Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Electronics, pickups : Books, DVD : The New Book of Standard Wiring Diagrams

The New Book of Standard Wiring Diagrams


Read 17 Reviews   |   Write a Review

By Les Schatten
Easy-to-read diagrams help you wire a guitar or bass. No confusing schematics!

See details below

Email a friend
The New Book of Standard Wiring Diagrams
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
3283 The New Book of Standard Wiring Diagrams Yes
$34.99


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Fieldpiece Digital Pocket Multimeter



How to Wire a Fender Guitar DVD



How to Wire a Gibson Guitar DVD



Guitar Player Repair Guide



Fieldpiece Digital Pocket Multimeter
How to Wire a Fender Guitar DVD
How to Wire a Gibson® Guitar DVD
Guitar Player Repair Guide



Details
 Pictures
Originally in two volumes, Standard Wiring Diagrams has been combined into one easy-to-use book of non-schematic diagrams for the repair shop. Compiled by a guitar technician, it features 65 complete guitar and bass wiring diagrams for Fender, Gibson, Yamaha, Hamer, Peavey, Fernandes and more. Quick-reference sections also include diagrams for wiring individual guitar electronic components. 81 pages, softcover; spiral bound.

Contents in brief
  • Wiring diagrams for:
  • Ampeg
  • BC Rich
  • Burns
  • EMG actives
  • Fender (25 diagrams)
  • Fernandes (9 diagrams)
  • G&L Legacy
  • Gibson (8 diagrams)
  • Gretsch Country Gentleman
  • Hamer (5 diagrams)
  • Heartfield (3 diagrams covering 9 models)
  • Hohner bass
  • Peavey (4 diagrams covering 8 models)
  • Yamaha (4 diagrams covering 8 models)
  • Zentech bass
  • Hookup wire color codes: Anderson, DiMarzio, Duncan, Gibson, Jackson, Lawrence and Schaller

81 pages, softcover 2004

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
The New Book of Standard Wiring Diagrams
The New Book of Standard Wiring Diagrams
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 17 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2 >
4 8-04-2013
Clean and well laid out.

I like the book because it is simple to read for someone who is unfamiliar with blue prints. As a Electrical Engineer I didn't need this book as much as needing it for those who can't read a print. The best part is I can Xerox it and give it to one of my techs to use to check wiring on a particular guitar without the need to explain things. It is the K.I.S.S. principle in action (Keep it simple stupid). So it gets a 4 star from me, because it is simple and saves time and long explanations.

James William B.  Michigan U.S.A.
3 5-26-2013
Excellent service

As usual, excellent service from Stew-Mac. Book does not meet expectations because I thought it would include also special wiring. But useful if you want to make repairs.

Salvador  Tarragona, Spain Read my reviews (3)
4 5-19-2013
All I needed and more!

This is a great book, I've been able to find every wire job that I needed and it really helps me understand how wiring works. Highly recommended!

Tim_Garza91  Alaska Read my reviews (6)
5 1-19-2013
Nice and easy!

Good reference, easy diagrams and it lays flat!

Jerome Sutton, Guitar Doctor NL  Hengelo (O), Netherlands Read my reviews (6)
4 10-28-2012
A great reference

A great reference collection of STANDARD wiring diagrams. Would love to see it expended to include more of the commonly requested MODS.

Steve in Melbourne  Australia Read my reviews (8)
4 10-04-2012
Where're the Kramers?

Excellent resource for higher end wiring diagrams. However, some of the lower end models are missing as are the diagrams for the Kramer line. Despite those MIA, I recommend this book for those needing a quick reference to getting the correct wiring done quickly as the diagrams are very straightforward.

Rebel Exile  Edmonton, Alberta, Canada Read my reviews (6)
5 2-22-2012
Everything you need in one place.

Wiring diagrams laid out simply and with lots of notes on why things are different.

Unresto Guitars  Granite Bay, CA
4 2-03-2012
Diagrams, diagrams, diagrams...

If you can't find it here, you probably don't need it. The drawings are a bit cruder than I expected in a $35.00 book, but a bit of study and you can figure them out (at least I could figure out the ones I studied).

Once you get past that surprise, it sort of feels as if an old master has passed you his secret collection of wiring diagrams...which, in fact, is what this is.

I bought this to help with an oddly wired Ibanez I recently purchased. I wasn't totally surprised to find that the wiring layout in the guitar itself wasn't depicted in the book. The oddity: the volume pots are apparently wired in series, so zeroing either pot (with both pickups on) zeroes both!

However, the guitar would only make a humming noise when I took it out of the box (bought used, and untried, off eBay, cheap), and now it plays. Actually, it plays so well and sounds so good, I'm not doing any more work on it.

However, if I ever want to 'restore' it to a more 'conventional' wiring set-up, there are plenty to choose from.

All in all, I'm glad I bought the book, as I fit into that "wannabe, working at becoming a truly-are" category of tinkerers.

Canada Guy  Church Point, Nova Scotia Read my reviews (3)
5 1-08-2012
Never done wiring before?

This is the definitive book for wiring any guitar. Not only are the easy-to-follow diagrams clear and well laid out, but the notes also explain how the components effect the circuits. So get some soldering tools and dive into rewiring your guitars instead of paying to have it done! This book will show you how it's done.

axe fixr  Richardson (Dallas) Texas Read my reviews (10)
5 12-27-2011
Great

I got this book awhile ago as a gift when I first got interested in modifying and creating guitars. This book opened my mind to interesting modifications and little tricks to get as much sound out of a guitar as possible. It helped me while modifying my first electric, and influenced me on modifying more.

ttritt  Middleport, NY Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 91 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce