Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Electronics, pickups : Components: Caps (capacitors) : Orange Drop Caps

Orange Drop Caps


Read 43 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Upgrade to the quality caps used in Fender and Gibson guitars.

See details below

Email a friend
Orange Drop Caps
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1250 NEW! .001uF Yes
$2.99
10 or more $2.45  
50 or more $2.03  

1251 NEW! .015uF Yes
$2.99
10 or more $2.45  
50 or more $2.03  

1281 .022uF Yes
$2.99
10 or more $2.45  
50 or more $2.03  

1282 .047uF Yes
$2.99
10 or more $2.45  
50 or more $2.03  

1252 NEW! .100uF Yes
$2.99
10 or more $2.45  
50 or more $2.03  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Emerson Paper-In-Oil Caps



Ceramic Caps



Golden Age Treble Bleed Circuit

Premium Wiring Kit for Gibson SG



Premium Wiring Kit for 2-pickups with Toggle Switch



Emerson Paper-In-Oil Caps
Ceramic Caps
Golden Age Treble Bleed Circuit
Premium Wiring Kit for Gibson® SG®
Premium Wiring Kit for 2-pickups with Toggle Switch



Details
 Pictures
Articles
Made of durable high grade polyester, and favorites for vintage restorations or new builds.
Sold individually.

Capacitors are energy-storage devices that filter the high frequencies. A cap lets the tone control roll off the treble response, progressively warming the tone. The higher the value, the more bass output from the tone control at its "zero" setting.

A cap wired to a potentiometer creates a standard tone control, as explained in this Article: How a tone control works.

Value Code Common use
.001uF 102K Common Treble bleed
.015uF 153K With neck position humbucker for the Clapton "woman tone"
.022uF 223K Humbucker tone
.047uF 473K Single-coil guitars, many basses
.100uF 104K Basses and certain eras of vintage Fender guitars


/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Orange Drop Caps
Orange Drop Caps
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 43 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5 >
5 3-08-2013
Orange Drop Caps

these caps are awesome. The Quack is back. My strat has never had this tonal quality. I used 500k tone pots and the 500k push pull to split the pups. Just awesome.

Tim OToole  Preston,Ct. Read my reviews (3)
5 3-03-2013
They're all good

Several years ago I made up a test card with about a dozen caps of differing brands, types and values. I attached each to a small sheet of cardboard with a little dab of silicone, so they could be removed later. Then I soldered leads from the tone pots (about 8" long), with alligator clips on the ends. I can test each cap in action, but not have to re-solder each time I change. I've used this process now for several years, on many different guitars. The thing is, every guitar likes something different, probably because no two pots are exactly the same, and pickups differ, and hearing differs as well. Sometimes the Orange Drop in a certain value sounds best to my ears, sometimes a cheap cap sounds great. I always use the cap (which I like best) right off the card, that's why I attach them to the cardboard with silicone. Even another cap - the same brand and value - might sound a little different as they all vary some. I also find that a neck pickup will often need a different cap than the bridge pickup, so I always wire in each pup it's own tone control. Hope this helps.

Waddie  USA Read my reviews (4)
5 2-06-2013
Quality is Not "Hype"

These are great caps. If you want to use them in a guitar, you can't go wrong. They are top notch and they are widely known and respected - in case you choose to sell it they wont harm the value. Also, most of the "Orange Drop" series are made in the USA -American jobs and workmanship are not "hype". I build and repair Tube Amps and i mostly use these caps on American designed / built amps. They perform better than cheaper stuff. An amplifier (or a guitar) is a machine. A machine is the sum of, and is only as good as, it's parts. Using high quality parts is a no-brainer if you want a high quality machine. Using cheap-o parts will yield a cheap-o machine.

Blackplates  Aberdeen Md. Read my reviews (14)
5 2-03-2013
strat

put the smaller orange drop in my strat. the tone knobs never did much before, now there is a big change when I twist the knobs, so I am impressed.

rachel  virgin islands Read my reviews (2)
5 2-02-2013
quiet please

All I know is that those with CTS pot, it quiet down a noisy Les Paul type guitar. Good product

Did  Canada
5 1-25-2013
Orange Drops Worth It?

In my opinion....YES! I put these in EVERY LP that I upgrade with my custom wound pups. Would I recommend that even newbies get 'em? 100% yes! If you're in there changing the pots or pickups or anything, just do the cap upgrade and you'll NEVER look back! Just this one upgrade alone on most all Epi LP's and Gibs LP's will wake up the pups and you'll have a new respect for your AXE!

KickAxe USA  Rifle, CO Read my reviews (11)
5 1-25-2013
Who care about the hype?

I've been using those since 1996 and I just love them + it gives a really unique professional look to your wiring when building a high quality custom guitar - see picture!

If you build a high quality custom guitar and place cheap capacitors inside, it may not make any difference but the day the cover gets removed, somebody will notice that you wanted to save money on a little detail and that's not good!

hufschmid  Montreux Read my reviews (18)
Customer supplied image for review
4 1-16-2013
Worth the price?

I'm not sure I believe the hype. I can't hear any difference between these and the ones here on StewMac that cost 6x less, but if you believe you can, or if you're building guitars to sell and this will add value, hey go for it. Rookies beware: the .047 is really big with a thick wire that is kind of hard to bend and a little clunkier to work with. It'll fit in your cavity, but in a tight one like on some of the Epi's it is a squeeze depending on the size of your pot, and the really thick wire requires you to get the bend/shape just right before you go to solder, because you won't be getting it to bend on the fly. Anyway, just something to watch for if you're relatively inexperienced like me. Otherwise, sure, good cap. Whether it's worth the price difference is pretty much your call.

Lance Link  Japan Read my reviews (9)
5 1-05-2013
These are all you need

There not expensive, and will do the job.

Johnny4570  Stone Mountain Read my reviews (6)
4 12-26-2012
For Squire Tele Rebuild

I am not sure if I can tell the difference between these caps and others, but the price was fair.

J K Jones  Los Angeles, CA Read my reviews (6)
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 50 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce