Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Electronics, pickups : Components: Caps (capacitors) : Emerson Paper-In-Oil Caps

Emerson Paper-In-Oil Caps


Read 21 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Period-correct specs, warm tone. Genuine handmade tone caps, hand-picked by our friend Mitch Ingram at Emerson Custom Guitars and Electronics.

See details below

Email a friend
Emerson Paper-In-Oil Caps
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1279 .047uF (red)
Non-RoHS compliant, cannot ship to EU countries
Yes
$12.00

1280 .022uF (yellow)
Non-RoHS compliant, cannot ship to EU countries
Yes
$12.00

1276 NEW! .015uF (green)
Non-RoHS compliant, cannot ship to EU countries
Yes
$12.00


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Golden Age Treble Bleed Circuit

Ceramic Caps



Orange Drop Caps



Kester Pocket-Pak Solder



Solomon SL-30 Soldering Station



Golden Age Treble Bleed Circuit
Ceramic Caps
Orange Drop Caps
Kester Pocket-Pak Solder
Solomon SL-30 Soldering Station



Details
 Pictures
Articles
New old stock paper-in-oil caps from the former Soviet Union are prized by aficionados for their period-correct specs and subtle warm tone quality. Sold individually.

Capacitors are energy-storage devices that filter the high frequencies. A cap lets the tone control roll off the treble response, progressively warming the tone. The higher the value, the more bass output from the tone control at its "zero" setting.

A cap wired to a potentiometer creates a standard tone control, as explained in this article:
How a tone control works

Value Common use
.047uF - 200V Single-coil guitars, many basses
.022uF - 200V Humbucker tone
.015uF - 200V With neck position humbucker for the Clapton "woman tone"


/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Emerson Paper-In-Oil Caps
Emerson Paper-In-Oil Caps
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 21 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 >
5 5-22-2013
TONE!

ok kiddies I will give you a couple secrets to Great Guitar TONE! First of all replace whatever tone capacitor you have in your guitar with one of the vintage style paper-in-oil tone caps. 1950's technology will never be beat for SOUND. All the modern materials in the world will never sound like these, trust me! The other thing is whatever overdrive pedal you are using, see if you can't use an 18 volt adapter on it in lieu of 9 volts. It gives you much more headroom, response and TONE! To me that is how you can tell a great Guitar Player - TONE! There are lots of players who can play lots of notes but some have the most obnoxious tone. TONE is everything. You can play one note with TONE and shatter a thousand bad sounding notes! There I have given away my secret : )

Leo Matthew Chamberlain  USA
5 5-16-2013
Excellent

Im a big fan of vintage methods and materials when building or repairing. I used to use Vitamin Q Oil in paper but when Stew Mac started carrying these I had to try them. What can I say... I love them. They sound different than disc caps or foil. They seem to soften things a bit. If you want an edgy sound then probably go with a Orange drop but for warm smooth tone, even high gain on guitar, they are quite nice. I now recommend them to everyone.

PNC Guitars  Washinton USA Read my reviews (26)
5 4-28-2013
Smooth as silk

Just put one of these in my modified Mexican Tele (pair of A6 Benny humbuckers and an E mod mega switch); also added some CTS pots 250K and wow, Tone rolls on and off Smooth as silk, worth making the space for.

Terry James  N S W Australia
5 4-27-2013
Worth every penny

Those caps have improved my Gibson sound more than expected, I've read the reviews where apparently it makes no difference what kinds of caps you use, you're always gonna get the same sound! I guess not everybody's ears have got the same level of development, and if you use your tone knob to shape your sound than these are a must, instead of behaving like a on/off switch you get a full range of sounds from 1 to 10. Proves not all caps are equal, will put them in all my new guitars.

D.A.Bernard  Ontario Canada
5 4-05-2013
Just the thing for a vintage sound.

Installed this when I replaced the electronics in my MIJ 62 reissue.. Push back wire, CTS pots, this cap and some Lollar Blondes made it one of the best Strats I have heard in a long time.. Great shape to the tone controls..

T Jones  Chester, MT Read my reviews (39)
5 3-29-2013
Great traditional tone

I used this cap with a couple of Duncan SH55's and got great tonal quality for a crisp yet warm sound.

unclejace  Ellsworth, ME, USA Read my reviews (3)
5 3-29-2013
Works for me

I bought this cap for a strat build using the Stewmac premium strat harness set. I prefer warmer tones and since the pick ups will be Fralin 43s with similar outputs to p90s i felt this would be a good match.

BillyBob  Kars, Ontario Canada Read my reviews (6)
5 1-25-2013
Your Missing Link to TONE!

So I replaced the PU's in my custom shop Les Paul Axcess with Parsons Street Humbuckers. The tone was improved, but lacked the punch of the previous upgrade PUs. What to do? I got to thinking, if I'm using a PAF copy, why not recreate the entire circuit? So I took out the orange drops and replaced them with Emerson Oil in Paper Capacitors. The result? Magic. In comparison the orange drops just sound muted. Not nearly as musical. There's real synergy in using these "obsolete" caps with a great PAF copy. Truly. Now I have back the punch, definition and attack, but with creamy richness only found in those old (and now 6 figure $) guitars. Best $24 I ever spent. Growl, cry or sing. These babies ARE the missing link. Any style you want, rock, blues, funk, even country... anything but metal I suppose. Roll off the tone on the neck PU and experience the sweetest Jazz tones ever from a solid body. Don't even think about it. You want these. I would put them in any Tele or Strat with vintage PU's. L5 or ES-175? You bet. Forget the modern electronics. Rip 'em out and use the combination I did. THAT's how that guitar is supposed to sound. Old school, no compromise. These are the real deal folks. Drop a pair in your guitar and let the sunshine in.

badrapp627  Oak Park, Il. Read my reviews (5)
5 1-03-2013
Great help

I was surprised how much difference this made in the tone controls of my 50's tribute. This is a cheap guitar that sounded very good BUT now sounds terrific. Highly recommended

Partscaster  NYC Read my reviews (3)
5 12-29-2012
These sound amazing!

Put them in a Les Paul Build. They are HUGE so it was a tight fit, but they sound awesome. That '59 sound you are looking for.

Joey D  East Meadow, NY Read my reviews (3)
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 50 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce