Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Electronics, pickups : Pickups: Guitar, electric : Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers

Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers


Read 85 Reviews   |   Write a Review

The HOT versions of our classic Golden Age Humbuckers! The same Alnico 5 magnets, but overwound to 12K ohms for high output, powerful midrange and driving tone.

See details below

Email a friend
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5404 Black exposed coils, neck Yes
$46.95

5405 Black exposed coils, bridge Yes
$46.95

5404-S Black exposed coils, neck & bridge SAVE $9.40 Yes
$84.50

Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5404-Z Zebra (cream & black) exposed coils, neck Yes
$46.95

5405-Z Zebra (cream & black) exposed coils, bridge Yes
$46.95

5404-ZS Zebra exposed coils, neck & bridge SAVE $9.40 Yes
$84.50

Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5406 Nickel cover, neck Yes
$56.95

5407 Nickel cover, bridge Yes
$56.95

5406-S Nickel covers, neck & bridge SAVE $11.40 Yes
$102.50

Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5406-G Gold cover, neck Yes
$58.95

5407-G Gold cover, bridge Yes
$58.95

5406-GS Gold covers, neck & bridge SAVE $11.80 Yes
$106.10


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Single-coil Pickup Routing Templates



Humbucker Mounting Ring Screws



Metal Humbucker Mounting Rings For Arched Bodies



Humbucker Helpers



How to Wire a Gibson Guitar DVD



Single-coil Pickup Routing Templates
Humbucker Mounting Ring Screws
Metal Humbucker Mounting Rings For Arched Bodies
Humbucker Helpers
How to Wire a Gibson® Guitar DVD



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
SAVE on neck and bridge sets!

The AWG43 coils are wound on black or black/cream (zebra) bobbins, fabric-taped, mounted on a brass baseplate, and wax-potted for microphonic suppression.

The output wire is 4-conductor plus ground, enabling versatile custom coil-tapping, series/parallel, and phase switching options. 12K ohms. Bridge model polepieces have 2.015" spread; neck models have 1.97" spread. Mounting screws, springs and wiring diagrams included.

Inspired by great guitar pickups of the 50s!

Alnico 5 magnets (aluminum/nickel/cobalt) as used in the originals, for classic tone.
Vintage dimensions for easy installation in standard pickguards and bodies.
Wax-potted for microphonic suppression.
Wiring diagrams included with each pickup.

Length: 2.75" (69.85mm)
Width: 1.5" (38.10mm)
Height including mounting tabs, bridge pickup: .840" (21.34mm)



Color-matching Cream Parts and Bindings
There have always been slight variations in the color of the cream plastic parts used on Gibson and other guitars. It's not uncommon to see brand new and vintage guitars with bindings, pickup rings, toggle switch rings and pickguards that don't perfectly match in color. We do our best to match all our cream products, but there's no absolute control from batch to batch, or from supplier to supplier.
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 85 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 41 – 50 < 1  ...  4  5  6  ...  9 >
5 9-02-2011
Power And Beauty

EXACTLY...what I was looking for.

mcbragg  Baltimore, MD Read my reviews (9)
4 8-31-2011
GOLDEN AGE overwound rocks!!!

Just put this in the bridge position in a newer faded les paul studio and it blew away the seymour duncan jb-4 i had previously. very happy with it for the price.

strafkommando  Austin
5 8-23-2011
Very Pleased

Purchased the Zebra bridge for my first build. Solid materials, great sound, cleans are smooth and distorted tones are punchy. Thanks StewMac for giving me a voice.

agnusguitars  champaign, il Read my reviews (28)
Customer supplied image for review
1 8-20-2011
I expected much more

I'm a regular SM client, since they are great people delivering the goods every time I've needed. Once I've said this, I hope my review on their humbuckers does not sound merciless. I have tried the regular humbuckers as well as the overwound ones. I put these pups in an epiphone and a a Dean (chesp) guitars, replacing their useless pups. Now, my point is how come SM, having everything needed to "build" great pups do not offer duncan or dimarzio quality level pups? That would be great (a great pup for only 60 bucks). Sadly - not logically - they are cheap sounding, specially when clean tone is needed, and also have this noise at high frequencies when overdriven. Believe me, I'm not tone obsessed, I just happen to have some Duncans, DiMarzios, Gibsons and Fralins pups, and I just don´t want to hide my feelings. It ain't fair when publicity says something will give what it won't. That is all. If you had "real" sound samples of your pups, I would never have bought them. So, IMO these are not what the reviews included in SM site says. And I don´t think they would show this one. Let´s see. Hey guys!,save up your bread and get Di Marzio (Fred, PAF PROs)or Seymour Duncans (JB and 59s). Those really deliver the goods.

SM, please, make better pups...

EM

I expected much more  Mexico City
4 8-12-2011
Great sound, cheap looks

I am VERY pleased with the sound of these pickups. I put a Golden Age overwound neck humbucker in my Shred-Strat, next to an EVH Frankenstein Humbucker (107$) and I don't think I could tell which Pickup is the cheap and which is the expensive one.

BUT the matte plastic covers on the Zebra version and the tooled Polepieces just scream CHEAP ASIAN PRODUCTION!!! Such a shame. The sound is so good but You just can't put this pickup in an expensive, beautiful guitar - it would ruin the look.

I can't imagine that polished plastic bits would increase the price that dramatically.

MoorMusic  Switzerland Read my reviews (44)
4 8-11-2011
Can't judge the tone yet

but they seem top quality, just a tad surprised that they don't come with pickup rings.

Julius  Canada Read my reviews (20)
5 8-07-2011
Just Awesome!

I just installed these in my Epi Les Paul Standard Plus Top. This guitar had been a project of recent years, as the headstock was broken off, but now with these new pups, and the .25uf caps I put in with them, I might play it more! It turned out to be a sweet guitar that sounds great!!

Lennie Joseph  Rochelle Park NJ Read my reviews (7)
Customer supplied image for review
5 8-07-2011
Good output and tone

Really like the look and sound of these, great for slide.
Very clear and a great range in both positions.
Thank you again to Stew Mac for going the extra yards and providing instructional leaflets with the pickups - very handy.

They really are hot, so go for the regular Golden Age if you are unsure about what you want.
If you want mellow at the other end of the spectrum, go for the Benedetto A-6.

Justin W  Sydney, Australia Read my reviews (12)
Customer supplied image for review
5 7-24-2011
Golden Age overwounds

Just installed the Golden Age overwound pickups in my Agile 3100 les paul copy,,What a world of difference. Really brought this guitar to life,,guitar has a real Les Paul tone now. I would definitely buy these pickups again

Bill Bremer  Woodburn, IN
5 6-02-2011
Great Tone

I replaced the pickups in my Dean flying V...the originals were to hot and squealed at higher gain...I put a GA in the neck and a GAOW in the bridge and made a more controllable guitar!...great tone on clean and driven.

I have also just ordered an GAOW set for my Jackson Rhodes...

Phil Mather  Pacific Junction, IA
Displaying 41 – 50 < 1  ...  4  5  6  ...  9 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 45 of our latest catalog.


Golden Age® is a registered trademark of Stewart-MacDonald Manufacturing Company, Inc.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce