Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Electronics, pickups : Components: Caps (capacitors) : Orange Drop Caps

Orange Drop Caps


Read 43 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Upgrade to the quality caps used in Fender and Gibson guitars.

See details below

Email a friend
Orange Drop Caps
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1250 NEW! .001uF Yes
$2.99
10 or more $2.45  
50 or more $2.03  

1251 NEW! .015uF Yes
$2.99
10 or more $2.45  
50 or more $2.03  

1281 .022uF Yes
$2.99
10 or more $2.45  
50 or more $2.03  

1282 .047uF Yes
$2.99
10 or more $2.45  
50 or more $2.03  

1252 NEW! .100uF Yes
$2.99
10 or more $2.45  
50 or more $2.03  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Emerson Paper-In-Oil Caps



Ceramic Caps



Golden Age Treble Bleed Circuit

Premium Wiring Kit for Gibson SG



Premium Wiring Kit for 2-pickups with Toggle Switch



Emerson Paper-In-Oil Caps
Ceramic Caps
Golden Age Treble Bleed Circuit
Premium Wiring Kit for Gibson® SG®
Premium Wiring Kit for 2-pickups with Toggle Switch



Details
 Pictures
Articles
Made of durable high grade polyester, and favorites for vintage restorations or new builds.
Sold individually.

Capacitors are energy-storage devices that filter the high frequencies. A cap lets the tone control roll off the treble response, progressively warming the tone. The higher the value, the more bass output from the tone control at its "zero" setting.

A cap wired to a potentiometer creates a standard tone control, as explained in this Article: How a tone control works.

Value Code Common use
.001uF 102K Common Treble bleed
.015uF 153K With neck position humbucker for the Clapton "woman tone"
.022uF 223K Humbucker tone
.047uF 473K Single-coil guitars, many basses
.100uF 104K Basses and certain eras of vintage Fender guitars


/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Orange Drop Caps
Orange Drop Caps
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 43 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3  ...  5 >
5 4-05-2014
Great Cap

Just follow the recommends and you'll get a great tone. A .022 bridge & .015 neck for your LP tone.

Palaver  MetroWest MA - USA Read my reviews (13)
5 3-27-2014
orange drop cap

I love these caps because of the long legs they make it easy to ground to the back of the pots. I have never had one that failed. Keep up the good work. Thanks Jim

norton blues  canada Read my reviews (6)
5 3-21-2014
proper tonality is a must

They have always been my favorite cap for tone circuits. I first used these to repair organ sound cards and they do present the true tonality of the instrument you install them in. I am so glad stew-mac has added them to their inventory. I installed these in two fender p-basses and zowwie perfect tone once again with my p-bass.

DAVID THE OAKMAN  AMSTERDAM, NY Read my reviews (5)
5 3-13-2014
A Very Good Capacitor

Not all capacitors are the same. The values that the Orange Drop Caps make available, can improve the sound quality. An inexpensive upgrade.

Noone  Albuquerque, NM Read my reviews (6)
5 3-05-2014
Orange Drop Capacitors

I purchased two 0.047 microfarad caps for re-wiring a guitar that I'd refinished and re-pickup'ed. They work quite well and have a linear action with the stock 500k tone pots. What really impressed me is the 0.022 cap that I put into my '62 re-issue Tele. From the day I brought it home, the tone action was very difficult to modulate (nothing... nothing... everything.... nothing...). Years ago I changed to a 500k pot from the stock 250 to smooth out the action. It worked OK, but I never liked the feel of the pot. With the orange drop, I was able to reinstall my stock speed pot and get the most linear tone adjustment and tonal range that I've ever had with this guitar.

Ron Daniels  Kitchener, Ontario Canada Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
5 3-01-2014
Great caps!!

Installed these into my guitar and the tonal difference was noticeable right away!!

Z.W.T.  Michigan, U.S.A. Read my reviews (7)
5 2-16-2014
Can't go wrong with these

What is there left to say. These are the best caps around and are worth the effort to put these babies in. Really tightens up your tone.

parque  redlands, ca Read my reviews (3)
5 2-07-2014
Never fail caps

I've used orange drops for so long I don't think twice about stocking them here at ElectricLarryLand Guitars. I've never had one fail, even from very close soldering heat. Quick delivery at a good price.

ElectricLarryLand  New Braunfels, Tx Read my reviews (8)
5 1-17-2014
Orange Drop 100uF Caps

Fast Ship by Stew Mac, I put them on my Fender Aerodyne Jazz and Mexi Jazz, love em...

Phil bogart  Columbus, Ohio
5 1-04-2014
Orange Gum Drops

I keep a few of these on hand to drop some cheap tone into any guitar.

Hosner Guitars  Science Hill, KY Read my reviews (9)
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3  ...  5 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 50 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce