Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Electronics, pickups : Components: Switches and knobs : Megaswitch E-Model

Megaswitch E-Model


Read 23 Reviews   |   Write a Review

5-way Megaswitch for 3-pickup combinations of single coils or humbuckers, or for 2-humbucker guitars.

See details below

Email a friend
Megaswitch E-Model
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
3484 Megaswitch E-Model Yes
$28.84
3 or more $20.58  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Megaswitch Switch Knob



Shielded Circuit Wire - 25 feet



Non-shielded Guitar Hookup Wire

Self-adhesive Shielding Kit



Switch Mounting Screws



Megaswitch Switch Knob
Shielded Circuit Wire - 25 feet
Non-shielded Guitar Hookup Wire
Self-adhesive Shielding Kit
Switch Mounting Screws



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
It allows wiring arrangements not obtainable with a standard 5-way guitar switch, including automatic coil-tapping and special hum-cancelling connections.

Designed for guitarists, the Megaswitch features heavy-duty die-cast construction, noise-free contacts, and the best "feel" of all our lever-action switches.

The original E-Model is for 3-pickup combinations of single coils or humbuckers, or for 2-humbucker guitars. It allows wiring arrangements not obtainable with a standard 5-way guitar switch, including automatic coil-tapping and special hum-cancelling connections.

Includes: Chrome screws, wiring diagram, black and white plastic knobs.

Requirements:
Body cavity depth: 1-3/8" (34.925mm)
Screw spacing: 1-5/8" (41.275mm)
Lever slot: 1/16" x 1-1/16" (1.588 x 26.988mm)



Replacement black and white plastic knobs are available.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Megaswitch E-Model
Megaswitch E-Model
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 23 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3 >
4 11-09-2013
Size considerations

Installed on a rear control rout guitar with a recess for the 5 way switch (apparently fitted for a CRL switch.) I had to relieve more wood on the circuit board side. The mounting screws are smaller, so I could not use my original black screws. It functions well with a medium drag switching feel with a positive click. It has been broken in for few weeks now so it is dragging less than a CRL. In H-S-S the 3rd position gives humbucking result from the neck single coil and the slug side of the bridge pickup--which is the reason for buying this switch. Brilliant!

Eric S.  Kenmore, WA Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 8-03-2013
Great Product

I've used the "E" and "P" model switches in my many modifications with fantastic results. I've expanded on the "E" model options with a push/pull volume pot, selecting either the Bridge Humbucker or the 5-Way. The selections on the 5-way are:M/B+M/M+N/B+N/N - All hum cancelling pickups, using just the hot wires on the switch, swapping the Bridge and Middle wires. 6 positions achieved, switching from the Bridge to any preset on the 5-Way.

MTK4UNION  Annville, PA
4 7-22-2013
Megaswitch E-Model

Does all that is asked of it and is simple to solder. Instructions are easy. For an HSS guitar, the tones are preferable, I prefer to mix single coils together instead of bridge humbucker and middle, for example. You get hum cancelling at all positions if the middle is RWRP to the others, and you get the Telecaster style bridge and neck option.

KL  Christchurch, New Zealand Read my reviews (33)
5 7-18-2013
So many options!

I love hot rodding my guitars, and I've put the switch in all my HSH and HSS guitars. I love the option in the 3rd position of having a single coil at the neck and bridge positions, rather than a middle single coil like so many manufacturers offer. With the addition of a push pull to split the neck or bridge on its own when in the 1st or 5th position, you can have so many tones to choose from. As a gigging musician in a cover band, the convenience of playing with one guitar, and it's ability to vary its tone so widely, is indespensable. This switch is a must have.

Tony Macch  Norwalk, Ct
Customer supplied image for review
3 4-08-2013
Great idea, bad design

The idea of the switch is great. The build quality is not. I've been through 3 of these things in 2 years. The center screw comes loose and once it backs off to a certain place, there's no saving it. Why did they not splay this at the factory? It would be a simple fix. If you need Tele tones on your Strat, this is great. But be prepared to pull your pickguard at least once every 6 months to make sure the switch lives another 6 months. Even though I loved what it did, I couldn't handle it dying in the middle of a gig again, and went back to a standard CRL 5-way.

Robb Lowe  Spartanburg SC
5 11-25-2012
The best switch my money can buy..

I'm actually using this on production guitars because it's that solid. The availability of splitting/tapping right at the switch makes for a very clean design.. ad a 3 way mini toggle for series and kill...voila!

JCNex  USA Read my reviews (2)
5 11-12-2012
These rock

These things are built like a tank, and allow you to do some very cool, non-traditional switching patterns. I employ them in my Nashville T-style builds to allow for the following switching pattern: B,B&M,B&N,M&N,N

Walnut Creek Guitars  Hartville, OH USA Read my reviews (4)
5 6-03-2012
Megaswitch "E"

It offers new sound options to better explore a Strat. Great!

Paulo Oliveira  São Paulo, Brazil Read my reviews (8)
5 5-07-2012
Great Switch

Love it!
Easy to use, great working switch, I will buy more in the future

GuitarTron  Canada Read my reviews (17)
5 10-27-2011
Megaswitch E Model

Great switch, smooth action,quality built. Great instructions and excellent personal assistance on questions I had. There is no better place for guitar gear ---Thanks Stew-Mac

Donn  Lowville NY
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 51 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce