Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Electronics, pickups : Pickups: Guitar, electric : Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers

Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers


Read 133 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Straight-up raw vintage! Closely modeled after an outstanding vintage P.A.F. set from our own collection. That sweet tone was just too good to keep to ourselves!

See details below

Email a friend
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers

Play video

 
 
With Alnico 2 magnets
   Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
 5408  Neck, Alnico 2, nickel Yes
$62.75

 5416  Bridge, Alnico 2, nickel Yes
$62.75

 5408-S  Neck & bridge, Alnico 2, nickel SAVE $14.55 Yes
$110.95

 5408-G  Neck, Alnico 2, gold Yes
$66.95

 5416-G  Bridge, Alnico 2, gold Yes
$66.95

 5408-GS  Neck & bridge, Alnico 2, gold SAVE $15.40 Yes
$118.50

 
With Alnico 5 magnets
   Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
 5409  Neck, Alnico 5, nickel Yes
$62.75

 5417  Bridge, Alnico 5, nickel Yes
$62.75

 5409-S  Neck & bridge, Alnico 5, nickel SAVE $14.55 Yes
$110.95

 5409-G  Neck, Alnico 5, gold Yes
$66.95

 5417-G  Bridge, Alnico 5, gold Yes
$66.95

 5409-GS  Neck & bridge, Alnico 5, gold SAVE $15.40 Yes
$118.50

 
Mixed neck/bridge Parsons Street sets
   Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
 5416-S  Alnico 5 neck and Alnico 2 bridge, nickel SAVE $14.55 Yes
$110.95

 5416-GS  Alnico 5 neck and Alnico 2 bridge, gold SAVE $15.40 Yes
$118.50

 5417-S  Alnico 2 neck and Alnico 5 bridge, nickel SAVE $14.55 Yes
$110.95

 5417-GS  Alnico 2 neck and Alnico 5 bridge, gold SAVE $15.40 Yes
$118.50


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers with Restoration Covers



Plastic Humbucker Mounting Rings



Humbucker Mounting Ring Screws



Metal Humbucker Mounting Rings For Arched Bodies



Humbucker Helpers



Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers with Restoration Covers
Plastic Mounting Rings For Humbucking Pickups
Humbucker Mounting Ring Screws
Metal Humbucker Mounting Rings For Arched Bodies
Humbucker Helpers



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Instructions
True vintage sound.
We christened these exceptional humbuckers in tribute to the famous Kalamazoo address where the holy grail of pickups, the legendary P.A.F. (Patent Applied For), was born.

SAVE on neck and bridge sets!

Just like the originals, the slug coil has more windings than the polepiece coil, and both coils are unpotted. Old P.A.F.s weren't made in separate neck and bridge-position models, and their DC resistance varied from 7-9K ohms. We give you a choice: Parsons Street neck-position pickups are wound to mid 7K, and bridge-position models to low 8K.

Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers sweet vintage tone was crafted to vintage P.A.F. specifications:
• Nickel silver cover for tone transparency
• Original 1.97" (50.04mm) polepiece spacing
• Plain enameled AWG42 coil wire
• Black paper coil tape
• Wood spacer
• Choice of Alnico 2 or Alnico 5 magnet
• Nickel-silver baseplate
• Single-conductor braided shield output wire

Your choice of original-style magnets:
• Alnico 2 for warm tone with smooth highs and a soft bottom response.
• Alnico 5 produces a clear tone with more pronounced highs and a tighter low end.
(Original P.A.F.s contained Alnico 2, 3 and 5 magnets at various times.)

Neck models: mid 7K ohms
Bridge models: low 8K ohms

Dimensions
Length2.75"(69.85mm)
Width1.5"(38.10mm)
Height.840"(21.34mm)including mounting tabs

Height adjustment screws, springs and wiring diagrams included.

Mounting rings and mounting ring screws are available separately.

Handy Humbucker Helpers make installation easy.

Wiring a humbucker to get two sounds
Wiring a humbucker to get two sounds
Wiring a humbucker to get two sounds Read more

In this issue:
Erick Coleman shows how he modified a Parsons Street Humbucker, turning it into a switchable single-coil/humbucker combination.
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 133 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 121 – 130 < 1  ...  12  13  14 >
5 11-04-2010
Absolute best" Bang for the Buck" Pickup

I have owned so many guitars in almost 50 years of playing that I can't remember all of them but once I put these Golden Age Parsons Street humbuckers in my Epiphone Les Paul Custom Black Beauty I was flat out amazed.

I have used Imperials, Fralins, Holmes, Duncan and many others in LP's before but I have to say that these Parson Street PUPS are as smooth, warm, articulate, balanced and crystal clear of tone as any of the previous ones mentioned.

I used an Alnico 2 in the neck and an Alnico 5 at the bridge. Combined they are perfect for rhythm playing and the A2 at the neck is superb for playing the blues. The A5 at the bridge is punchy and defined in Overdrive or Distortion modes and clean and punchy in the clean mode. So after the addition of these excellent Parson Street pickups and the master craftsmanship that Mike Forrester of Forrester Kustoms did in making this Epi LP in to a player as good as any "Real Deal" Gibson I have ever owned. This guitar has become my front line instrument for performances and studio work alike.

Ed Mili  Edgewood, Maryland Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
5 11-03-2010
Night and day difference..

I have an Epi Les Paul. I like the neck and the weight better than the current Gibson's I can reach. The electronics were awful. Parson Streets, new wiring, caps, pots, switch and jack, a complete setup, and this axe is in a different category of good. These Parson Streets are simply the best PAFs out there.

Highway1  Dayton, OH
5 10-28-2010
Wow! What a difference!

I own a 1980 Gibson Es 335 Pro that originally came with Dirty Fingers pickups. I have replaced the pickups numerous times with ones that have had higher output and have always been disappointed with how muddy the instrument has sounded. When I replaced my ceramics with a set of the Parson Street Humbuckers, I was amazed at the clarity of tone and balanced output that I believed the guitar always had, but had not yet found! It's wonderful to be inspired each time I plug in! Next up is a Les Paul upgrade!

Wagner  Wellsville, NY
5 10-12-2010
Home Run for Parson Street pickups

Near and dear to my heart about 30 years I had a pair of cream white PAF's out of a 1959 Gibson dot neck 339 . I installed them in a bridge modified 52 Les Paul.The tone was amazing. The Parsons Street pickups with the Alico 2's nailed that sound perfectly! I can't tell you how happy I am with these pickups.
I searched for this sound for many years since I sold that guitar. They have a perfect balance of highs, mids, and lows with just the right amount of output. No boosted frequencies (highs, mid,lows)that some popular replacement pickups have.The Parsons have that creamy , warm,brown tone with wonderful clear highs on the top end. That's where the sweetness lives on the top end.
If you're not happy with your PRS pickups or even your Gibson pickups then I highly recommend these Parson street pickups.
Tech support was great. Thanks for your help "Larry".
JP from Littleton, CO

JP of Losing Juliet  Littleton,CO
5 10-11-2010
Parsons Street Single Conductor for Epi

Put one of these Alnico 5 single-conductor babies in the neck of my Epi Dot: night and day difference. Bridge pup is already on it's way. If you own an Epi and you probably do if you're reading this - you owe it to yourself to make this investment. Hey you bought the thing because it looks like a Gibson, why not make it sound like a Gibson too (and the stock Epi pups sure don't!) Even with my feeble soldering skills installation was simple enough. Don't be put off by the braid - just make sure you tin it first before attaching to the volume pot. One thing that surprised me was that the wire exited the case in the top left corner as opposed to the bottom right which would make more sense for a neck pickup, however in re-reading the description it does state "Old PAFs weren't made in separate neck and bridge-position models"

Blues Jr.  CT
5 10-10-2010
Les Paul Custom in love with Parsons Street Humbuckers

I recently ordered three PSH's for my EPI SG Les Paul Custom to get rid of the wimpy generic tone it had. My friends thought I was losing my mind as they thought it sounded great. At the same time I ordered the SG wiring harness because I wanted a more flexible switching set-up than it comes with stock. The harness parts are all really first rate and well worth the extra if you have an EPI!

The outside pup's are now wired like a Tele 1 volume/tone with a 3 way switch. The middle pup has it's own volume/tone independently of the other two. This is great in the variety of tones available all, 1 or 2 in any combination or blend you might think of. It is really all useable, easy to figure out, and quick to use. THAT was a real improvement, but the REAL improvement are these three pup's. I went with Alnico 2's for the outside and an Alnico 5 neck for the middle (I later found out it was originally a bridge pup...it was just meant to be I suppose). These are really complex pup's that sound great no matter how I push them, even with my old Ampeg V3 combo, Princeton, Champ, Kustom, and Marshalls wow these things are unbelievable in how sweet they sound.

Mostly I play through a Blackheart 15H and now a VHT Special 6 (easy to carry) and the EPI really sings through them all. It has not given me any pause being unpotted, I haven't heard any microphonics or picked up any radio station (as I have in the past)yet. These are just wonderfully articulate pup's that allow the instrument to speak for itself. Most of my friends no longer think I am completely crazy anymore. ha ha ha...little do they know that there is an EPI 335 Dot waiting for it's own set and the two projects currently in process ( a Flying V and 12 string Tele) will undoubtedly be recipients of their own 'lil darlins'.

Would I recommend these to someone else...heck yeah they are just THAT GOOD...and it's just a riot to see peoples faces when you tell them the 'dirty little secret' of what they are and where they came from! Thank-you indeed StewMac these are a great addition to any guitarist's arsenal.

benderb9  St Petersburg,FL Read my reviews (19)
5 10-08-2010
Parsons St pickups

I recently purchased one of your Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers, they sound and play just like my Les Paul's, "excellent"! I love PAF Pickups. They perform how you play, play soft and they're soft, attack hard and they respond aggressively. 5 stars to Golden Age, for producing a great Pickup for the price. I will be certainly buying a few more, for some of my other Guitars.

trentasaurus  queensland, australia
5 10-07-2010
Accurate PAF sound for a fair price

I put a set of these in a dual-humbucker Strat. I am really pleased with them, both in terms of sound and construction quality. I went with an Alnico V set and they are clear with just enough brightness to give "bite", but still warm and fat like a PAF should be. They really shine when overdriving a tube amp; my silverface Champ sounds like a monster with these things flogging the preamp.

Bob  USA Read my reviews (22)
5 10-02-2010
Better than expected

Okay, I had recently gotten a sweet Heritage guitar (still made on Parsons Street, by the way), and wanted to replace the stock Schaller pickups, just as a lot of us do. I first went with a set of "handwound" pickups from someone else--and when they arrived they were funky--out of phase or something. Anyhow, I needed something else quickly for a recording project I am starting, so I came across these and ordered a set. Just installed them this week and let me tell you, they are the real deal! I'm still tweaking the height and pole-piece adjustments, but am in love with these already. Clear, warm, punchy, smooth. . .they have it all.

Greg  Columbia, SC Read my reviews (9)
5 9-30-2010
The Real Deal!

I installed a couple of these in my Epi and they are beautiful. Punchy,and clean just like the original PAFs . These are the real deal, and at half the price.

Chris - The Secret Kings  Mishawaka, IN, United States
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 121 – 130 < 1  ...  12  13  14 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 46 of our latest catalog.


Golden Age® is a registered trademark of Stewart-MacDonald Manufacturing Company, Inc.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce