Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Electronics, pickups : L.R. Baggs Element Active System

L.R. Baggs Element Active System


Read 20 Reviews   |   Write a Review

An undersaddle transducer that fits most common string spacings and saddle widths.

See details below

Email a friend
L.R. Baggs Element Active System
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1263 L.R. Baggs Element Active System Yes
$131.00


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Endpin Jack Reamer



L.R. Baggs iMix System



Saddle Routing Jig



3-Piece Inspection Mirror



Output Jack Wrench



Endpin Jack Reamer
L.R. Baggs iMix System
Saddle Routing Jig
3-Piece Inspection Mirror
Output Jack Wrench



Details
 Pictures
The Element™ undersaddle transducer for steel-string guitars is flexible, to contact the bridge and saddle more efficiently. The improved coupling increases sensitivity, for a more lively and open acoustic guitar sound with a delicate high end. It works with most common string spacings and saddle widths, including 3/32" and 1/8", for uniform string-to-string balance.

The system features a discrete class-A preamp/endpin jack with pre-contoured EQ for plug-and-play convenience, and a soundhole-mounted mini volume control that requires no soldering or drilling. A handy no-drill mesh battery bag is also included. 9-volt battery required.

Moneytalk: Quickly installing an acoustic pickup
Money talk for guitar shops: quickly installing an acoustic pickup
Moneytalk: Quickly installing an acoustic pickup Read more

In this issue:
In our Money Talk series about operating a repair business, Dan Erlewine tallies up the time and expenses of a profitable pickup installation job.
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
L.R. Baggs Element Active System
L.R. Baggs Element Active System
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 20 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2
4 2-12-2011
Nice little pickup

Useful in that it will fit the more obscure saddles like tenor guitars and mandolins etc. Only draw back i would say is that its a little light on the bass end. Other then that very nice

Davey Mandolins  UK
5 2-04-2011
Update

To update my previous review, Stew Mac was kind enough upon reading my review to offer a credit if I returned this pickup. I did return it, and so I give the five stars above for customer service (thank you, Larry), but still only one for the product.

J. Katsiaficas  Portland, ME Read my reviews (3)
1 1-09-2011
A big disappointment

I installed the LR Baggs Element Active (a Christmas gift) into my Gibson WM-45 last weekend, and had a chance to play it through the PA with a band yesterday. The reason I asked for this pickup over the K&K pure western or others was that it allegedly held up better before feedback in a band setting. What a mistake!

The WM-45 already has 90 degree holes for a Fishman Matrix, so I had to drill another hole (diagonally) for the pickup entry into the bridge slot, plus the extra area for the pickup at the other end of the bridge. (I am not a professional repairman, but I have installed Fishman and Duncan USTs and know what I'm doing.) The result? The EQ is boomy, and the high E string output isn't balanced with the B string -- it has less output. I don't have a Para DI (it has an active preamp, built in, right?) so I tried to use my Dano Fish & Chips EQ to fix things (with boost off), and instead, there are ugly loud pops every time I hit a string or chord with more than an average strum. It kept feeding back oddly on upper strings while playing at an average volume with the band through the PA on a flat setting.

I get better results with a cheap Dean Markley soundhole pickup and the Fish & Chips, and if I could return the pickup for a refund, I would.

J. Katsiaficas  Portland, ME Read my reviews (3)
5 1-05-2011
excellent pickup

I have installed several undersaddle pu's. I believe this was the easiest ever. I had the strap hole already bored and I had to fill in the saddle slot and re cut because of a depth problem. I cut a new saddle and fitted put new strings on and the pickup is highly responsive.

In the past I have used fishman,martin, barcus-berry, schatten, peizo pickups. This one seems to me to be less fragile than any of the others and the sound hole volume control is a great plus.

MOF Instruments  Greenwood, Ar Read my reviews (8)
4 12-01-2010
7 cordes + frettes en biais ...

désolé, je ne parle pas anglais...

ory  france
Customer supplied image for review
5 11-21-2010
Brilliant Service

First time I have used StewMac; Order placed Monday, goods arrived in UK on Wednesday. Saved money on the pickup even with freight and tax, and arrived sooner than if I had placed order with UK supplier - Recommended. Now fitted to my Garrison Acoustic, which sounds as wanted - natural acoustic sound.

Gerry  North Wales, UK
5 10-20-2010
Outstanding

Had this installed on my custom Beckwith Strings "Baltimore" during construction. Definitely not my first UB pickup but definitely the best. The power is more than I've seen in any other preamped UB and the sound is totally natural.

I've had no problems with the pot mounting and found it to be very strong. Love the battery mounting: light and easily accessible with no springs or boxes or covers to break/loose. Battery life is long but should be checked (wet tongue to both contacts...feel the buzz!) during string changes. Jack is strong and firm and holds the strap well. Forget other brands with eq, effects and filters. Install this pickup system and do all that at the pa/box/amp.

gbeckwith  Yokosuka, Japan
5 10-15-2010
really good

The Lr. Baggs it's simple the best company in acoustic amplification.
The Element gives your guitar the natural sound, at difference with other similar systems that give a sound that's different and unreal.
This is the best choice.

germano Fusco  italy Read my reviews (2)
5 9-08-2010
Don't trust your guitar with just anyone, do it your self!

If you like to fix things, you'll enjoy this.I was worried about installing it at first, however, the instructions are very easy to follow! Made it such a joy to know you can do it your self. And the sound is wonderful! I installed it on a Ovation. The only thing to watch out for is to make sure you don't change the height of the saddle. I suggest you make sure the saddle does not have shims under it or you will have to replace it. The biggest problem is the double sided tape for the battery holder, it needs to be stronger. It gave way about a week latter and fell down. Other then that I love it!

Mountain Shoshone  Austin NV
5 8-18-2010
LR Baggs Element Active System

I have installed this system on my Martin D-16, Guild D-35 and Gibson J-45. The installation is fairly straight forward; however, very little instruction is included by the manufacturer. Unless you feel comfortable drilling holes in your guitar, have someone else install this system, as there is the potential to cause major damage!

chaploja  Landenberg, PA
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2 /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 43 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce