Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Electronics, pickups : Pickups: Guitar, electric : Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers

Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers


Read 133 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Straight-up raw vintage! Closely modeled after an outstanding vintage P.A.F. set from our own collection. That sweet tone was just too good to keep to ourselves!

See details below

Email a friend
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers

Play video

 
 
With Alnico 2 magnets
   Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
 5408  Neck, Alnico 2, nickel Yes
$62.75

 5416  Bridge, Alnico 2, nickel Yes
$62.75

 5408-S  Neck & bridge, Alnico 2, nickel SAVE $14.55 Yes
$110.95

 5408-G  Neck, Alnico 2, gold Yes
$66.95

 5416-G  Bridge, Alnico 2, gold Yes
$66.95

 5408-GS  Neck & bridge, Alnico 2, gold SAVE $15.40 Yes
$118.50

 
With Alnico 5 magnets
   Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
 5409  Neck, Alnico 5, nickel Yes
$62.75

 5417  Bridge, Alnico 5, nickel Yes
$62.75

 5409-S  Neck & bridge, Alnico 5, nickel SAVE $14.55 Yes
$110.95

 5409-G  Neck, Alnico 5, gold Yes
$66.95

 5417-G  Bridge, Alnico 5, gold Yes
$66.95

 5409-GS  Neck & bridge, Alnico 5, gold SAVE $15.40 Yes
$118.50

 
Mixed neck/bridge Parsons Street sets
   Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
 5416-S  Alnico 5 neck and Alnico 2 bridge, nickel SAVE $14.55 Yes
$110.95

 5416-GS  Alnico 5 neck and Alnico 2 bridge, gold SAVE $15.40 Yes
$118.50

 5417-S  Alnico 2 neck and Alnico 5 bridge, nickel SAVE $14.55 Yes
$110.95

 5417-GS  Alnico 2 neck and Alnico 5 bridge, gold SAVE $15.40 Yes
$118.50


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers with Restoration Covers



Plastic Humbucker Mounting Rings



Humbucker Mounting Ring Screws



Metal Humbucker Mounting Rings For Arched Bodies



Humbucker Helpers



Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers with Restoration Covers
Plastic Mounting Rings For Humbucking Pickups
Humbucker Mounting Ring Screws
Metal Humbucker Mounting Rings For Arched Bodies
Humbucker Helpers



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Instructions
True vintage sound.
We christened these exceptional humbuckers in tribute to the famous Kalamazoo address where the holy grail of pickups, the legendary P.A.F. (Patent Applied For), was born.

SAVE on neck and bridge sets!

Just like the originals, the slug coil has more windings than the polepiece coil, and both coils are unpotted. Old P.A.F.s weren't made in separate neck and bridge-position models, and their DC resistance varied from 7-9K ohms. We give you a choice: Parsons Street neck-position pickups are wound to mid 7K, and bridge-position models to low 8K.

Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers sweet vintage tone was crafted to vintage P.A.F. specifications:
• Nickel silver cover for tone transparency
• Original 1.97" (50.04mm) polepiece spacing
• Plain enameled AWG42 coil wire
• Black paper coil tape
• Wood spacer
• Choice of Alnico 2 or Alnico 5 magnet
• Nickel-silver baseplate
• Single-conductor braided shield output wire

Your choice of original-style magnets:
• Alnico 2 for warm tone with smooth highs and a soft bottom response.
• Alnico 5 produces a clear tone with more pronounced highs and a tighter low end.
(Original P.A.F.s contained Alnico 2, 3 and 5 magnets at various times.)

Neck models: mid 7K ohms
Bridge models: low 8K ohms

Dimensions
Length2.75"(69.85mm)
Width1.5"(38.10mm)
Height.840"(21.34mm)including mounting tabs

Height adjustment screws, springs and wiring diagrams included.

Mounting rings and mounting ring screws are available separately.

Handy Humbucker Helpers make installation easy.

Wiring a humbucker to get two sounds
Wiring a humbucker to get two sounds
Wiring a humbucker to get two sounds Read more

In this issue:
Erick Coleman shows how he modified a Parsons Street Humbucker, turning it into a switchable single-coil/humbucker combination.
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 133 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  ...  14 >
5 8-08-2013
Truly Impressed

I have a pretty nice collection of higher end guitars, but I like to show my lower end guitars some love too (modding and whatnot...it's fun). So, I threw a set of these in an old Les Paul Studio, and I am "extremely" impressed with these pickups. They are bold and have great bite. They are responsive and articulate. They handle gain fantastically, as they don't loosen up at higher settings and maintain punch and definition. These are really a fantastic product, and the price point is icing on the cake. Highly recommended.

3lbMike  Pittsburgh, PA
Customer supplied image for review
5 7-12-2013
Not bad *updated*

When I originally reviewed this pickup I had said that the High's were missing. I was totally mistaken. The problem was my 3 way switch. I was getting bleeding from my neck pickup which was screwing up my tone big time. I finally took the switch apart and remedied the problem. All I can say is Wow! This A2 bridge pickup with the A5 neck combo is well worth the money. The overwound A5 original golden age bridge and A5 neck were very nice but the PS have a lot more character to them. And to think I was going to send them back. I'm sure glad I didn't. 5 stars!

Todd  Winnipeg Manitoba Read my reviews (9)
Customer supplied image for review
3 7-12-2013
Epiphone Flying V 58

I installed an Alnico 2 pickup in the bridge position and an Alnico 5 in the neck position - based on recommendations by the Stewmac staff. I find the neck pickup far too trebly and bright and have ordered an Alnico 2 magnet to replace the Alnico 5. I am hoping that this will resolve the "twanginess" and give me the sweet, creamy, PAF sound I am looking for

Aussie-Dave  Melbourne Australia
5 7-04-2013
Parson street pups

Got the aln2 set. Very good tone, neck not quite bright enuff for me, but great tone nonetheless. Next order will be for the neck 5 magnet.

Slash671  Guam Read my reviews (29)
5 7-02-2013
Parsons Street Humbuckers

I installed a set of PS A2 humbuckers in my recently restored Gibson V project, replacing a set of dodgy Gibson pups. I was looking at price, availability and reputation as my guides. After reading some of the reviews given here I gave them a go and wasn't disappointed. I was met with that big warm sound and that V 'honk' showed itself to me. No fitting issues and excellent finish rounded off a great product!

Darrin  Brisbane, Australia Read my reviews (10)
Customer supplied image for review
4 6-29-2013
Wonderful pickup, but poor cover plating.

I purchased the Alnico 5 neck model to complement a Seth Lover Alnico 2 that I found a tad too mushy in the bass for the neck position, and moved to the bridge position. So, Parsons A5 in the neck and Seth Lover A2 in the bridge of a custom designed mostly maple guitar. Once I figured out I needed to reverse the magnet in the SL to avoid out-of-phase wiring in position two, I was in business! This is vintage tone all the way! Slightly honky, and in a VERY good way, open and airy with dynamics for days! The Parsons Street matches the SL perfectly. My only gripe is the poor gold plating to the cover. Fortunately I had a new gold cover sitting around and I traded the good cover for the Parsons cover to properly match the factory gold cover of the Seth Lover. I'm knocking off one star for that, but the tone is great!

Quackystrat  Philly Read my reviews (2)
5 6-13-2013
What a deal!

I love these pups! Tons of pup for the money. I've spent more money for less pup before but these are easily the best deal I've found (A5 neck, A2 bridge). Great tone! Now I'm thinking of installing two in my Epiphone Firebird VII in the neck and bridge position.

Steve Pavlidis  Covington, Ga. Read my reviews (7)
5 6-12-2013
Parsons Street Humbuckers a steal

I recently installed a set of GAPS humbuckers (A5 neck, A2 bridge)in a mid '90s Washburn HB35S semi-hollowbody. I've had a chance to dial in pole piece/pickup height, amp settings etc., and I am very pleased with the tone offered by these pickups.
Played through a variety of tube and SS amps, these pickups are very articulate, and sound great both clean and overdriven. The neck pickup is not quite as warm and deep as an old Gibson PAF (using the pickups in a '57 LP goldtop for comparison), but note separation is better. Less bass response from the A2 bridge pu as well, but really nails picked harmonics a la Billy Gibbons.
I build custom guitars and have used a variety of Seymour Duncan, Dimarzio and StewMac pickups. The Stewmacs never disappoint, and the service and product quality are top notch.
Interestingly, while I'm more of a classic rock/blues player-- so these are a natural fit for my taste, I've used the Stewmacs to replace "brand name" high output humbuckers in a couple of repairs/custom builds for high gain metal players. They have preferred the Stewmacs, because the tone doesn't turn to mush.

Dan O  St Louis, MO Read my reviews (6)
5 6-01-2013
The PAF Tone I Have Been Looking For!!

I waited until the honeymoon effect was well behind me and I had a many solid playing hours on these pickups before writing this review. I have gone through just about every non boutique PAF pickup you can think of looking for the just right vintage tone. These Alnico 2 neck and bridge humbuckers nailed it perfectly in my Les Paul. I pulled out my oh so close Classic 57's and installed the Parsons and ... mind blown. Great low end with out any muddiness, full rich mids and clear ringing highs. Just the right grit and very controllable. By controllable, I have not had a pickup that responses so well to varying pick attack. If you pick softly or soft hammer-ons, you can get cool articulate subtleties. And if you dig in... in your face dirt! I guess was also looking for the "bloom" you get with unpotted humbuckers. They do tend to feed back a little more than the 57's if your are at auditorium volume levels. I have learned to adapt and use the feed back. I love these so much I also replaced my Classic 57's in my Epi SG G-400. Perfect slide tone. Think Skynyrd Free Bird and Derek Trucks. Constant goose bumps!! Just pull the trigger and buy em. You will not be disappointed! Especially at this price.

Hugh Fain  Oviedo FL
4 5-29-2013
Very Nice Pickups for the money

These things are great. I have found no compatibility issues and they mount easily. They sound very good and are a considerable bargain. Get the non-potted ones and it is feedback city at high gain... if you like that sort of thing.

FNH  Massachusetts Read my reviews (10)
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  ...  14 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 46 of our latest catalog.


Golden Age® is a registered trademark of Stewart-MacDonald Manufacturing Company, Inc.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce