Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Electronics, pickups : Pickup parts : Vintage Push-back Wire - 50 feet

Vintage Push-back Wire - 50 feet


Read 27 Reviews   |   Write a Review

The right wire for Fender and vintage-style circuitry.

See details below

Email a friend
Vintage Push-back Wire - 50 feet
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1470 White Yes
$20.65
3 or more $16.11  

1471 Black Yes
$20.65
3 or more $16.11  

1472 Yellow Yes
$20.65
3 or more $16.11  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Single-coil Hookup Wires - 12 inches



Shielded Push-back Wire - 50 feet



Conductive Copper Tape



Conductive Shielding Paint



Wiring Kit for Gibson Les Paul Guitar



Single-coil Hookup Wires - 12 inches
Shielded Push-back Wire - 50 feet
Conductive Copper Tape
Conductive Shielding Paint
Wiring Kit for Gibson® Les Paul® Guitar



Details
 Pictures
Cloth-covered hookup wire that does not require stripping — simply push it back to reveal the wire.

Also available in 12-inch pieces.

Diameter: 0.070" (1.78mm)
Length: 50 feet (15.24m)

22 AWG unshielded single conductor wire is tinned and stranded, with a white celanese wrap and waxed braided cotton outer insulation. The cloth insulation simply pushes back to expose the center conductor wire.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Vintage Push-back Wire - 50 feet
Vintage Push-back Wire - 50 feet
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 27 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 >
5 6-01-2012
Just like the original

Re wired a classic Gibson for a friend, when he saw the wire he thought I had re used the old stuff until I pulled the roll out to show him....

Dingobass  Perth, Australia Read my reviews (76)
5 2-27-2012
Good Stuff

not much else to say. Its VERY easy to work with and you dont have to worry about stripping away too much. much better than teflon/rubber-insulated wire. Makes for a very professional look

james147  New York Read my reviews (21)
5 1-25-2012
Very convenient for standard wirings

If you are doing standard pickup wiring (noting highly complex) then this is the best wire to use because you don't have to worry about stripping wires, but I wish Stewmac would offer a "all three colors (You save $15.00)" because buying one color of each is far more than buying 3 whites. I plan on buying 3 whites and dye them to suit my needs.

Tai Fu  Taiwan Read my reviews (20)
5 1-12-2012
Great cable

I have one word for thing

"" IT's Best ""

niponz  Thailand Read my reviews (31)
Customer supplied image for review
4 12-05-2011
Where's the red?

Great wire, but it would be handy to have a red wire as well. If you're replacing the wiring and you have to revert to ordinary red wire, it kinda spoils the effect. Also, the shielded cable is way too tight to "hook & loop " the central core out easily. It needs a bit more flexibility.

timeseller  Brisbane,Australia.
5 8-12-2011
I like this wire

I use this wire for everything except the wiring on mini toggles and push/pull switches. Looks good, sounds good, works.

David S  Seattle, WA Read my reviews (18)
5 8-04-2011
vintage guitar wire

We love the fact this wire is tinned. Saves us a step.

CF Custom Guitars  Silver Springs, FL Read my reviews (4)
5 7-27-2011
The Very Best Pushback and I've tried Them All !

Although expensive, this is the only wire I have found that is "pre-tinned stranded" with a properly waxed outer sheath. It's actually a bit larger diameter than a solid 22ga., and is a joy to work with. I've wasted money on the others, but they are not of the quality of this wire. I do wish they would give the 3 or more discount for multiple colors. But the wire itself is a 5 Star.

Dale Latimer
Gulfport
Mississippi

Dale Latimer  Gulfport, Miss Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
5 6-08-2011
best quality available

many companies have similar wire, and the cloth insulation is good quality for all companies, but StewMac has the best actual wire underneath that insulation. When I buy in bulk, the prices are comparable to the lower quality suppliers. Attached is a picture of a guitar that Hans from the Norwegian band Skambankt built using my pickups built with this wire

Eastgrove pickups  St. Louis, Mo Read my reviews (35)
Customer supplied image for review
5 5-01-2011
Excellent to Work With but Bulky

I've used this in rewiring two guitars so far, and I love the stuff. Instead of stripping the insulation, you can just push it back for most purposes. I also found, where it was more convenient, that the insulation would slip freely enough over the wire that I could grab hold of the wire with needle nosed pliers at one end and pull the insulation away on the other end to cut it off to a length that I foresaw needing with a given connection and then slide it back on to have just the right amount of wire exposed at each end. That was the more useful way to go with short connections where there really wasn't enough room for bunched-up insulation between the terminals.

The stuff looks really cool, too (not that you or anyone else will be seeing much of it once the job is finished ;D ). Having a single, pre-tinned wire makes it much easier to set up and solder connections, too.

Two potential downsides, but I would not take points away for them--you just need to be aware. The shielding on the shielded cable is woven in such a way that it is difficult to manage to a degree. I tried to cut it neatly lengthwise, but on one connection where I twisted up the freed shielding to solder it to ground, it just crumbled away, and I had to solder another bare wire to the remaining shielding to connect it to ground.

The other thing is, if you're planning to wire up any complicated switches (I wired up a 4-pole, 6-position pickup coil selector and a 2-pole, 6-position capacitor selector using this wire), you might consider using the ordinary plastic insulated wire. My switches worked out fine, but the work was tricky because both the wire and the insulation are bulky, and in addition it resulted in the finished switches being bulkier than they'd have been if I used the finer insulated wire.

It may be overstating it to bring this up, but in wiring complicated switches, it might also be handy to have the plastic insulated wire because you can use more different colors, and that might help with organizing the progression of the wiring to use specific colors for specific connections. Putting that aside, if you are simply wiring pickups with pots and ordinary pickup selector switches, this wire is ideal.

Rob Red  Cheshire, CT Read my reviews (4)
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 53 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce