use several companies for parts, but am impressed by the highest quality that these strat pickup kits provide, wished they had a full supply of all pickup parts I need. This is the highest quality for staggered alnico 5 pickup parts.

Eastgrove pickups  St. Louis, Mo Read my reviews (35)
Customer supplied image for review
5 1-18-2011
Very Nice

Built many of these now. The entire process I find very fun and there are enough variables to really create or duplicate a desired sound.

The material in this kit is very good!

ValveAmps  Milwaukee, WI
3 8-27-2010
DIY single coils

These kits were REALLY fun.

It did come with all sorts of headaches.

1.I bought the magnets in the same order, so the magnets came stuck to the poles. You need to magnetize these pickups.

2.You need to drill the holes in the bobbin that the pickguard screws go into. Otherwise the screws are too big and it won't thread up.

3. I bought the white plastic covers from stewmac, and I'm just having a hard time getting the pickups into the pickguard. So some fitting may be necessary. I might try it on a Fender pickguard to see if that's the problem.

I've wound 3 of these with 42awg at about 8,000 winds a piece and reading around 6.25k each. As soon as I get them to fit, I'll do another review.

NPB_EST.1979  Detroit, MI Read my reviews (14)
5 8-20-2010
Great Pickup Kit

I was able to reproduce the 54 single coil voicing that I wanted for a project guitar. I am now playing the project guitar more than my custom shop strat.
Thanks for a easy to build kit.
Thanks

Pinnacle Guitar works  Canada
5 8-19-2010
Great kit

This kit has everything you need to make a great vintage-style Strat pickup (minus a cover). I've built about 20 of these kits, both single pickups and calibrated sets, for friends and myself and they always get rave reviews.

What I like most is that you can really experiment with different variables, such as number of turns, type of wire, etc without spending a lot of money.

Invest a little time in designing and building a home-made winder (an old sewing machine makes a great winder) and you will be able to build high quality pickups that are on par with the top manufacturers.

Bob  USA Read my reviews (22)
Customer supplied image for review
3 8-01-2010
Good kit

This is a good kit, however, the magnets will NOT fit Squier Strat pickup covers. I thought they were standard sizes for Strat, even a Squier, but apparently not. The two middle polepieces fit, but the other 4 don't.

Sensei  Washington DC
5 6-01-2010
Pickup for strat

Just finished my first pickup. Sounds awesome. Thank you!

Uldis  Riga, Latvia
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 11 – 18 < 1  2 /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 48 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce