Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Electronics, pickups : Pickups: Guitar, electric : Golden Age Humbuckers

Golden Age Humbuckers


Read 91 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Vintage vibe, great price. Wake up your guitar! For authentic classic tone, Golden Age humbuckers feature Alnico 5 magnets and AWG42 coil wire just like the originals.

See details below

Email a friend
Golden Age Humbuckers
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5400 Black exposed coils, neck Yes
$46.95

5401 Black exposed coils, bridge Yes
$46.95

5400-S Black exposed coils, neck & bridge SAVE $9.40 Yes
$84.50

Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5400-Z Zebra (cream & black) exposed coils, neck Yes
$46.95

5401-Z Zebra (cream & black) exposed coils, bridge Yes
$46.95

5400-ZS Zebra exposed coils, neck & bridge SAVE $9.40 Yes
$84.50

Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5402 Nickel cover, neck Yes
$56.95

5403 Nickel cover, bridge Yes
$56.95

5402-S Nickel covers, neck & bridge SAVE $11.40 Yes
$102.50

Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5402-G Gold cover, neck Yes
$58.95

5403-G Gold cover, bridge Yes
$58.95

5402-GS Gold covers, neck & bridge SAVE $11.80 Yes
$106.10


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers



Humbucker Helpers



How to Wire a Gibson Guitar DVD



Wiring Kit for Gibson Les Paul Guitar



Wiring Kit for Gibson SG



Golden Age Parsons Street Humbuckers
Humbucker Helpers
How to Wire a Gibson® Guitar DVD
Wiring Kit for Gibson® Les Paul® Guitar
Wiring Kit for Gibson® SG®



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
Also available with nickel or gold covers. Save on neck and bridge sets!

Inspired by legendary pickups of the '50s.
Alnico 5 magnets give that warm classic tone. AWG42 coils are wound on black or zebra bobbins, fabric-taped, mounted on a brass baseplate, and wax-potted for microphonic suppression. The output wire is 4-conductor plus ground, allowing versatile custom coil-tapping, series/parallel, and phase switching options to expand your sound.

Wiring diagrams and vintage dimensions make installation in most humbucker-equipped guitars easy.

Bridge models:9.0K ohms, 2.015" polepiece spread
Neck models:8.0K ohms, 1.97" polepiece spread

All models have black or black/cream (zebra) bobbins with fabric-taped coils on a brass baseplate. Mounting screws, springs and wiring diagrams are included.

Dimensions
Length2.75"(69.85mm)
Width1.5"(38.10mm)
Height.840"(21.34mm)including mounting tabs

Looking for hotter output with more powerful midrange? Check out Golden Age Overwound Humbuckers.

TIP: Handy Humbucker Helpers make installation a whole lot easier.

Color-matching Cream Parts and Bindings
There have always been slight variations in the color of the cream plastic parts used on Gibson and other guitars. It's not uncommon to see brand new and vintage guitars with bindings, pickup rings, toggle switch rings and pickguards that don't perfectly match in color. We do our best to match all our cream products, but there's no absolute control from batch to batch, or from supplier to supplier.
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Golden Age Humbuckers
Golden Age Humbuckers
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 91 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 51 – 60 < 1  ...  5  6  7  ...  10 >
5 6-20-2011
Love these pickups!

Installed these in a Korean PRS along with a new bridge and tuners that I purchased from Stewmac. What an amazing sounding and great playing instrument! These pickups are sweet! Thanks Stewmac. You saved me a bundle of dough and I have a new favorite guitar that didn't cost me a fortune.

hersch  Elkton Md Read my reviews (2)
5 6-15-2011
Great tone for a fair price

Pickups, especially humbuckers, are getting outrageously expensive. These are on par with the top makers in terms of construction and tone and cost way less.

Bob  USA Read my reviews (22)
4 5-31-2011
Clear & well-balanced

Recently installed a pair of Golden Age humbuckers in a custom built walnut solid body with a string through TOM bridge, 500K CTS pots, .022uf Sprague orange drop caps, master vol, 2 tone pots. Tone is so subjective and colored by so many different factors it can be difficult to compare pickups. I will say that having used many different stock Fender, Gibson, etc., plus Dimarzio, Seymour Duncan, and EMG pickups; the Golden Age humbuckers give great bang for the buck, especially if you generate most of your tone from your hands, guitar and amp rather than through a ton of pedals. Both pickups are lively, musical, have great string to string clarity, and have "personality." The neck pickup is clear, not muddy, yet warm. The bridge pickup is great for crunchy chord work with surprising depth-- not at all thin. Well balanced as a set-- no drop off in volume or tone with both selected. Dead quiet into the amp or direct into a recording console.

One possible issue for those looking for a super saturated, distorted sound, is that when run through some effects that add a lot of boost, they can be noisy and prone to feedback. I'm assuming that this is not a ground issue as they are very quiet run straight into the amp or recording console.

Dan O  St Louis, MO Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
5 5-14-2011
Top notch pick-ups

I just installed a pair of these pick-ups for a test project, not expecting the world, considering the low price. To my surprise, they sounded excellent, with great tone and definition. I don't think any other pick-ups could be a major improvement over them.

Francis Voignier  Arcata, CA Read my reviews (14)
Customer supplied image for review
5 5-13-2011
Golden Age Zebra

For fun I bought a chinese Les Paul clone, Changed the machine heads, re-cut the nut and did a minor fret file ..Most important ,,Threw the pickups in the bin!! the body and neck are nice, so I ordered a Zebra set of Golden age pickups and installed them.
Got off stage a couple of hours ago and the Clone Paul was singing. I'm going to create more guitars and order more Golden age pickups. Very sweet and smooth driving Solo's. Thanks guys cheers Pezzy E

Pezzy E  Sydney Australia
5 5-08-2011
Great pickups for $50.00!!!

Needed pickups for my 1990 sg. Wanted vintage or like sounding pickups. These pickups have that 50's sound with a little crunch that you need. When you add distortion they don't get muddy just punchier. I have never really used the neck pickup in my guitar but now with these pickups I do. Get neck and bridge pickups use 2, .047 capacitors and $500k pots and you will be set. Buy these pickups they are underpriced!!!!

Chris-vintage  Tucson
Customer supplied image for review
5 4-22-2011
Good item

Good and fast to hook up

Juan  Kodiak,ak
5 3-28-2011
Great Tone!

I bought these pickups to put in my 80s Yamaha sj550. I mostly play 70s style rock and blues, and these pickups are great for that tone. The coil tap option makes it easy to squeeze as many different tones into one guitar as possible. The notes retain a good amount of clarity even with a cranked tube amp. I strongly recommend these over the big name pickups.

TheDeputies  Mount Pleasant, Michigan Read my reviews (2)
5 3-21-2011
Just what I was looking for

I replaced the Classic Humbucker that came stock in the neck on my Epi Studio Limited Deluxe. The old pickup seemed muddy and lifeless. The Golden Age Humbucker really brought things to life. The clarity is like night and day compared to the original pu. Much more responsive to tone/volume tweaking too.

btp226  Greenfield, NH Read my reviews (2)
5 3-17-2011
Finally, The Guitar sound I've been looking for.

Thanks for bringing my guitar back to life!!! I purchased a new Gibson SG Standard back in 1998. This was the guitar I'd always wanted. Unfortunately the pickups that came with the guitar we too bass heavy and muddy. No big deal, I had a pair of vintage 70's Gibson humbuckers. These pickup were too thin sounding and eventually the guitar sat in the case as a big disappointment.

I purchased a pair of Golden Age Humbuckers from Stewart MacDonald and installed them on St. Patricks day. Wow. Luckier than a four leaf clover. I love this guitar again and it has never sounded better. And for the price, you can't beat 'em.

Thad Sand  Sioux City, Iowa
Displaying 51 – 60 < 1  ...  5  6  7  ...  10 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 45 of our latest catalog.


Golden Age® is a registered trademark of Stewart-MacDonald Manufacturing Company, Inc.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce