Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Electronics, pickups : Pickup parts : Humbucker pickup parts : Alnico Bar Magnet

Alnico Bar Magnet


Read 13 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Build or repair pickups with these authentic '50s parts! Just like the originals!

See details below

Email a friend
Alnico Bar Magnet
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5945 Alnico 5 Yes
$6.69
6 or more $4.48  

2945 Alnico 2 Yes
$6.69
6 or more $4.48  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Humbucker Kit



Pickup Coil Tape



Enamel Coated Pickup Coil Wire



Poly-coated Pickup Coil Wire



Magnet Polarity Tester



Humbucker Kit
Pickup Coil Tape
Enamel Coated Pickup Coil Wire
Poly-coated Pickup Coil Wire
Magnet Polarity Tester



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
Dimensions:
2-1/2" x 1/2" x 1/8"
(63.5mm x 12.7mm x 3.175mm)

Choose Alnico 5 or Alnico 2 magnets:
Alnico 2 magnets give a warmer tone and low end response with smooth, singing highs. Many builders use them in the bridge pickups of solidbodies.
Alnico 5 produces a brighter tone with a tighter low end and stinging highs. They're great for neck position pickups, to help keep the tone clear without getting muddy.

The Alnico 2 magnets are marked red on one end to tell them apart from Alnico 5's. Supplied with full magnetic charge. Sold individually.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Alnico Bar Magnet
Alnico Bar Magnet
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 13 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2 >
5 4-09-2014
Honk instead of ice pick

For just a few bucks, this little alnico 2 bar changed the sound in an Asian HSH Strat quite pleasantly. The bridge pickup originally had an alnico 5 mag in it and BOY was it ice picky! It was a $200 guitar so what the heck. I put the StewMac alnico 2 bar in it and left it unpotted. Has a nice little "honk" to it now instead of ice picks in your ear. Didn't really lose output either. Thanks again Stew Mac.

JLane  Brackett, Texas
5 11-13-2013
Magnets make difference

After reading some articles about influence of different magnets on pickup sound I decided to give it a try with this Alnico magnet. I was surprised how much the change met my expectation. That was what I needed.

rafsza  EU Read my reviews (2)
5 7-16-2013
As Advertised

Put these in 57 classics to replace the A2s in those pickups. Worked a charm, no issues, sounds as pro as can be.

dexfx  Taber, Canada Read my reviews (2)
5 1-19-2013
What a difference in sound.

Replaced some ceramics with these, and the difference in tone and balance was astounding. I had to shorten a couple for some Epi pick-ups and ground them with a stone wheel no problem.

Chuck  Sagamore Beach, Ma Read my reviews (5)
5 12-02-2012
Alnico 2 Bar Magnets

I have an Agile AS-1000 and the pickups were a little to hot for me -- I considered changing pickups to something more mellow; it was r/c that I try changing magnets to the Alnico 2 first --- I must say this is the sound I was looking for and changing magnet process is very easy (with a little patience). Strongly recommend experimenting with different magnets before jumping to new pickups -- you may find it to be a cheap and rewarding project -- thanks to the previous reviews in helping with my decision.

Another Happy Customer  Chesapeake, Va
4 11-10-2012
Changing cheap pickups

A change of pickups, easily and for very little money, very cheap modification and a wonderful change in the sound of my guitar pickups sounded very opaque.

byerek  Spain Read my reviews (10)
Customer supplied image for review
4 9-14-2012
Happy Customer

I used these magnets for a customer that had to have A2 magnets. The kits I stocked up on had A5 so I had to buy these. The customer was happy with the pickups so I'd order them again. Just be careful when ordering because they will magnetize the poles in your single coil kits during shipping if you order them all at the same time!

NPB_EST.1979  Detroit, MI Read my reviews (14)
Customer supplied image for review
5 8-04-2012
Alnico 2 magnet

I bought a couple of these to tone down an over wound humbucker with ceramic magnets, that was a little too "In yer face" for my liking. I was astonished at the difference these made, it really did remove all the upper-mid and treble harshness. If anything it was almost too mellow. I would think that an Alnico 5 would be perfect for this procedure.

Quentin Howarth  Cumbria, England. Read my reviews (5)
5 5-21-2012
Alnico 2 bar magnets

I installed these in my P-90 pick ups and it did exactly what I was looking for a mellow fuller sound, perfect.

RG  Garden Grove Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
5 2-02-2011
Awesome Magnets

great magnets for custom pickups, wish stewmac would sell some ceramic mags too though

fowler  virginia
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 48 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce