Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Electronics, pickups : Components: Caps (capacitors) : Orange Drop Caps

Orange Drop Caps


Read 43 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Upgrade to the quality caps used in Fender and Gibson guitars.

See details below

Email a friend
Orange Drop Caps
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1250 NEW! .001uF Yes
$2.99
10 or more $2.45  
50 or more $2.03  

1251 NEW! .015uF Yes
$2.99
10 or more $2.45  
50 or more $2.03  

1281 .022uF Yes
$2.99
10 or more $2.45  
50 or more $2.03  

1282 .047uF Yes
$2.99
10 or more $2.45  
50 or more $2.03  

1252 NEW! .100uF Yes
$2.99
10 or more $2.45  
50 or more $2.03  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Emerson Paper-In-Oil Caps



Ceramic Caps



Golden Age Treble Bleed Circuit

Premium Wiring Kit for Gibson SG



Premium Wiring Kit for 2-pickups with Toggle Switch



Emerson Paper-In-Oil Caps
Ceramic Caps
Golden Age Treble Bleed Circuit
Premium Wiring Kit for Gibson® SG®
Premium Wiring Kit for 2-pickups with Toggle Switch



Details
 Pictures
Articles
Made of durable high grade polyester, and favorites for vintage restorations or new builds.
Sold individually.

Capacitors are energy-storage devices that filter the high frequencies. A cap lets the tone control roll off the treble response, progressively warming the tone. The higher the value, the more bass output from the tone control at its "zero" setting.

A cap wired to a potentiometer creates a standard tone control, as explained in this Article: How a tone control works.

Value Code Common use
.001uF 102K Common Treble bleed
.015uF 153K With neck position humbucker for the Clapton "woman tone"
.022uF 223K Humbucker tone
.047uF 473K Single-coil guitars, many basses
.100uF 104K Basses and certain eras of vintage Fender guitars


/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Orange Drop Caps
Orange Drop Caps
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 43 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  5 >
5 1-01-2014
Top Quality

.022 mF cap, installed in a EB Musicman Albert Lee along with CTS 500k pots and humbucking pickups. Pleasing, usable tone in all settings, but beware: tricky to fit into a tight cavity due to large size and stiff lead wires.

Jeff D  New Jersey, USA Read my reviews (2)
5 12-11-2013
A little limited!

Great quality, but would like a little more variety to choose from in size.

Greg G.  Coldwater, MI Read my reviews (7)
5 11-16-2013
Positive Effect On Tone Pots

Installed these while upgrading my pots from stock Alpha's to StewMac's CTS pots. Helped turn my guitar into a true tone machine.

Archtop Bill  Asheville NC Read my reviews (6)
5 10-27-2013
Orange Drops are great

Gibson have been using Orange Drops for many years as the PIO "bumblebees" are ridiculously expensive. In a guitar tone circuit (low pass filter to ground any cap will do, but I don't like the cheap ceramic ones because the leads on them will break the cap if tugged on during soldering. The polyester OD cap is the solution to all my guitars, builds and repairs. I'm glad that S-M is carrying them now.

CarverDan  Ottawa Canada Read my reviews (3)
5 9-16-2013
Excellent

I placed my order last June and got it today. However, this has to do with customs here in Argentina. Apart from this, I received everything I ordered. Very satisfied, I would purchase again in the future.

SantiagoF  Arroyo Seco, Santa Fe, Argentina
5 8-07-2013
Hot Drops!

Orange Drop Caps really bring out the tone! A new must have for repairs/rebuilds & new work. Thanks StewMac!

Rusty B  SC Read my reviews (2)
5 8-01-2013
Great caps!

I ended up going for the .047 model. I have one in a Les Paul with P-90's and one in my SG with humbuckers. So warm!

Broian  Tampa Read my reviews (6)
5 7-17-2013
Very pleased

I tried these recently for the first time in the prototype for a new line Im working on and was very happy. Since the guitar was the first of its kind I have nothing to compare it to other than general experience with many other guitars. I also used a treble bleed circuit and the overall sound of the guitar was extremely clear with exceptional tone, in any of the 6 pickup selections and at any volume or tone setting. One of the best sounding guitars ever to come out of my shop and will be using more of these caps.

Z-Max Guitars  Albany, NY Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
1 6-22-2013
Why so big?

They are HUGE and I had a real hard time getting them to fit in the body cavity. When I did get them to fit, the leads usually made unintentional contact with another lead or wire and required dismantling and manipulation all over - disappointmented. Ultimately I removed them without even hearing them - I'll save them for a rainy day and a hollow body!

KuztomShop  Bradford, OH USA
Customer supplied image for review
5 6-02-2013
Great caps!

Used these on 3 guitars so far, and find them to be excellent. They add a wide and useable range to the tone knob. My cap of choice for all my builds/projects. Will use these on all my builds from now on.

Hurtz  Michigan ,USA Read my reviews (4)
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  5 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 50 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce