Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Electronics, pickups : Components: Switches and knobs : Metric Toggle Switch

Metric Toggle Switch


Read 53 Reviews   |   Write a Review

A chrome-plated double-pole 3-way switch, popular in guitars made outside the USA. Fits 2-pickup guitars.

See details below

Email a friend
Metric Toggle Switch
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1217 Chrome Yes
$12.95
3 or more $11.67  
6 or more $10.48  

1217-G Gold Yes
$14.58
3 or more $12.96  
6 or more $11.67  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Switchcraft Toggle Switches



Shielded Circuit Wire - 25 feet



Non-shielded Guitar Hookup Wire

Self-adhesive Shielding Kit



Adjustable Toggle Switch Wrench



Switchcraft Toggle Switches
Shielded Circuit Wire - 25 feet
Non-shielded Guitar Hookup Wire
Self-adhesive Shielding Kit
Adjustable Toggle Switch Wrench



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
Each switch includes
  • Black and cream plastic knob
  • Knurled mounting nut
  • Flat washer
  • Wiring diagram


Straight toggle switch dimensions
Thread M12 x 1.0
Threaded portion 5/16" (7.94mm)
Required mounting hole diameter 1/2" (12.70mm)
Required body cavity depth 15/16" (23.81mm)


/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Metric Toggle Switch
Metric Toggle Switch
 
4 out of 5 stars
Based on 53 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  ...  6 >
4 1-05-2012
Almost a great switch, still a good buy regardless...

If you've read the other reviews you'd notice most complaints are regarding the switch mechanism returns to the middle position too easy and doesn't hold well. After installation I noticed the same but with some rigorous shaking of my guitar in the neck or bridge position it did not return to center. It may not be a stiff switch but it wont return to center from slapping the strings or shaking the guitar.

The tip went on crooked however the threads were correct on the actual switch. The plastic tip just wasn't an ideal fit but if you crank it as tight as possible (with fingers!) the tip straightens out and it sits well. There may be better switches out there but this one works just fine.

George Casiano  Corona, CA Read my reviews (17)
2 11-15-2011
Switch wants to center way too easily

I have too agree with the other reviewers who don't like the annoying tendency to return to the centre position too easily.I tried bending the contacts to fix problem but was only partly successful.The threaded portion is too short for my Les Paul.I can't get the plastic "Treble/Rhythm" placard back on.I think I may go back to the original switch.Good looking unit in gold but problematic.

TomL  Sydney,Australia Read my reviews (16)
3 10-31-2011
Hmm...

Good switch, excellent quality. My only complaint is that the switch flips back to the center position far too easily - it makes placement of the switch anywhere near the bridge pickup impractical since it is also tall enough to hit with your hand, so I will most likely end up switching it for a switch which is a little stiffer.

A. Lucas  Canada Read my reviews (27)
Customer supplied image for review
3 10-22-2011
If I had my time again I would buy another

The construction of the switch is solid. Everything was in it's right place but the switch likes to bump back into the middle position. This is good if you like it there but otherwise it's just a pain. Luckily I've placed my switch away from where it would be easily bumped...

Zac M.  SA, Australia
4 9-28-2011
Gold switch

The switch is good but why not selling it with a gold knob?

Nissan Hayun  Israel Read my reviews (22)
5 8-12-2011
I´ve bought before!!!

And i bought again because is very good switch!!!

Tufoeffect  Rio Claro - SP - Brazil Read my reviews (11)
1 7-26-2011
Pass on this one

The price is right but that's about it. As with many other reviewers, this switch jumps to the middle position at the slightest bump. I had to buy from a different dealer and eat the loss on this one.

Robert J  Rockledge, FL
Customer supplied image for review
3 6-09-2011
Three Way Nightmare

Good quality except returns to center with the slightest touch. This was the third one of different makers with the same problem including Gibson OEM, so I guess that you just can't get a good LP switch any more.

But at least this one was the best of the three.

As usual StewMac's prompt customer service and shipping was Outstanding

Randy Wood  Cullman, Alabama Read my reviews (4)
5 5-18-2011
epiphone 3 way sw

This was the exact replacement switch for this knock-off Les Paul. Why would you spend anything more for a guitar like this? Although if it's the only thing you order, the shipping makes it a little pricey.

fixer1000  milltown,nj
5 5-02-2011
Toggle switch

Not a lot for a three way toggle switch to do. But it has to do it well.....and quietly. This switch has a comforting notch in the middle position, but moves easily to front or rear position with a light touch. Wiring it up is easy. 2 HB 1 Vol 1 Tone, anyway. That's enough knobs for me.

Plenty of diagrams available on the web for whatever you need. Strong, solid and reliable....and you get two switch knobs...one black, one white! Complete with heavy duty knurled fastening ring. Looks very much like the Gibson switch. Bargain!

resoamp  Beechworth Australia Read my reviews (32)
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  ...  6 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 51 of our latest catalog.


Les Paul® is a registered trademark of Gibson Guitar Corporation.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce