Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Electronics, pickups : Pickups: Guitar, electric : Golden Age P-90 Pickups

Golden Age P-90 Pickups


Read 24 Reviews   |   Write a Review

The classic raw single-coil sound! Two new Golden Age P-90 models carry on the raw sound of early rock and electric blues.

See details below

Email a friend
Golden Age P-90 Pickups
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5414 Parsons Street P-90 Yes
$53.95

5415 Modern P-90 Yes
$59.95


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

P-90/Mini Humbucker Pickup Routing Template



P-90 Pickup Cover



Wiring Kit for 2-pickups with Toggle Switch



Solomon SR-965 Soldering Iron



P-90 Mounting Screws for Solidbody



P-90/Mini Humbucker Pickup Routing Template
P-90 Pickup Cover
Wiring Kit for 2-pickups with Toggle Switch
Solomon SR-965 Soldering Iron
P-90 Mounting Screws for Solidbody



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
Gibson's beloved vintage single-coils were the workingman's pickups, versatile for practically any playing style. Their raw sound was a driving force behind early rock and electric blues. Our Golden Age P-90s proudly carry on the tradition, with authentic components that faithfully deliver the classic bright tone.

We offer two Golden Age P-90 models to choose from: Our '50s-style Parsons Street™ model is named for the famous Kalamazoo street where the original P-90 was born. It features a black plastic bobbin with old-style enameled unpotted coil wire for the original slightly grittier sound, and is wound to 8.0K ohms. We also offer a modern version with a black fiber flatwork bobbin, wound to 8.7K ohms with wax-potted poly-coated wire for a smoother sound. The flatwork look is sometimes preferred for installations with the covers removed.

Golden Age P-90s are direct replacements in Gibson® Les Paul® Juniors, SG® Juniors, and SG Specials, plus archtop and semi-hollowbody Gibsons made for P-90s. And they're great choices for giving your next custom guitar that raw vintage tone.

Both Golden Age P-90 models share authentic vintage details:
Alnico 5 magnets
AWG42 coil wire
1.97" (50mm) polepiece spacing
Braided single-conductor hookup wire
Original-spec nickel-plated polepiece screws

Black plastic soapbar cover included. More P-90 covers are available separately.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Golden Age P-90 Pickups
Golden Age P-90 Pickups
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 24 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 >
5 3-16-2012
Great raw sound, sturdy construction

I put this in a cigar box guitar. It sounds awesome.

GrahamLangdon  Four Oaks, NC Read my reviews (5)
5 3-13-2012
Hot Hot Hot!

I picked up two of the Golden Age P-90 Modern, and so far so good. Everything operates nice and quiet since I completely shielded the entire cavity and pickguard, but these P-90's sure can bite when you dig.

I installed them with new CTS pots and a three way LP style switch. The pots are volume, volume, tone, and with everything tapped out these P-90's are HOT! Roll back just a touch and the dirt drops out and there's just clean coming through.

The leads on the pickups are plenty long and the great thing with P-90's... every string can shine through once you set all the poles right.

I think I'm looking at a fun week of practice!

D Koder 
Customer supplied image for review
5 2-26-2012
Simply great pickups

I bought 2 Golden Age Parsons Street model (vintage ones) to replace the stock P-90s on my old Squier Telecaster (average quality woods). Now the guitar screams like an old Les Paul with the snappy sound, light weight and playability of a tele. Thank you Stewmac!

Fred Carpita  Rome, Italy Read my reviews (8)
5 2-10-2012
Golden Age P-90 Pickups

Wow! Articulate and tasty! These pickups replace the mushy stock humbuckers in a Fender Squier Jagmaster. Clean or dirty, they sound great and are not microphonic when cranked. The price is good too!

Twinrock23  Midlothian, VA Read my reviews (5)
5 12-11-2011
Just what I wanted

My Hamer Special came with over-wound Seymour Duncan P-90's, and although there is nothing wrong with the SD's, I wanted a brighter vintage sound. After having read the reviews on the Parsons Street P-90's I decided to give them a try.

These pickups gave me just the sound I wanted - clear, crisp, bright, and fairly loud. Hum almost non-existent, although I did pick up a little standing next to a TV.

A great P-90 pickup for a great price.

Jailhouse Fingers Bailey  Rome, Ga.
5 11-08-2011
a little screamer!

I bought the "Parsons Street" P-90 to replace the bridge pickup in my '54 LP Custom "Black Beauty" reissue. The neck pickup in this guitar was great, but the stock bridge pickup was weak and out of balance with the neck. I wasn't sure whether to go "vintage" or "modern" but finally decided on "vintage"

This pickup measured the same DC resistance as the stock pickup, but sounds much hotter. Turn the volume down for rockabilly twang, turn up for raunchy, "in your face" sustain. this pickup turns the Black Beauty into a rock & roll beast.

One point- the provided pickup cover won't fit the Gibson P-90 route, as the corners aren't rounded enough. This is odd, as the P-90 is a Gibson design to begin with. Fortunately, the pickup is a perfect fit under the Gibson cover.

Overall, a great sounding pickup at an even better price.

Uncle Gary  upstate NY Read my reviews (8)
Customer supplied image for review
5 10-26-2011
Excellent

Clean, bright and rich - very nice and great value. The only thing missing - pickup mounting options.

Guitar Head  Sydney
5 8-07-2011
Great pickups.

Try these as a changeout for cheap stock P90s - especially second hand guitars with rusty pole pieces.
Very clear and clean, with that lean P90 sound. No noisier than anything else.
Plenty of lead wire too for installation.

Justin W  Sydney, Australia Read my reviews (12)
Customer supplied image for review
5 4-06-2011
rock&roll

Installed this P-90 in a Les Paul Jr. kit. The kit came with an inexpensive (CHEAP) pup. Played it one time, had to go! With the Golden Age P-90 installed, this little Jr. clone now has a soul of Rock&Roll!! Love the sound of it!

steve gore  toxey al Read my reviews (3)
5 11-24-2010
Awesome!!!

The Parsons Street P-90 is a great pickup, so much so, that now I'll have to change the other pickup in my guitar just to make justice for the P-90. Awesome product!!!

JoseGlez  Mexico Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 45 of our latest catalog.


Golden Age® is a registered trademark and Parsons Street is a trademark of Stewart-MacDonald Manufacturing Company, Inc.


Les Paul® is a registered trademark of Gibson Guitar Corporation.


SG® is a registered trademark of Gibson Guitar Corporation.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce