Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Electronics, pickups : Pickups: Guitar, archtop : GHS Acoustic Soundhole Microphone

GHS Acoustic Soundhole Microphone


Read 22 Reviews   |   Write a Review

The natural sound of your instrument... only louder.

See details below

Email a friend
GHS Acoustic Soundhole Microphone
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
3382 GHS Acoustic Soundhole Microphone Yes
$49.95


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Endpin Jack Reamer



Shielded Cable

Guitar Bench Rest



Peterson StroboClip Tuner



Seymour Duncan Acoustic Tube Pickup



Endpin Jack Reamer
Shielded Cable
Guitar Bench Rest
Peterson StroboClip Tuner
Seymour Duncan Acoustic Tube Pickup



Details
 Pictures
This popular miniature low impedance mic is mounted on a flexible gooseneck, with an integral 1/4" endpin jack.

The microphone is suspended inside the guitar, without contacting the soundboard or altering the instrument's acoustics.

Overall length is 17" allowing the mic to be positioned for best sound. Instructions and battery included.

Special shielded cable has 1/4" to 3-pin XLR connectors and is 15 feet long.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
GHS Acoustic Soundhole Microphone
GHS Acoustic Soundhole Microphone
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 22 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 >
5 1-09-2012
Got best acoustic sound ever (compliment from pros I play with)

works well. This is in a Martin 000-18 (70's) and a B-25 Gibson (60's) and works well in both. I installed to get away from piezo quack. Through my Fender Princeton reverb (modified for line out) I can dial in great acoustic sound. Here's the cool part - chords are chords, but leads are clean (no lead/rhythm switch needed). It's like you have a sound man angel running the compressor for you - for free.

erhunt  austin tx
5 12-18-2011
Cool easy drop in.

I bought two of these guys to put in a 70s Epiphone 12 string and a 70's Daion acoustic. The Epi took the drill method pretty easy. I messed with mic placement a little bit and achieved a nice sound in a about 10 minutes. Played a blues gig that night with good results. I'll rewire and reposition the battery sometime in the future but did'nt have time at install.

Nice sound that didn't quack at all. I put the second GFS on the shelf because I couldn't pull the trigger on drilling on the Daion I bought with my paper route money way back in the day. That's not a fault of the GFS mic but just nervous nostalgia on my part. Looking at a cool parlor guitar, maybe I'll put it in that one.

S Hill  Austin Texas
5 10-28-2011
GHS Soundhole mic

Bought this to put in an LAG 12 string. It fits very neatly but due to the length of the goose neck I think it will need some kind of clip at the sound hole to stop it moving about. The battery will be a pain to change but I am going to look at soldering a remote battery carrier in just under the soundhole somewhere to save any trouble there. I have positioned the mic just about under the the top E strings at the rear of the sound hole and it sounds superb, I play it through a Roland cube amp on the mic setting and it is as clean and crisp as anyone could wish for.

Excellent little mic at a reasonable price, UK buyers please note I got stung £10 duty at customs but hey someone has pay for the champagne.

toby2001  Nottingham Uk
5 7-18-2011
Installation Notes

The threaded shaft measured .476" in diameter with my calipers. The instructions recommend using a 15/32" bit. I don't have an Endpin Jack Reamer (4323) but am considering getting one.

Trip  Sharpsburg, GA Read my reviews (5)
5 6-29-2011
yep

All the bad reviews on all the other sites of this product it seems is because they do forget the fact that it's a microphone and not a pickup and needs to be treated and reviewed as such and does not sound like the acoustic electric guitars that so many have come accustomed to hearing these days. This mic, while not the absolute best out there is excellent for the price and reproduces the sound so much more accurately than any other 'pickup' system out there. So unless under saddle or piezo sound is what your after this is the one for your budget. I found it perfect for my 30 year old Yamaha CJ818 where all other pickups made it sound way to electric. Once you find the sweet spot you are golden. Just my 3 cents worth.

Caravella Guitars  East Meadow, NY Read my reviews (3)
4 5-15-2011
Good Option for Non-Luthiers

Gift for the father-in-law. Easier to install than a contact pickup, and sounds at least as good (better, f-in-law says). Endpin jack works great, but it was a little tricky getting the internal nuts properly adjusted. The only real negative I have is the battery. The included battery was essentially DOA (no big deal), and the clip would not take a standard AA battery w/o modification. Battery placement is also problematic--when this one is dead, will have to remove entire unit to replace the battery. Still, no regrets thus far. Would not hesitate to recommend this unit where appropriate.

dRandall  Arkansas
5 5-07-2011
son bien défini

un micro de bonne qualité

chaladichal  france Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
5 3-24-2011
a great sounding surprise !

i was looking for an affordable pickup to mount in a classical guitar and found this one. i'm not too keen on piezos undersaddle pickups, because despite of their dynamic, they sound too bright and metallic.
This particular pickup, placed into the body can be orientated depending on the sound you like, and most of all respect the proper characteristics of the instrument ! Also very easy to install, the mounting couldn't be quicker.
Next time, i will try it for one of my own steel strings guitar, but it's already a great discovery for the price !

Lowelectric Guitars  Besancon, France Read my reviews (2)
5 12-09-2010
Perfect for Classical Guitar!!

MOST sound hole pick-ups will NOT work on a nylon stringed instrument, because they use magnets, that will only "pick-up" vibrations from metallic strings! I put this in my friends guitar & we played our first electric gig. I think his guitar sounded better than my stock undersaddle p.u. & we play the same brand of guitar! We plugged it directly into my board,w/out a di or pre-amp! I did use the XLR cable though. I didn't have any problems w/feedback at all!! EZ2 install!! GR8 tone! Highly recommended!!!

R King  StL
5 12-01-2010
The best I've found.

This incredibly affordable mic brings the actual sound of my Martin D-18GE to the audience. Without one of these, you might as well accompany yourself on a Les Paul. And from Stewmac, it got here FAST.

frailnail  Alpine, UT Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 43 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce