Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Electronics, pickups : L.R. Baggs Element Active System

L.R. Baggs Element Active System


Read 20 Reviews   |   Write a Review

An undersaddle transducer that fits most common string spacings and saddle widths.

See details below

Email a friend
L.R. Baggs Element Active System
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1263 L.R. Baggs Element Active System Yes
$131.00


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Endpin Jack Reamer



L.R. Baggs iMix System



Saddle Routing Jig



3-Piece Inspection Mirror



Output Jack Wrench



Endpin Jack Reamer
L.R. Baggs iMix System
Saddle Routing Jig
3-Piece Inspection Mirror
Output Jack Wrench



Details
 Pictures
The Element™ undersaddle transducer for steel-string guitars is flexible, to contact the bridge and saddle more efficiently. The improved coupling increases sensitivity, for a more lively and open acoustic guitar sound with a delicate high end. It works with most common string spacings and saddle widths, including 3/32" and 1/8", for uniform string-to-string balance.

The system features a discrete class-A preamp/endpin jack with pre-contoured EQ for plug-and-play convenience, and a soundhole-mounted mini volume control that requires no soldering or drilling. A handy no-drill mesh battery bag is also included. 9-volt battery required.

Moneytalk: Quickly installing an acoustic pickup
Money talk for guitar shops: quickly installing an acoustic pickup
Moneytalk: Quickly installing an acoustic pickup Read more

In this issue:
In our Money Talk series about operating a repair business, Dan Erlewine tallies up the time and expenses of a profitable pickup installation job.
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
L.R. Baggs Element Active System
L.R. Baggs Element Active System
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 20 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2 >
5 1-09-2014
Best Acoustic Pick-up for DECADES!!!!

Although I miss it's original ribbon version, this pick-up has been unrivaled as my all time favorite for 25 years. I'm afraid it gets overlooked because it's been around for so long. As a guitar repairman for over 30 years, I'm telling you.... Nothing touches it!!!!!!

Bruce Edward  Minneapolis
4 11-06-2013
Very good

I installed this system on two Martin guitars for a customer. One was a six string acoustic and the other a twelve string, On the six string the sound was excellent plugged in with no need for an (additional) pre amp whatsoever. I found on the twelve string though, that the high E strings tried to take over. I would recommend a pre amp with this system on a twelve string guitar to bleed away some of the high frequencies that the Baggs electronics cannot overcome. All in all an excellent system. P.S. Do drill a small hole on the treble side of the bridge to insert the strip in about one eighth of an inch. It really helps to even out the sound of the pickup.

Glenn's guitar repair  Ottawa Canada
5 9-29-2013
I like it

Easy to install and sound nice

Andrew t Bruton  st Catharines Ontario Canada Read my reviews (3)
5 8-15-2013
Great.

The best undersadle on my Breedlove!!!!

Bosco Giancarlo  Cirie' (TO) Italy Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 3-18-2013
Electric Cittern

This is the second time I've fitted the L. R. Baggs Element Active System in my carved-top 5 course citterns and the results have been consistently outstanding each time in terms of power, clarity and evenness of response. I also find it an easy system to fit in an instrument in which internal access is restricted because of the smaller sound-hole but the flexible nature of the transducer allows it to be passed up easily through the top and floating bridge. My customers love its performance and so, as a professional luthier, it ticks all my boxes.

T W Docherty  UK
4 10-04-2012
If you can't use the iBeam...

I gave this 4 stars because I like the LR Baggs iBeam active pickup system better for ease of installation. However, the iBeam won't fit a smaller guitar like my Martin OOO-18 making the Element system a necessity. Drilling the bridge hole was simply making sure no braces were hit below deck but sanding down a saddle perfectly is always a pain. Nevertheless, the Element went in easily and works fine.

sbuntrock  Buchanan Dam, TX Read my reviews (3)
4 9-10-2012
Lr baggs active element

If you can eq the bottom end out of this pickup its great..installed in my walden(maybe the version with vol/tone would be a better choice)

Gino  qld,australia Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
5 10-18-2011
Better than the RTS2

This is a great pickup. I like it better than the RTS2. The RTS2 will noticably change the sound of your guitar acoustically. It is a soft strip so naturally it will dampen the sound. The element doesn't have this problem.
It holds a sound quite true to your guitar and will handle stage volumes even when you are playing with a bassist and drummer.
Volume balance can be a problem as with any under the saddle pickup, so be prepared to do some dickering. Be happy and thank the builder if you don't have to.

John MacDonald  Ottawa, ON Canada
Customer supplied image for review
5 7-14-2011
how i can say ......???

Simply the best pick up ever ....

Utopia Custom Shop  Alessandria -Italy Read my reviews (5)
5 6-02-2011
Sonicaly Stellar!!

Having installed and used several transducer pickups in the past, I installed the Element Active in a customers guitar fully expecting to have to use some type of external preamp in order to get the amplified signal to sound reasonably close to the quality of the "room" tone of the guitar. I was surprised to find that his pickup/pre is quite an improvement over the past Baggs and most other systems from other manufacturers.

It doesn't generate an over-EQ'd signal and having the miniature volume control mounted in the soundhole (an inovation that's been around for a while with LRB but still a natable feature) makes it pretty non-invasive for those who are concerned about damaging or the devaluation of a vintage instrument. The only noticeable alteration is drilling out the endpin to accept the preamp/jack.

It's actually pretty simple to install and requires very few tools so the less experienced tech can do it themselves with care and minimal tools. I typically recommend and install the iBeam but now I have both systems here in the shop and would feel completely comfortable endorsing both of them.

One other note, I've successfully installed the preamp internally and connected a small shielded cable and mini jack on the outside of a vintage 64 J-45 to avoid drilling any visible holes on the guitar. It worked quite well & I'll post some photos later on.

Tim "Doc" Creek  Nashville, TN
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 43 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce