Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Dual Fret Scale Templates

Dual Fret Scale Templates


Read 54 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Accurate fret slots without guesswork. Designed for use with our Fret Slotting Miter Box, or your shop table saw.

See details below

Email a friend
Dual Fret Scale Templates
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
4915 Martin 24.9" and 25.34" scales Yes
$40.85

4916 Fender 25.5" and other 25" scales Yes
$40.85

4914 Gibson 24.625" and 24.750" Yes
$40.85

4917 Gibson 24.562" and 25.300" Yes
$40.85

4918 Bass 34" and 35" scales Yes
$40.85

4919 Classical guitar 650mm and 660mm scales Yes
$40.85

4911 Baritone guitar 28.5" and 30.2" Yes
$40.85

4912 Bass 30" and 30.5" Yes
$40.85

4920 Banjo 26-3/16" and mandolin 13-7/8" scales Yes
$40.85

4909 Ukulele 15" concert and 13-3/4" soprano scales Yes
$40.85

4910 Ukulele 17-3/32" tenor and 20-1/8" baritone scales Yes
$40.85


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Fret Slotting Table Saw Blade



StewMac Wide Fretwire



Adjustable Fret Slotting Saw



Japanese Fret Saw



Fret Arbor Press System



Fret Slotting Table Saw Blade
StewMac Wide Fretwire
Adjustable Fret Slotting Saw
Japanese Fret Saw
Fret Arbor Press System



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
Each template is made of durable stainless steel and has notches for two different fret scales. Includes an indexing pin and instructions.

Special notes:
4915 Martin Dreadnought scale is commonly referred to as 25.4" but is actually 25.34".

4916 For Fender 25.5" includes fretboard cut-off and nut positions. Also for 25" scales like Paul Reed Smith®, Dobro®, Danelectro®, and Benedetto.

4914 and 4917 We offer templates for Gibson's 25.3" long scale, plus three shorter Gibson scales. Over the years, Gibson has referred to each of the shorter scales as 24-3/4".

Read more about scale length


For use with a table saw: Install the supplied index pin in the fence of your table saw. Attach a template to the back of the fingerboard. On your table saw, align the blade perpendicular to the fingerboard, and saw the slots with the template side up. We recommend a Fret Slotting Table Saw Blade.

For use with a luthier's miter box: Simply attach a template to the back of the fingerboard, and saw each fret slot after locating the index pin (preinstalled in our miter box) in the corresponding template notch. We recommend our Fret Slotting Miter Box.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Dual Fret Scale Templates
Dual Fret Scale Templates
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 54 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5  6 >
5 4-29-2012
Great Product

I love this thing. I built a jig for my table saw and I tape this scale to my maple wood and it quickly snugs into place allowing me to complete an entire fingerboard in less than 5 minutes. Very durable stainless steel.

Peter Lagios  Clear Lake, Iowa Read my reviews (7)
5 4-19-2012
Wonderful time saver

This item is a must if you are doing a number of frett boards, the saw blade and this template are real time savers. I am sorry that I put the purchase off so long.

Winston & Fidel  Calgary AB. Canada Read my reviews (2)
5 4-12-2012
Wow

Thick plate steel, nice heavy weight to it. Works perfectly and effortlessly with the fret slotting jig.

Hepburn  New Albany, Indiana Read my reviews (6)
5 3-29-2012
Superb!!!

Wicked time saver!

Jerhico Guitars  Altona, NY Read my reviews (51)
5 1-21-2012
Works perfect everytime.

I use an older model LMI solid steel fretboard slotter and this template works perfect every time. Very heavy and will last a lifetime.

TisDale Custom Guitars  Renton, WA, USA Read my reviews (52)
Customer supplied image for review
5 1-04-2012
Martin 25.34" Scale -EASY

I had a wood supplier cut and slot a fretboard on 2 separate occasions and he couldn't do it right. I bought a blank fretboard, the template with the fret slotting miter box and managed to accomplish on my first attempt what a supposed pro couldn't. With my new & old fretboards side by side the slots line up perfectly from top to bottom. Money well spent.

Marcel H  Cornwall, Ontario, Canada
5 12-09-2011
Good quality

You could make your own, but then it would take more time than these cost. For common scales its a great solution. Vintage Gibson for example is way different than these modern scales though and for that stuff I had to make my own.

Oldy-r-goody  Canada Read my reviews (9)
5 7-26-2011
More bass scales please!

Easy to use, well made and will last a long time. Only gripe is that there could be more bass scale lenths. 32, 33 at the least.

paul flanagan  Liverpool UK
5 6-19-2011
The best

I had some really old wood templates from another supplier and decided to use my table saw to speed up the process with Stew Mac's most excellent table saw blade. These templates are absolutely the best and should outlast me. I would love it if Stew Mac would make more scales available; particularly a 27" baritone and a 30" bass scale. I think you could get close with the 34 and 35" bass scale if you just cut off a fret or two at the nut end.

Bill Northwestguitar  Cottonwood, AK Read my reviews (2)
5 5-20-2011
Excellent

Great tool and very solid. Produces accurate neat fret slots when used with the mitre box and fret saw.

elams1894  New Zealand Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5  6 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 9 of our latest catalog.


Dobro® is a registered trademark of Gibson Guitar Corporation.


Paul Reed Smith® and PRS® are trademarks of Paul Reed Smith Guitars.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce