Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Electronics, pickups : Pickups: Guitar, electric : Golden Age Humbuckers

Golden Age Humbuckers


Read 92 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Vintage vibe, great price. Wake up your guitar! For authentic classic tone, Golden Age humbuckers feature Alnico 5 magnets and AWG42 coil wire just like the originals.

See details below

Email a friend
Golden Age Humbuckers
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5400 Black exposed coils, neck Yes
$46.95

5401 Black exposed coils, bridge Yes
$46.95

5400-S Black exposed coils, neck & bridge SAVE $9.40 Yes
$84.50

Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5400-Z Zebra (cream & black) exposed coils, neck Yes
$46.95

5401-Z Zebra (cream & black) exposed coils, bridge Yes
$46.95

5400-ZS Zebra exposed coils, neck & bridge SAVE $9.40 Yes
$84.50

Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5402 Nickel cover, neck Yes
$56.95

5403 Nickel cover, bridge Yes
$56.95

5402-S Nickel covers, neck & bridge SAVE $11.40 Yes
$102.50

Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5402-G Gold cover, neck Yes
$58.95

5403-G Gold cover, bridge Yes
$58.95

5402-GS Gold covers, neck & bridge SAVE $11.80 Yes
$106.10


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers



Humbucker Helpers



How to Wire a Gibson Guitar DVD



Wiring Kit for Gibson Les Paul Guitar



Wiring Kit for Gibson SG



Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
Humbucker Helpers
How to Wire a Gibson® Guitar DVD
Wiring Kit for Gibson® Les Paul® Guitar
Wiring Kit for Gibson® SG®



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
Also available with nickel or gold covers. Save on neck and bridge sets!

Inspired by legendary pickups of the '50s.
Alnico 5 magnets give that warm classic tone. AWG42 coils are wound on black or zebra bobbins, fabric-taped, mounted on a brass baseplate, and wax-potted for microphonic suppression. The output wire is 4-conductor plus ground, allowing versatile custom coil-tapping, series/parallel, and phase switching options to expand your sound.

Wiring diagrams and vintage dimensions make installation in most humbucker-equipped guitars easy.

Bridge models:9.0K ohms, 2.015" polepiece spread
Neck models:8.0K ohms, 1.97" polepiece spread

All models have black or black/cream (zebra) bobbins with fabric-taped coils on a brass baseplate. Mounting screws, springs and wiring diagrams are included.

Dimensions
Length2.75"(69.85mm)
Width1.5"(38.10mm)
Height.840"(21.34mm)including mounting tabs

Looking for hotter output with more powerful midrange? Check out Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers.

TIP: Handy Humbucker Helpers make installation a whole lot easier.

Color-matching Cream Parts and Bindings
There have always been slight variations in the color of the cream plastic parts used on Gibson and other guitars. It's not uncommon to see brand new and vintage guitars with bindings, pickup rings, toggle switch rings and pickguards that don't perfectly match in color. We do our best to match all our cream products, but there's no absolute control from batch to batch, or from supplier to supplier.
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Golden Age Humbuckers
Golden Age Humbuckers
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 92 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 61 – 70 < 1  ...  6  7  8  ...  10 >
5 3-17-2011
Finally, The Guitar sound I've been looking for.

Thanks for bringing my guitar back to life!!! I purchased a new Gibson SG Standard back in 1998. This was the guitar I'd always wanted. Unfortunately the pickups that came with the guitar we too bass heavy and muddy. No big deal, I had a pair of vintage 70's Gibson humbuckers. These pickup were too thin sounding and eventually the guitar sat in the case as a big disappointment.

I purchased a pair of Golden Age Humbuckers from Stewart MacDonald and installed them on St. Patricks day. Wow. Luckier than a four leaf clover. I love this guitar again and it has never sounded better. And for the price, you can't beat 'em.

Thad Sand  Sioux City, Iowa
5 2-21-2011
Happy Camper

Very pleased with the sounds coming out of my Epi Les Paul now.No kids, it's not about mega output/over drive.Y ou can always add that. It's all about the sweet tone to start with. Trying to get a buddy to buy himself a pair for his Epi SG. Both fine instruments, but the P.U.'s need this kind of replacement. I like.

Freddie West  ca
5 2-11-2011
I love these pickups!

I purchased the Golden Age Humbucker set 5402-S for my newly-acquired Epiphone Les Paul Standard. I new when I bought it that I would be gutting the electronics, so I started looking for pickups right away. I settled on StewMac, as I had done business with them before on a custom Strat-style guitar project.

I knew I wanted the guitar to have a more faithful LP sound, not some hot-rodded sound. So I chose the Golden Age pickups. All I can say is Wow! What a difference! I just recorded it for the first time in my studio, and it just sounds beautiful. Special thanks goes to StewMac Tech Support for helping me troubleshoot a pickup issue, and to Customer Service, who quickly turned around a new pickup overnight. You can trust these people to sell excellent products, and to resolve any issues that arise. Thanks again, everyone at StewMac!

Tim Lewis  San Diego, CA
Customer supplied image for review
1 2-08-2011
not accurate! older golden age humbuckers Rule!

I have a couple of golden age humbucker bridge position from 8yrs ago and they are wound at about 9.3k or so,and by the time its hook up to my guitar its just right at 9.0k from measuring at the ouput jack, and it sounds warm and awesome! both lead playing and rhythm playing.

I just recently bought the newer golden age hums and am very dissapointed! they measure at 8.7k to about 8.9k bridge position. And by the time its hook up to my guitar its about 8.5k and they're is a huge change in tone, too trebly at times not as good as the older ones.

If you have the older ones that are wound at 9.3k or a little more,hold on to those cause to my experience its real tone all around! my set up is pretty simple,its humbucker(bridge and single coil neck and middle,with 5 way switch,500k CTS volume,ouput jack.

yerkool44  San Diego,CA U.S.A Read my reviews (2)
5 2-06-2011
DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY ON OTHER BRANDS

These pickups could easily be the best I've ever used on any guitar. I built a guitar based on the prs custom 24 and installed two black exposed coils and they sound AMAZING. Amazing mellow tone and sustain

james147  New York Read my reviews (21)
5 2-06-2011
Really....Why Pay More???

I have 2 Golden age humbuckers(reg. wound)in my 1990 Les Paul Special,and an overwound bridge in my ESP les paul copy(with coil tap-works great)and the sound I get from these guitars is AMAZING. These pickups really nail the "P.A.F." tone, which IMO, is the holy grail of guitar tones. They work exceedingly well with mahogany bodied guitars. If your guitar is alder/basswood you probably want to avoid the overwounds, as they can get muddy with those types of wood.

Don't fall for the "boutique pickup" hype. These are the real deal-Thanks Stewmac.

John B.  Long Island,New York
Customer supplied image for review
5 2-04-2011
humbucker installation

I installed the Golden Age humbuckers in a Oscar Schmidt OE-30 semi-hollowbody. And was very pleased with tone that the pickups produced. The wiring instructions where easy to understand and the service from Stewart Macdonald was excellent.

guitar enthusist  shippenville pa.
5 1-18-2011
Squier Fat Tele re-birth

I installed a Golden Age humbucker on a Squier Fat Tele. Now it's one of my absolute favorite instruments. My "go to" slide guitar. The Golden Age HB made all the difference in the world over the original HB. Great product, great price.

Mike Vidallier  New Iberia, LA Read my reviews (10)
Customer supplied image for review
5 1-05-2011
GA HB

Sounded great! Good packaging and the diagram for wiring was handy. I will not hesitate to buy more Golden Age pickups.

Stephen Johnson  Lewiston, ID Read my reviews (7)
5 1-03-2011
perfect replacement

Put these in my MIM Strat and made a BIG difference! Smooth and gutsy!

carmine  New Jersey Read my reviews (8)
Displaying 61 – 70 < 1  ...  6  7  8  ...  10 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 45 of our latest catalog.


Golden Age® is a registered trademark of Stewart-MacDonald Manufacturing Company, Inc.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce